Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,461 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I somewhat agree we should be doing so much more but I’ve no doubt the Irish people will dig in massively to send all we can to the Ukrainians.

Our non NATO membership is a smug luxury of our geography and forever hiding behind the U.K. militarily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

People have fell for their nonsense for years.

Them RBB and Paul Murphy.

Bunch of muppets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,924 ✭✭✭thomil

True, but Sweden has built their entire military around that. That's why their navy has such a large number of small craft, they're designed to operate a maritime "guerrilla" war within the archipelagos off the Swedish coast and in the Åland Islands. That's also why even the largest units of the fleet, the Visby class stealth corvettes, are designed the way they are, to basically blend in with the radar clutter of the islands. The Swedish submarines meanwhile are purpose built for the Baltic, further complicating life for any attacker.

Good luck trying to figure me out. I haven't managed that myself yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 digger1985

Russia was pro-western in the 1990s. I cannot recall when the situation got changed but the people say it was Putin's Munich speech in 2007. I was mostly working and was not really interested in how Russia treats the world and how the world treats Russia. What I can say is that I have no issues with earning money, buying cars, or paying mortgage. I was just a usual programmer and was not even in Moscow/St Petersburg.

The actual feeling was that the things got much better since Putin came. Now people say it is attributed to oil prices. Whatever the reason is Russian people support their President (I am talking about the majority of the people around me - it might be not the majority of ~140M country).

It is said that NATO kept expanding even when there was nothing to worry about from Russia from 1990 up to 2007. The agenda that NATO tries to encircle and somehow hurt Russia is quite popular in Russia. Partly because of Russian propaganda (what country does not have it?). It is also partly due to the fact that during its history Russia was attacked multiple times, and my grandparents and grandmother fought in WW2. It is now popular to say that Russia attacked Poland in WW2. I would say it was attacked but there were some reasons for it. How things would go if Russia did not attack Poland with Germany? Not sure, but splitting Poland makes some sense in terms of future German expansion eastward.

Whatever happens now reminds me what happened with Poland in WW2. Is Russia now Nazi Germany, or is it still Russia/Communist USSR?

Idk, but I am closely watching all media sources to understand how the situation/war is presented by different sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Miadhc

Heard something similar from Polish lads at work. When going house to house the Germans knocked at your door, the Russians kicked your door in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,766 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

I saw a funny one last night: Russian tank appears around a distant corner of a tree lined road and stops when it sees a largish group of Ukrainians standing in the road under a fly-over, some more up on the flyover. The Ukrainians point mobile phones at the tank in the disance and amble about a bit - Russian tank, wary of the brandished phones, does a 3 point turn and rumbles back around the bend and retreats out of sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,764 ✭✭✭storker

Very true, I'm not making an argument in favour of NATO membership for Ireland, but neutral countries tend to be serious about maintaining an ability to defend that neutrality e.g. Switzerland and Sweden. Ireland barely tips its hat at it, knowing that Britain is in the way anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

You're being too polite. They're much more than muppets.

Anyone know what’s going on with the Koeniggsburg (the bit they stole off Germany) flight routes?- they appear to be going via the Baltic Sea?- I thought the Finns, Swedes and Estonians would control both sides of the sea here and thus they would be banned from passing through???

No, I do not. Please enlighten me. Did she mention Wolyn's massacre conducted by Stepan Bandera's faction who is now a national hero in Ukraine and has a lot of streets named after him in Ukraine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭Talisman

BMW are also temporarily halting production in other plants throughout Europe because there's a shortage of parts coming from the facilities in Ukraine.

Yeah, Russia was being welcomed into the West. They changed the G7 to G8 to include Russia. I think with Putin it simply became 'absolute power, corrupts absolutely' meaning it went to his head. He spent time messing around with being PM then back to president then went **** it and went full on dictator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Mike3549

I have some bad news.... theres only baltic sea in between them,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Russian state media accounts, as well as content linking to their sites, will now be demoted across Meta's platforms globally.

