Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

What does the future hold for Donald Trump? - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭arthursway

It's the most watched news station in the USA and tucker Carlson is an absolute juggernaut when it comes to getting the viewers in.

A news station in good health by all means which is more than can be said for the left leaning news stations since trump's departure as president.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Do you not understand what ? means?

What percentage of the population of the USA watch it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,994 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,499 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

It's a disgusting mouthpiece for the far right and now is a mouthpiece for Russia. How else can one explain the example of their programming above. It and all it's supporters are reprehensible if they think that is considered acceptable journalism. Sorry, let me rephrase: It and all it's supporters are reprehensible BECAUSE they think that is considered acceptable journalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,339 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

It's not a news station, it's a right wing rag and Carlson is proving himself to be a great Russian asset. The fact you admire him says a lot about you.

Well I wasn’t expecting an answer from him.

If you are only appealing to a tiny minority then you are not a juggernaut.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,967 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Here's something that's important to know.

Fox News is the largest "NEWS" channel , but the majority of people get their news from the regular channels (Think ITV/BBC/RTE vs. Sky News for example)

Fox News averages about 2.5M Viewers daily - but for example the 3 big "Nightly News" bulletin shows (ABC, NBC & CBS) combined have an average above 20M+ every night.

Fox is the biggest fish in the smallish pond of "Cable News Channels"

It does not swim in the much bigger pond where the majority of people who just watch the "news" a few nights a week exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,380 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

Waiting on trump supporters to stick their heads above the parapet and say how their esteemed leader would have been stronger against Russia...

AppropriateRingedBasilisk-size_restricted.gif

Your silence is hilarious. What a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭RichieRich_89

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

He admitted grabbing women by the pussy and had police clear protestors using balls of pepper spray. So close enough.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,839 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I get all my news from the most reliable sources like...greenwald.substack.com....

It's basically a blog....lol

I do apologise. We agree he admitted sexual assault

He said there were “very fine people, on both sides.” One side was a March organised by white supremacists, shouting Nazi anti Jewish slogans and flying aryan nation and swastika flags. What “fine people” joined them?

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,175 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Again to some if you are not on board with all the lefts ideals you are a far right trump supporting racist.

Stop with the weak ass strawman building.

No one on the left is clamouring for everyone to declare complete and unabashed support for a candidate as is happening on the right, whether at the extremes or wherever it is you think you exist and have convinced yourself that it is an appropriate position.

If you want to support Haley, support her and own your support for her. Speaking for myself, I don't care. They're your words about not supporting all the lefts ideals equalling being a far right Trump supporting racist. No one of note on the Left is saying that no matter how often you or Fox News hosts or Ted Cruz or Steve Bannon claim that to be the case.

Niki Haley is definitely Trump supporting and for me, that's enough to hope she never again holds a position of significant power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭newhouse87

Yes and you just proved my point, if i was to support haley which i would, you would claim she is a trump supporter which in turn would make me a trump supporter in your eyes. Believe it or not you can agree with some of what trump did and still dislike the man and not be a trump supporter, i believe haley fell into that category and condemned him on certain things. But its all in or out with many on the left and right too tbf. You fall into that category like many on here who can support just 1 side no matter what. Childish but many many like that these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,175 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

You could stop and maybe have a think about your own logic in supporting someone when you feel the need to have to go out of your way to pre-empt how people may react to that. Maybe there's a subconscious thought there that you should pay attention to.

I pay a lot of attention to political affairs and actions and am more than capable of forming my own opinion on central players on that basis. I'm not bothered about whether or not someone thinks I am judging them or the people they support incorrectly or inappropriately. I don't feel the need to justify my position in having no time for any particular political candidate or to waste time trying to analyze the loops someone tries to jump through to justify their own support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭newhouse87

You have near 19000 posts here, you are constantly justifying your tunnel minded vison and tbh i think some times you need a break from boards as you come across as irritable at the best of times. Im at work on the night shift i post infrequently as you can tell. Worry about your own sub-conscious maybe and not others. You form a group opinion , you are always on the lft side of arguments, i on other other hand agree with both sides on different matters. In good form at work tonight so not getting dragged into a never ending a debate, and ill let you enjoy have the last reply as im sure you wouldn't sleep well if you didn't get that last word in. Goodevening.

