Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXV-956,720 ROI (5,952 deaths) 452,946 NI (3,002 deaths) (08/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭DLink

Away with ya, NPHET were on a power trip while Mehole was hiding behind them, burning through BILLIONS of euro of OUR money... but that didn't matter seeing as Mehole fulfilled his childhood ambition and became "leader of the country", well, on paper anyway, because we all know King Tony was the puppet master pulling the strings.

Mehole deserves nothing less than to be laughed at for all he did to us during the pandemic, and I'm delighted he's missing his big opportunity with Biden, maybe they'll photoshop him into a stock photo, or as a consolation prize, let him have a poor quality zoom call with auld Joe 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Given your own naked and self-acknowledged aggression on things like masks throughout, this view is unsurprising. No great fan of the man nor of Boris but can't really reconcile pretensions to being a rational individual with a need to revel in the suffering of others but each to their own I guess.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,468 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

OK, drop the talk about the Taoiseach having Covid in Washington. It's not something to rejoice over, it's not something anyone wants to get at any time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,725 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Deleted comment as don't want to cause offence to above^^^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Sammy2012

Eh no you isolate for 7 days as is the requirements now. I am not talking about going around spreading the virus. Do you not know the advice if you test positive now?? Side note there is no test and tracing now.

I should have said above both of the people who went for PCRs would not need them for work or travel as are retired and have had all 3 vaccines. Totally understand going for one if you need it for a recovery cert or for work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭dalyboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

Reassuring.

Is he saying the trajectory is downward or how would he know that ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭amandstu

Because he thinks anything worse than B-4 is unlikely and that immunity is building through all the time(as well as anti viral treatments coming on line)?

I don't know ,but I do pay attention to medical experts when they have a broad consensus.

Is Nolan in line with the general scientific view,I wonder?

Also ,have we ever had anything as unpredictable as this damned pandemic?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

How are the (majority?) EU countries with covid cert requirements catering for Ukraine refugees without certs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Micky 32

My uncle 86 positive. Little or no symptoms, doing ok. Fully vaccinated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭amandstu

That is great.Got my booster last Wednesday.

Was holding out for a vaccine finetuned to the latest variant but eventually realized this is not happening any time soon.

There’s really no need at the moment. Current vaccines still protect against serious illness snd death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,629 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

COVID finally got me, 2 years on.

My symptoms have been there since Wednesday but only tested positive Friday, what date do i put on the HSE site?

If you're not at deaths door, why would you supply the data to the HSE and "feed the monster" as it were?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,042 ✭✭✭Ficheall

covid is over, just a case of the sniffles, time to move on. Do you really need to report having a cold?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Cork2021

The echo is outdoing itself nearly every hour today and look at this front page headline in tomorrows paper! Joke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Barrita

**** him to be honest. Reaping what he sowed in a nation with insanity commensurate to his own conduct. Delighted for the prick.

How did you establish it was harmless? Maybe it was using data...? (Or at least, based on someone's analysis of data)

The lack of mass graves and the lack of people dropping dead in the street is a very good visual indication that it's relatively harmless.

Yes, there'll always be outliers, but people can see with their own two eyes that the sky isn't falling... they don't need data or analysis or science to know that it's harmless for most people, they can actually see that, for the most part, nothing is happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,303 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Fecks sake! Some people must wake up every morning wondering what they'll argue about for the day.

No we don't.

Yes you do.

We don't but you do.

Says who. Says you....

Have you a point there, Jim?

I was just pointing out the idiocy of being "anti-data".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,310 ✭✭✭seanin4711

the fourth dose, thats definitely the one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭the corpo

Finally made it's way to our house. 12 year old daughter has it and is really poorly. Far worse than "the sniffles" and I wouldn't wish it on anyone.

It's anecdotal data perhaps, but it's not the pointless official data that that twitchers are trying to use to lock the country down again, that's why I said to stop feeding the monster.

At this stage in the game a lot of people are assessing what's going on around them and when they don't see people dropping like flies, it puts the official data in context as being overhyped. Like I said, stop feeding the monster.

A few hundred people in hospital with covid out of total population of 5 million isn't a big number, and it isn't a reason to lock down or wear masks again.

The government needs to grow a pair of balls and "#holdfirm" against the howls of the few twitchers who are afraid of personal responsibility and want King Tony to get back on the throne and protect them from the great unmasked masses...

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

It sucks she has it, but honestly think of all the bugs she’s had over the years, this is just another. My smallie had it a few weeks ago, was unwell for a few days and flying again, like they have been with every fecking germ they caught when they first started in crèche, no different.

Everyone is going to get this one and likely more than once, omicron was the game changer, we can now live with it. Sadly elderly and vulnerable will be at risk same as with flu, but that’s just life (and death). Before anyone at’s me ‘with it’s not a flu’ I mean in terms of risks for elderly, flu is very dangerous if you are old and frail.

I know of 3 people all who have it again (had it in 2021 and are vaccinated), it’s going to be around for a long time yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭waterwelly

Who said people are anti dáta?

The point was that the data is being misused.

Like ministers now declaring half the people in hospital are incidental covid patients being treated for something else.

So cast your mind back to 12 months ago and there was no suggestion of this but "the data" was being used to justify excessive restrictions, construction being a prime example.

Construction holds its breath as stalled virus numbers threaten reopening plans

Yep. Lots of things can make you quite poorly. I’ll never forget when i was younger i used to get tonsillitis every 6 months without fail. My head was stuck down the jacks throwing my guts up. My body felt like i was being crushed in a vice with the severe aches and pains i endured along with a temp of 104.

I see covid is starting to make the headlines again. Hospitalizations up 123 since yesterday to 1308 this morning. Of course Mr Varadkar claiming restrictions won’t be returning but we all know he says one thing but the opposite usually happens.