Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice on job situation and progression

Options
  • 15-03-2022 1:06am
    Registered Users Posts: 29

Hello,

1. I work in IT as a project manager for an American company for the last 2 years based in Dublin and making good money.
    2. The culture of the company is great and I find it hard to fault the place (apart from the below but the pros far outweigh the cons)
    3. It's a small enough company so not many internal opportunities to change focus or progress
    4. My manager does the good old middle management thing of appeasing me so when I tell him I want to progress and require feedback to reach my goal of becoming a manager myself, he tells me that it will happen eventually to keep me on his side - Mañana, Mañana. I told him that I might consider interviewing for managerial positions outside of his team and internal to the company last year but he told me not to and that he would promote me to a manager but that does not seem to be happening.
    5. With COVID etc - we haven't had performance reviews in a while but in my first proper one he didn't acknowledge my accomplishments or justify the below average rating he gave me. I always deliver on my projects and have a really good reputation. He seems to be hiring in managers from the outside also and I feel like he might hire one above me, rather than promote me which he promised. I am a bit disappointed in him overall.

There are a few things I can do: