Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,430 ✭✭✭✭listermint

We do though. The same as yesterday day and the day before. Your claiming this information is from Twitter. It's not. It's coming from EU and US Intelligence.

Yesterday you put up an unverified graph of Russians military might with all sorts of lovely numbers and equipment. Today we have reports Putins looking to pull Syrian troops in.

And yesterday evening we hear reports from Japan that Russian forces are being pulled from various islands over that side to bolster numbers.

The real truth is obvious he's throwing the kitchen sink at it because they are getting their arse handed to them.

You only have to join all of the dots together from the multitude of sources rather than pretend it's solely Ukrainian Twitter sphere.

That seems to be a continued theme that the Russians are on a blackout and running a masterclass in volume tactics.

Theres no real evidence to back that up. If there is please I'm all ears. Both of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭TheTruth89

I agree with some of that to an extent but the facts still remain Russia wasn't there to control roads they were there for a quick victory and have completely failed in that regards there military capabilities have been completely shown up they are boarderline embarrassing. If the Russians were having any such success they would be broadcasting it to the high heavens.

Supply is key to a Ukrainian victory, if they get completely cut off from the west its gonna be tough, but I think the will of the Ukrainian people is being drastically underestimated here they will literally fight to the man what ever putin takes he will never hold.

You should check out "Winter on Fire" on Netflix great documentary about the Ukraine in 2014 and a good insight into how resilient a people they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Crocodile Booze

Looks like an African version of a traveller shite in a bucket call-out vid. Cringeworthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,138 ✭✭✭✭briany

@Talisman

Putin is normalizing the idea of sanctions and I'm not sure what to make of 'technological sovereignty'

Looks like this,

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,765 ✭✭✭Talisman

Lukashenko: "I'll show you from where the attack on Belarus was being prepared. And if there had not been a preemptive strike six hours before the operation, they would have attacked our troops, Belarusian and Russian, who were on training exercises."

It's a real propaganda piece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I wonder if lushenko is considering his military future in the Russian army

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,330 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

If you turn on auto captions with translate on the video you get

"Zelenksyy, I bate you over beyont in Athlone, me father bate your father down the main street of Tuam. It's costing me too much to steep me hands in secret petteredol now because of you ya junkies bastard ya. You've been sh1te'ing in a bucket for two weeks. Come out an' fight me. We have the fair play men ready"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭greenpilot

She's Russian. I'd say you were a pleasure to teach at school. "Does not read or fully comprehend the question" was undoubtedly a common comment at your parent-teacher meeting.

Did you even watch the piece?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,174 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Shame on you, I think he just wet himself.

"If Ireland gets involved in some way, we risk Dublin being bombed by the Russian army.

Whilst it's terrible what's going on, countries will be selfish and look out for their own citizens first.

Yes completely stay out of it. We're a small country at the edge of Europe that no one really gives a toss about.

Let's stay that way."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I cant be the only one who blanks reading a post once I see someone using the phrase Trump Derangement Syndrome.

Like when I see someone post Woke as a pejorative... It's just, Whoosh. The post might as well not exist.

Anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,840 ✭✭✭✭josip

He'd be safe from Ukrainian snipers. They'd leave him alive so that he could undermine the Russian invasion from within with his ineptitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Maybe there's some different signfigance to Russians but to me it looks like he knows they're bullshitting him in private so he's hauling them in front of the cameras to make them do it in public. Giving himself plausible deniability and setting up scapegoats for when it all goes south

Eight, reportedly. Add those offed by the Ukrainians and his forces will soon be being directed by the tea lady if he keeps this up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,703 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Surely the Russian people have access to the internet, and know full well what is going on? I haven't heard Russia blocks internet access like China does?

In any case, I wouldn't let the Russian people completely off the hook. The idea that the Russian people are all subjugated and would just love to overthrow Putin doesn't ring true to me.

The Russian people are complicit in this war. Make no mistake about that.

And I think they should be held to account when this is over, by whatever way we can hold them to account.

I wonder if they were asking for their weapons back or telling Mali that the Wagner boys are needed elsewhere.

formin-mali.jpg

Russian Deputy Defense Minister Fomin met with the Minister of Defense of the Republic of Mali and discussed in detail existing cooperation projects in the defense sphere, as well as issues of regional security in West Africa.

