Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Let's all start growing Grain!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,326 ✭✭✭amacca

If you don't mind me asking...

How did you have it harvested? Did you get it rolled?

What sort of space did the grain take up?

You got a couple of bales of straw out of it too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

We are planning on reseeding 5-6 acres of grass this year. Would be spraying it off fairly soon. If there is a viable scheme put in place, we'd have no bother putting in a crop for a year. But if we're taking on all the risk, then no. Will see what the plan is anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭Dunedin

If it’s me your asking?

it was the wild bird cover so no spraying, harvesting or straw. But glas paid me😊😊

it’s just left for the birds. If this is to get any traction, it’ll have to be allowed to substitute wbc. Albeit a lot of wbc land was very marginal and probably struggle to grow much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭Dunedin

The harvesting would be the tricky bit as I wouldn’t have a clue when it’s ready not to mention trying to get a lad to come and cut my 3 acres 😞😞 spraying would probably be an issue too as my little 300 litre sprayer is grand for the docks but wouldn’t fancy going out in a nice field of barley - be a lot left on the ground by the time I’d be finished I’d say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,969 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

At the same time they come out with this, the SEI come out with a report stating that they want farmers to reduce suckler herd and instead grow grass for AD plants. I would personally prefer to grow oats on my place in North Mayo for feed/consumption(all ready grow some wholecrop) then participate in that particular greenwash nonsense!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭nklc

You’d probably get an exemption because it’s too difficult for you

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,577 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

If they stopped making whiskey for a year that's 140k tons extra in the system straight away. There s heaps of whiskey in storage anyway. My tuppence worth is pull the mower out earlyand keep her going and cut real good stuff.putting some of us growing cereals is like asking us to do a completely different job.wouldnt like to be a pig or chicken farmer at the minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,217 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

WBC land has gone down hill each year. Crops like kale etc starved the ground.

It would be more marginal now, as you say, if they step up to the plate, enough who can do it will produce but it can't be all on the farmers back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,233 ✭✭✭blackbox

If the government or EU was to offer a guaranteed minimum price for barley, do you think many farmers would go for it.

Maybe last season's price plus 15%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

I wonder are tillage farmers annoyed with the whole idea? It’s manipulating the market on them if there is government support

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Twud have to be a price with a guaranteed margin above the cop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,499 ✭✭✭Grueller

Wouldn't cover costs with increases in fuel, seed and fert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,124 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

It's a laugh, as if farms nowadays are still like the 1950's with a little bit of everything running around the yard and growing in the fields.

Where is all this grain supposed to be processed? Almost everything was closed down and stripped out decades ago because it was cheaper buying in from abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,350 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Problem is Whiskey and all premium drinks have had a massive increase in sales. There’s no simple solution

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,233 ✭✭✭blackbox

That's never going to happen as costs will vary from farm to farm.

At what guaranteed "intervention" price would it be attractive enough to take the risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

When the malting barley has been used by the distillers, doesn't it end up as animal feed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,304 ✭✭✭alps

This was surely a pisstake between the Minister's advisor and and the Sunday Business post journalist, both of whom ployed their trade at the IFJ.

Would have been a beauty for fools day..

Stunning though, that the Minister ran with it on RTE radio. Just proved that this man is incapable of thinking for himself. Brilliant operator to defend a position with repeated mantras though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,563 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Problem is there's investment firms buying barrels promising 12% profit a year or up to 500% over five years. They buy the barrels. Warehouses are built. Light and rent is paid for the warehouse all by the investor in the hope that someone at the end will pay the premium when they wish to cash in and hope that someone drinks it.

It's tulip mania or bitcoin.

Warehouse after warehouse being built to store barrels. The winners are who sells the barrels in the first place and owners of the warehouses.

Irish whiskey has to be matured in a barrel for 3 years, a 5 year outlook is the only way a business could be secure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,252 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

There are two I think. One in Kells in Meath and one more I believe. Small scale though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

Not that much Irish whiskey is actually made from corn.

Are you talking about blends of whiskey, or grain coming in?

Waterford trace each bottle back to a certain farmer/farm land.

There's a few more that do it now as well, from their own land. https://ballykeefedistillery.ie/ and https://www.tipperarydistillery.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

Most of those investments are a bit of a scam though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,550 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭farmerphil135

To add my 2 cents to the mix

i think it should be compulsory, as a scheme to pay x amount for a crop will only push up rental prices and not get the acres needed.

but needs to be clear exemptions for those farming marginal ground or in deregation, can’t expect a hill farmer to plough the side of a hill or a highly stocked farmer to destock enough to make room for grain in a short space of time

I think it should be worked a bit like share cropping, farmer provides the land, state provides the inputs, contractor/tillage farmer provides the equipment and knowledge to grow the crops. And at harvest everyone gets a share in the returns but I think the contractor/ tillage farmer needs to be paid by the state as work is done to ensure they can pay for extra staff as the year goes on.

also I think there should be start up grants available for those willing to commit to change certain % of their land to crops to afford equipment

land already in tillage should be exempt from any schemes but the state should reduce any vat or import duties on sprays etc. to help keep costs down.

but at the end of the day apart from all the issues between fuel, fertiliser and seed, realistically they have till the end of March to come up with a plan to allow some kind of certainty to plant in April and it’s probably a safe bet to assume whatever they decide to do will be inadequate and too late to be any good😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Have ye worked the input costs this year Phil minus machinery costs? Are ye tempted to cut back on beef numbers for finishing next winter if you can get 300 plus for barley/wheat of the combine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Glad to see my thread has generated some reasoned discussion from a diverse group of farmers as I hoped it would!

Actually missed seeing the news last night but heard secondhand from a neighbour this morning who had watched it that there was no major outcome from either the farming organisations side or the Ministers....but that a committee was being set up to monitor the situation as it unfolds as regards fuel costs and availability of seed and fodder.

Hopefully the Farming Stakeholders put adequate pressure on Govt side to make sure that setting up this committee won't turn into a 'lets just kick the can down the road and bury our heads in the sand' type scenario.

Let's just try to maintain beef, milk, lamb, potatoes, veg etc at levels even remotely like the yield of last year.

Rather than the steep drop that's probably on the cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,304 ✭✭✭alps

Massive opportunity now for all those wannabe experts (both from the academia and green worlds) if the government allowed a scheme where these people could rent ground for the year and let them show us how to grow a crop.. Im sure contractors and farmers alike would make themselves and their equipment available for the machinery work at a reasonable rate.

No point in us doing it, as we've always been doing it the wrong way...Would really like to see it done properly...opportunity now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Packrat

If I could thank this post twice...

Anyone have any line to media or the top feedlot, sorry I mean "farming" organisations who have the minister's ear..

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

You’re right..i could spare 10 acres of decent ground…doing the sums on a fag packet…if i got 3 tonne to the acre, cost for the 30 tonne, doing my own spraying, ploughing harrowing and rolling would be approx 4500 ish. Then pay to possibly dry and roll it.. transport..harvesting.. total outlay maybe 6500? ..30 tonne of beef nut will be 12000 in a week…i know I’ll have to add soya bean meal …and there’s the value of the straw…approx e2000..it seems like a runner..be interesting to hear opinions,