FFS, what is it with some people starting a debate, and then saying they don't want to have one. Either give your opinion and stand by it when it is challenged or don't and you won't have to. This is a discussion Board, maybe you thought you were just checking in to Facebook, I promise you if you don't post here I, or anyone else isn't going to send you a PM asking you to get involved.

Former US presidents on Russia’s invasion of Ukraine:

Clinton: “Brazen violation”

GWB: “The gravest security crisis on the European continent since World War II”

Obama: “A brazen attack on the people of Ukraine, in violation of international law” 

Trump: “That’s pretty smart”

They're all RINOs you see.

Trump reminds me of Henry Sellers.

"I AM THE REPUBLICAN PARTY"

Read for yourself. He explicitly says he's not talking about neo-Nazis/white supremacists when he says "fine people on both sides...":

https://www.politifact.com/article/2019/apr/26/context-trumps-very-fine-people-both-sides-remarks/

Trump: "Excuse me, excuse me. They didn’t put themselves -- and you had some very bad people in that group, but you also had people that were very fine people, on both sides. You had people in that group. Excuse me, excuse me. I saw the same pictures as you did. You had people in that group that were there to protest the taking down of, to them, a very, very important statue and the renaming of a park from Robert E. Lee to another name."

Reporter: "George Washington and Robert E. Lee are not the same."

Trump: "George Washington was a slave owner. Was George Washington a slave owner? So will George Washington now lose his status? Are we going to take down -- excuse me, are we going to take down statues to George Washington? How about Thomas Jefferson? What do you think of Thomas Jefferson? You like him?"

Reporter: "I do love Thomas Jefferson."

Trump: "Okay, good. Are we going to take down the statue? Because he was a major slave owner. Now, are we going to take down his statue?

"So you know what, it’s fine. You’re changing history. You’re changing culture. And you had people -- and I’m not talking about the neo-Nazis and the white nationalists -- because they should be condemned totally. But you had many people in that group other than neo-Nazis and white nationalists. Okay? And the press has treated them absolutely unfairly.

I've seen this argument made before and personally I don't buy it. I believe that Trump took this tack to give a get out clause to the deplorables who were there. He opened the door for everyone to say 'Oh of course, there were deplorables there, but there were also fine people and of course I was one of the fine people.'

The images of Nazis carrying tiki torches abhorred most people who saw it, Trump knew what he was doing in trying to make sure they weren't all painted in a negative light.

It wasn't and isn't just about statues or acknowledging history. If it was then it shines even a brighter light on the efforts to control very tightly how history is communicated to students in schools and colleges.

You are arguing with something I didn’t say. I know what he said. I’m disputing that any “fine people” could join a March that behaved the way this one did.

If I strolled down to Dublin for a protest and the majority of people I joined were waving USSR flags and chanting slogans from Stalin era USSR, I’d be out of there immediately.

Who were the “fine people” at the Charlottesville March? No one has ever quantified that statement.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

To think that with all the torrent of outrageous behaviour from yer man when he was president, I'd almost forgotten that the first impeachment was for illegally withholding military aid cash for Ukraine. I'd like to think that would get a mention when the GOP senators who voted to say that was grand no problem there are up for election next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,499 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

So how many NON white supremacists do you think were supporting the white supremacists rally organised by white supremacists for white supremacists? And do you think that these non white supremacists supporting these white supremacists at their white supremacists rally are "Fine People"? Because, personally, I believe that non white supremacists who support white supremacists at a white supremacists rally are NOT "Fine People" and are, in fact... wait for it... white supremacists.

Edit: Fixed typo

Post edited by TheIrishGrover on

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,967 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Exactly - Let's imagine for a second a scenario where you thought about turning up to the protest because you liked the Statues and thought that removing them was a bit much or whatever.

That potential presence , whilst a bit misguided and short sighted in my view doesn't immediately label you as "white supremacist".

However, given that the events leading to the death of that woman were the day AFTER the boys with the Tiki torches had their march , ANYONE that turned up on that day supporting the protest did so absolutely categorically with the full knowledge and understanding that it was being led and organised by White Supremacist scumbags and as such they should be labelled at the absolute best, as enablers of racism.

There were no "Fine" people there , none at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

Would I like to see a United Ireland?

Yes.

Would I go to a protest or march calling for a United Ireland that was organised by Saoradh or Republican Sinn Féin?

Not a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭arthursway