CLERICAL OFFICER 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 niamhh99

Hi! I’m new to this so unsure if I’m posting this right! But I had my interview on 02/2 and heard back on the 03/02 saying I was successful. They said I’d hear in ten days during the interview but since receiving my interview result I haven’t heard anything at all. I’m placed in the mid 300’s on order of merit and based in Dublin. Would anyone have any idea if/when I’ll be contacted? Thanks:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Totally Red

Hi Niamh

I asked a similar question on page 30 of this thread ill see can i quote furry bones reply

Ah okay thank you so much!! So is it a case of, if you pass the interview they most likely will get in touch like you most likely have the job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Jane2021

Anyone know what OOM Cork panel is on? Thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 LukeCoyler

Hey all; can I just ask out of curiosity those of you who have already done their interviews: were many of you asked to give 2 examples of a competency? And was there any questions that threw you a bit? Have my interview on Thursday.. sweating!! Cheers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 vanderpump

Hi, it's oom 85 as of last Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 ronbon1

Hi, does anyone know what OOM donegal is at? They were at OOM6 three weeks ago, I don't want to be torturing them, lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

Does anyone know if you are notified of which department you are allocated during the clearance process or is it after the clearance is complete? Has anyone started in the deparments yet since the panel stages...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭furrybones

You will be notified of which department you're being assigned to when your clearance is completed. I got mine via messages on public jobs.

I started a couple of weeks ago but I was retained in the department I was currently serving as TCO, so it was just a matter of issuing me with a permanent contract rather than starting afresh in another department.

"Success is not final, failure is not fatal. It is the courage to continue that counts"

It's no harm having 2 examples ready anyway. They typically only look for a second one if you're not giving them enough in the first one. I wasn't asked any questions that threw me, but someone else did say they were asked why they wanted to work for the CS.

Best of luck with the interview 🍀

"Success is not final, failure is not fatal. It is the courage to continue that counts"

Ah brilliant well done on getting it permanent!!

How do you find working in the CS by the way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Sra360

Ended up getting an email Friday to say I passed the interview I did on Wednesday. Delighted it was so quick and there wasn't a painful 10 day wait!

I then got an email to pick the areas in my county I would be willing to work. This has to be in today. I didn't receive any confirmation it was received yet, but I'm sure that's okay.

Do I just wait now until I get notice of a job position? Vetting/ reference etc will happen then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭peanutk

@Sra360 Well done on passing your interview. Its such a relief isnt it and not waiting so long to hear.i have sent in my garda vetting and clearance so just waiting to hear now if a position comes up in my county. Which county did u apply for? I didnt get the choice of location im in dublin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Maripepe

Contrats on passing your interview!! I've selected the areas within my county more than a month ago, and I havent heard anything since. I believe clearance will contact you when a job becomes available and it reaches your OOM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Sra360

Thank you! SUCH a relief. @peanutk I am in Waterford and they broke it down to a few of the larger towns and city for options.

I just got confirmation it was received - I get nervous when I don't so wanted to check had other people heard back.

Guess it's just a waiting game now! Hopefully not too long of a wait! Thanks for your feedback - and congrats to you both also!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭shmeee

Majority are WFH still. And from what I know of some departments it's either a 4pm or a 5pm finish the latest.

Thanks very much 😊

Thanks a million!

I find working in the CS grand. CO work can be repetitive and mundane at times, but it's not hard work. Plus, it's a permanent job that is somewhat protected from economic forces so I'll take it with both hands. There is always the opportunity to move up the ladder if a more challenging role is what you're after.

yeah i was told during my interview that it is quite monotonous sometimes... thank you for the feedback though i really appreciate it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Malachy78

Hi folks. I know I could send a email. But just thought I’d ask here first. Anyone know Sligo / Leitrim oom?

I was reading about civil service working hours potentially being reduced from July, to pre reccession hours. Will this affect new clerical officers and has it been confirmed that it is going ahead? Thank you

i think Forsa are putting forward a motion for the return of those hours(35), i dont think anything has been passed on it yet...i stand to be corrected on that though it was the last i read

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭shmeee

If it's agreed, thats the hours you will work. 35 hours down from 37 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 frankienonose

Does anyone have any experience working in the Department of an Taoiseach? Or any idea of the likelihood of working from home in that department?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 wexfordquay

Hi Jamp 123. I hope the interview went well. Do you mind me asking if you have heard anything back yet? My wife is 00M 270 for Wexford. Do you mind me asking what your 00M for Wexford was?? Thanks and best of luck in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Fisherman32

For the temporary clerical officer in the Co Sligo Region they have reached OOM 178.

For the full time clerical officer in the Co Sligo Region they have reached OOM 20.

For the temporary clerical officer in the Co Leitrim Region they have reached OOM 9.

hope this helps.

Hi

Does anyone no what the department of justice is like to work for ? Also what kind of shifts do they work thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 bridnotbreege

Hi! Does anyone have any update on the Co. Longford OOM?