Fomin also noted the importance of Russian-Mali cooperation and confirmed the readiness of the Russian Defense Ministry to continue the constructive dialogue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Botrys

Here we go

That's Iran playing their part, especially after it was announced yesterday that the Nuclear deal seems to be a no-go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Addmagnet

We don't want that, she'd probably make a better fist of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

I'm not sure if Iranians or Syrians getting involved would be a good idea for them . Whatever about the wests reluctance to take on Moscow there would be less reluctance to send a tactical nuke to Tehran or Damascus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Born in Moscow, moved to America aged 7. Worked only for American media publications, only foreign posting wass three years back in Moscow working for....The New Yorker. She's an American Journalist, plain and simple. 10 minutes of that interview will tell you that her analysis is entirely through the perspective of American politics. I watched to past the TDS section and realised there was little of value, just an American journo talking to an American journo where ever issue is a just another vehicle for American party politics. You want analysis these days, you're going to have to look outside of the US press

My school reports generally said I was an avid reader :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

Wonder what they'll think of fighting against civilians who will fight back with lethal intent.

All very well to gun down and machete a bunch of unarmed women, children and old people in a remote village.

Try doing that when the "villagers" are armed with AK-47's and Molotovs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭technocrat

This is true for the most part.

I think a lot of the younger Russians are clued in to what's happening right now but still overwhelmingly support Putin.

I've watched several online news clips from BBC to France24 and the majority of the Russians interviewed support the war in Ukraine.

The most depressing was the BBC report on the day McDonalds announced it was closing, 2 young Russian women stood outside with 1 saying Putin was 100% correct while the other chimed in with "No. He is 200% correct".

So fcuk Russia, as they slide into oblivion we won't miss them!

The Prosecutor General's Office of the Russian Federation discontinued its Instagram account.

Moscow Mayor Sobyanin is also discontinuing his Instagram account.

RF Prosecutor General's Office has demanded access to Instagram be limited.

It looks like Instagram might be having a negative impact for some reason. 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,771 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I would have thought it is inevitable that Poland are going to get dragged into this, not immediately but by the summer. Presuming Russia eventually take over Ukraine the next steps will be Russia flying fighter jets up and down the Polish border and them diving into Polish airspace to try to provoke them. If Putin succeeds in Ukraine what will follow is him locating Russian military infrastructure on bases in western Ukraine and beginning a war of attrition with Poland that could last years or could also develop into full scale war if one of his fighter jets got shot down. You can already see the inevitable campaign of disinformation from Russia saying their jet wasnt in Polish airspace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,138 ✭✭✭✭briany

@Bayonet

It's becoming quite the axis of pricks forming on the Russian side

It gets worse. These guys have also expressed an interest in getting in on the action, maybe providing aerial support.

Untitled Image

This man has made overtures to Moscow to register an interest in some sort of paid officer role,

Untitled Image

And the Combine is gearing up to announce a commitment of off-world assets to assist Russia in its glorious special military operation,

Untitled Image

I think its one thing to attack Ukraine but another to attack at fully tooled up Poland backed by NATO.

Besides, I think they have a pretty good idea of his capabilities at this stage. Any sort of incursion into Poland would be a few years away yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭shillyshilly

that was their winter training in prep for Ukraine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭shillyshilly

The black wagners ...

thought the Russians hate blacks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,503 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

It's complicated. It seems the older people with less access to the internet and who watch only TV news are completely brainwashed by the propaganda (though there will be a fair amount of younger people going along with it too). It appears the Ukrainian invasion is far less popular in general than the Crimea one in 2014.

Russias first domestically designed and made cell-phone will be something like:

Untitled Image

That Russian teen brat smashing her iPhone and cutting up decadent western clothing is going to be regretting it in 4 years time when the going price for a working iPhone 8 is 10m roubles.

I remember the cold war well. I was acquainted with an amazing young lady - tiny, blonde - who in the early eighties flew to Vladivostok and got on the trans-siberian express and crossed all of communist USSR - solo. She recounted that the food was, er, off-putting and that she had to carry several rubber bath plugs because not a single bath in any hotel or accommodation had one, as they were a treasured item and very sought after and much stolen. Some of hers were nicked.

Amazing courage.

I doubt Putin has a short memory or forgets the empty shelves and general depravtion. He isn't even kidding himself and is just putting on a brave 'I havent really screwed the pooch' face.

Post edited by cnocbui on