Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

She worked her ass off to lose weight according to her, hardly, she used the lazy man’s approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Yeap. She said it's not all about the surgery and she worked her ass off in the gym.

You can't outrun a fork, so without the band it wouldn't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,406 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

I agree 100% but I meant it in terms of personality also. I think she's trying to come across super confident and happy after all the surgery but I don't buy it.

Ah, she didn't come across as too bad I thought..

She's a kardashians fan like..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

No harm in her dreaming it seems to have a positive effect on her the poor woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,440 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

The annoying English guy....that was pointless...he is painful and so is his other half tbh....at least he doesn't need to be on it again....I thought he was on looking for a "throuple" with the music lol

Ashling seemed nice....is it a bit sad being seemingly obsessed with tiktok at her age?... sorry...her date was handsome, rugged, and easy going, straight forward type of fella...his haircut was a bit odd maybe?!...I struggled to understand him occasionally though. Both on show for right reasons they seemed to have more a friendly thing. Nice they both found new relationships.

Maria from Cork and Dolapo were sound a good bit of fun with them both, sweet. Both their accents especially hers were all over the shop lol. He had a lovely smile and kind face. I can see where he is coming from with the distance thing tbh. Shame no romantic thing with them.

Connor and Ashling good match. Fair play to him for picking himself up after not making it in football and army...had no idea about the colour blind thing in the army. Easy chemistry. Didn't really seem to find out as much about her (could be the edit), but cancer at her age very tough. Lovely genuine pairing. Nice they had another date.

Effy from Cork, a first date at 37 that is not easy! She looks well I thought, amazing transformation. Paul softly spoken and polite I liked him - he did overcome the nerves eventually. Any wonder he is so slim with all that walking. Kinda knew she wasn't into him romantically :(. He is someone they should actually have back on the show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,965 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Maybe...if you've embrace the American style of dating, which most people probably have these days. I don't think I've been on a date either, even though I've had a few long-term relationships where I've gone out to restaurants with my ex(es). If I got together with somebody through a group of friends or work, in the early days it might have entailed her coming to mine or me going to hers, or going out to the pub to meet up with our group of friends. I wouldn't class those occasions as 'going on a date'.

It's probably just how you can look at things differently. 'Dating' was always something that happened on American sitcoms on dramas. I suppose if I met somebody through Tinder or something like that, I'd refer to meeting the new person as going on a date, but up to now, it has always been more organic.

So in the last two weeks First Dates has taught me that there's absolutely no place whatsoever for you in the army if you're a decent lad with a decreased ability to distinguish between colours, yet you can stroll in if you're a cowardly mouthpiece.

Nice recruiting process! 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,249 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Post edited by joeguevara on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,855 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Take a moment to imagine what it's like to be the bitter and twisted lemon that can't share in the simple joy of a young couple getting engaged without trying to score some twisted point to protect the downtrodden straight white man in Ireland today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

RTE2 Facebook page have an update on last weeks daters.

The footballer and young Aisling went for lunch but nothing happened. He's moving to Oz in a few months out to his sister. Both still single

Energetic Cork lady is still single

No appearance by old Ashlings date or Cork girls date (lad with the cap)

Old Ashling, who we saw at the end of last weeks show was in a relationship....well, she's single again and she's gone back to college to do a social media and marketing course.....think she's a bit obsessed with the TikTok thing...probably stuck on the app all day.

Effy, blonde Cork woman, predictably used most of the time for her update to tell us how she won the beauty pageant and is now going to Las Vegas to represent Ireland...she put a crown on and all.

Paul, here date, says they're still in regular contact. He's still single and encouraging people to look him up!

And of course the gay couple who are engaged ALSO gave a follow up? Like WTF? We had enough of you sickeners!

Was the criteria for winning that beauty pageant how much cosmetic surgery you've had I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,105 ✭✭✭✭OmegaGene

The lady from cork that said it was her first date was on red fm and clarified she meant it was her first date since she left the father of her kids but she was nervous and fecked it up

The internet isn’t for everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,171 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I'd say Effy is getting a pasting bashing on social media, she didn't come across well, is she an "influencer" one?

I’d say she’s a wannabe, the fella on the radio was praising her like she was the second coming but I thought she came across rude to her date and was only there to boost her profile

https://m.facebook.com/effysjourneyx/posts/?ref=page_internal&mt_nav=0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,440 ✭✭✭✭km79

When did “vibing off each other “ become a thing ?

i thought it was when you run out of batteries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,215 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Imagine being offended by someone on the internet on behalf of someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,249 ✭✭✭joeguevara

One thing I’ve learned from my experience and the last couple of months is that when I think that someone is getting undeserved (imo) abuse I will try my best to either offer support, give what u think is the correct interpretation of events, try and reading that the vitriol that is forthcoming is abhorrent or simply a distraction.

beumg so heavily inked I’ve become some agnostic to the hurtful comments regard h an apparent appearance and how it’s perceived, becomes Less easy if criticism is related To what I perceive as my ointelligence, my morals or ethics. The worst one was the allegations of consumption ir a a controlled substance.

if you see somwthinbb TV that you don’t lik, just Fcucking leave it. Id uouwabr ti hurt someone hurt self

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,855 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Imagine being offended by seeing a gay couple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,026 ✭✭✭YellowLead

She looks great for her age!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Bit overdressed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,215 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Total babe.

But anyone who claims they aren't high maintenance and dresses a bit 'different' tends to be in fact high maintenance.

I think Grace's outfit is lovely......mind you, Mrs Mc Carthy says I've zero idea about fashion so that probably doesn't count for much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭_NAGDEFY

I know a work colleague's daughter on tonight😊

She's gonna say no

My neighbours first cousin got a new car today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,295 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Laois woman=head melt