Also Mexico opting not to apply sanctions. They want to be a peacebroker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

I'd say the parts shortages are shutting factories quicker than any ethical concerns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Addmagnet

Oh great! Putin plans to declare war on Cthulhu too?!

Lots of Russians going to be out on their ears soon from good jobs in foreign multinationals. Fantastic to see them take the hit and abandon Russia. Jaguar Land Rover doing the same today, as are shell and BP. No corporation wants blood on their hands via association with murdering despots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,766 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Indeed. Civil society in her words, comprises anyone who is important or plays a non-sedentary role in society, so politicians, human rights and other outspoken lawyers, judges, active social commentators, news readers and media personalities, journalists etc, etc - all to be rounded up and gotten rid of. Anyone who makes Ukraine, uniquely Ukraine and not Russia. A complete pre-frontal labotomy of Ukranian society.

He is so much sicker and sociopathic than most people realise. He's ever bit as much of a sick fu​ck as Pol Pot, Stalin and Hitler were. Incomprehensibly ruthless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,098 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Ha. Putin doesn't care about those talks. Will he send his minister for culture as lead delegate again? That tells you all you need to know. Meanwhile he is going to continue smashing the place up.

Surprised at Mexico- assumed the USA would have whipped them into line? Wouldn’t rule it out yet

Indeed they are. And they are absolutely rightly condemned for their terrible acts.

But shite like the ghost of Kyiv, the snake island incident, fake pictures and other such bullshit, along with the fact that the majority of news outlets are economical with the truth are making me question the reality of what's happening.

It's just desperately sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,187 ✭✭✭✭elperello

If, and it's a big if, they get enough votes to be elected we will deal with them the same as any other elected politician.

That's democracy which we think is a good thing don't we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,303 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

Nearing 22 years in power, the poisoning and murders of political opponents, murders of journalists, increasing control over the media, cabinet terrified to speak to him on live TV, rubber-stamp Duma, vast wealth for a state employee (yachts, billion dollar residence guarded by the FSB), all sorts of insane laws to protect him and validate murder of opponents abroad, shut down free press, imprison protesters..

Yet you are confused because you think there are "different sides"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,925 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Flatten cities tonight, negotiate tomorrow. Can guess the Russian bargaining stance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Jeasus

Whats happening in the Ukraine is shocking but Nazi sympathising is a step to far.

The German atrocities claimed the lives of 6 million Jews, many of which died in the most barbaric ways imaginable.

Kicking doors down as opposed to knocking was the least of their worries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,635 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I thought it was pretty clear. It's not a difficult concept. It's not a new concept either. I suppose it's just a part of Sun Tsu's concept of knowing your enemy and knowing yourself. It's basic, but the inability to even acknowledge the enemy's narrative is interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,098 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

True but it’s not just that- some are suspending sales to Russia completely. That’s not to do with any parts shortage. We are seeing a massive corporate exit from Russia. It’s not worth the bad PR and these multinationals very carefully sculpt their images around corporate social responsibility and the like.

Wonder will the likes of McDonald’s and Coca Cola be forced to do the same? Nothing is off the table now.

Are you saying what you heard over the media?

poisoning and murders

The last poisoning that was associated with Russia is poisoning of Skripal's in Salisbury.

It looks like he was exchanged for some spies in 2010 based on Wikipedia:

On 9 July 2010, Skripal and three other Russians, who had been imprisoned for spying for the US, were freed as part of a spy swap.

Why wouldn't Putin kill Skripal when he was in jail? Why would he exchange him in 2010 if he should be killed later on? Would it not be easier to kill him in jail rather than killing in the UK causing outrage on the West?

"different sides" - there are always different sides including the side of civilians on Ukraine, Ukrainian government and Russian government, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I don't think it was Nazi sympathising at all its accurately describing what people of this region think about the Russians. I don't see it saying the Nazis were nice.

People in Poland and other Eastern European countries lived under the yoke of the USSR for over 40 years. Its no wonder they all flocked to NATO to ensure they didn't become vassals of the Russians again.