FF/FG/Green Government - Part 3

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 34,095 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Of course the "utterances" are scripted - much like every single governmental statement in the history of roughly forever.

My view is the meeting is about presenting Ireland - not who might be Taoiseach at a given time.

Grand, so you have a complete lack of understanding of what these meetings are then. There are both public and private portions and the point of it is to have the head of the executive of both countries talk. The US President is not going to have a meeting with whatever random Irish person we choose to send cause they are a fan of the accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,374 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

They can talk in private.

Jesus folks all I am suggesting is that the public event would have been much better for us had it been a live person to person meeting. Are you seriously suggesting that the scripted banalities and mutual backslapping are serious drivers of investment into Ireland?

Carry on believing that if you wish.

At such short notice, it wouldn’t have been possible to get anyone of such a high profile to do the job. They cannot just rock up at a moment’s notice. There’s a security protocol that has to be observed.

Of course it would have been better. But it wasn't possible and had to be cancelled on short notice. I believe the Irish Ambassador was physically present, but the entire point of the meeting is for the US President to meet the Irish Taoiseach so that is what happened, just under less than ideal circumstances.

Are you seriously suggesting that no political meeting is of any worth? As every single one of them is followed by scripted banalities.

From the start of this conversation

Well I didn't mean just rock up to the door as a stand in. But given the pandemic a cleared and vetted stand-in might have been an idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭brokenangel

If you spend long enough, probably 2-3 days going down the rabbit hole, what francie wants someone to suggest is that Mary Lou should have been asked to step in. That is what this is leading to. That's why it suddenly should be a person and not a live video feed.

It started across social media a few days ago that this was a disgrace etc etc, all from the usual online accounts. Then it was glee because MM was sick, some of the comments really disgusting, even boards allowing them. Then they suddenly realised Mary Lou was over and this is the new angle now, it's suddenly a disgrace the MM done a video instead of someone in person. So it's gone from the biggest waste of time to suddenly an event we should have someone face to face. 😂 Just go to Paddy Cosgroves account and check out the troll accounts to confirm my explanation

The 'politics' such as they are, happen privately and could have happened by Zoom. The PR event should have been maximised.

You don't agree, that's fine. Done with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,098 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

That makes no sense, the Irish presidential role is nowhere near equivalent to the US presidential role, our closest equivalent is the office of the Taoiseach. It would be like sending the British queen for policy talks instead of johnson.

Now whether you believe the talk they have makes much difference to policies is a different matter, but most countries would like to have a guaranteed yearly meeting with the worlds most powerful leader.

Awkward one for the government. Apologies incoming no doubt.

“The carbon component is commonly referred to as carbon tax and the non-carbon component is often referred to as ‘excise’, ‘fuel excise’ or ‘fuel duty’,” Revenue said.

“It is important to note however, that both components of MOT are excise.”

The "PR Event" is not Ireland's to organise.

Well this is a wild attempt at changing the threads direction. Poor Francie on the ropes.

I was just repeating myself to all those who got upset at a simple suggestion. If somebody has a new angle on it, happy to engage.

It is a government thread and this excise 'lie' was discussed at length a few days ago. The fact check which finds it wasn't a lie (see quote from Revenue themselves) is relevant here.

God how desperate are Sinn Fein to pay off the journal to run some rubbish like that.

Pearse made a fool of himself and instead of accepting it is doubling down 😂😂😂

You now think the Journal are lying and misquoting Revenue themselves? Have you a back up to that claim?

Francie you need to stop lying about people posts. My post is clear and I don’t think it is ok to lie about the content. I will wait for an apology

i asked you two questions...I made zero claims.

This so second time you clearly are lying about what I posted. The previous was also about an article but I couldn’t be bothered

Now are you going to apologise for lying?

What lie? I asked you two questions on foot of you saying that the Journal were 'paid off' to write an article that contains direct quotes from Revenue and the Dept of Finance.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,710 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Mod - This isn't advancing the discussion, drop it or take it to PM please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,980 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

What's "poor" is the way the same 4-5 FG supporting posters jump all over threads like this and it becomes a pile on against primarily Francie (I've read 3 pages of this nonsense now), but anyone really who's not a fan.

It's nothing if not entertaining watching them defending MM when prior to the government being formed they were all over him and his party as well.

But for the record, I'm no fan of SF at all. As bad as the other two are, they would make things even worse if such a thing is possible at this stage.

This thread is a microcosm of the bigger issue - there is no party that properly represents the middle earners who pay for everything and get very little back in this country - and don't suggest that FG are that party what with Leo still under investigation for leaking confidential documents, and McEntee trying to legalise illegal immigration and virtue signalling than dealing with the increasing serious crime or even open drug dealing on the streets of our cities.

But by all means, continue!

For al the shouting and roading about Eamonn Ryan telling people to slow down. Also didn't Eamonn mention car sharing?

I wonder will anyone take notice now the same message is coming from International Energy Angecy(IEA)

Some excellent ideas as well. A car free Sunday in cities would be lovely. It would be great if we went back to some of the lock down areas with no cars allowed.

Some odd ones with the number plate idea, how the hell could you manage that?

Anyway good to see that Eamonn was ahead of the pack with his idea's.

Link to ideas

https://www.iea.org/reports/a-10-point-plan-to-cut-oil-use

He got rubbished not for the idea but because he had the power to physically make life easier for the electorate by shutting up about Carbon Taxes until the crisis passed.

I said it before here, it is beyond political stupidity not to get ahead of these things and be seen to take action instead of looking like the opposition force them into it, as has already happened. As somebody has said though, 'by all means continue'.

This is a video a certain party is firing around social media for days now. Mentions nothing about Carbon taxes as you claim.

The advice from Eamonn and the government was good advice, yet it seems unless it comes from IEA or someone higher it is open to ridicule.

Lucky for Ireland we have some great parties and leader to provide this advice to the public

https://www.tiktok.com/@sinnfein/video/7073435951351074053?is_copy_url=1&is_from_webapp=v1&lang=en

So your answer is a snippet of a Dáil speech? 😁

What do you think they'd be 'talking to Eamon' about?

As I said, it is great to have a government and leader who can provide this excellent advice to the public. Shows real leadership when they step up and give this advice knowing the back lash they will receive while doing it.

So far since this government has formed we have seen them manage Ireland get through a pandemic and nearly out the other side. Got more jobs and investment into Ireland. Made huge changes to the housing market. Done some excellent work on renewable.

Now in the middle of a crisis our leaders are standing up and showing they can be counted on. They take a step forward, take the abuse but know it is the right thing to do. That is what real leaders do.

It is excellent to see

So, what do you think they'd be talking to Eamon about, his 'great leadership'?

My post was clear and concise. Straight to the point as they say.

Your post was a party political broadcast. A fine example of the genre but didn't once again address what you were asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,681 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I would suggest you read back.

The only conversation about MM in the last 3 pages was the visit to US, the discussion was about if it was ok to do via video link. Which as I said in this day & age because of covid should be no issue. Not sure who was all over him and his party?

I do like the way you got in about the legalise immigration in the middle of the post. I for one am 100% behind that. If you look at every other country in the World having illegal immigrate have improved the country how? it ends up with people working outside the system and getting screwed by bad employers. Also in future generations these children grow up sometimes outside the school system etc and end up doing what? crime

I have no idea why anyone would have an issue with that bill. We all know illegal immigrants are in Ireland, what was the alternative? just ignore them?

I don't support FG by the way because I am sure that will be fired at me.