Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

It was her first date ever even though she was married, she must’ve first met her husband at the church on their wedding day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭KevRossi

......Or maybe they knew each other from college/work, or maybe just got a shift in a club and took it straight from there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,407 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Felt sorry for the Wexford fella, he was clearly nervous and they matched him with someone that was never going to say yes. They weren't compatible in the slightest either, an absolutely brutal match. He was fairly sickened at the end but I think he dodged a huge bullet.

Kilkenny couple were lovely, I think she was really into him but it was clear he had zero interest. I don't really like when the couples already know each other.

The rest were all nice people but I've already forgotten everything about them.

It's nice that your man that was on it twice got married but there was no need to waste a few minutes of the episode on it. Maybe mention it briefly at the end or throw up an article on the RTE website. That would've been plenty.

Post edited by Deeper Blue on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,067 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

That Wexford lad definitely dodged a bullet. I was surprised how into her he seemed. But who am I to question a guy in his 40's with no socks.

Poor Aisling seems to have always had a thing for Mervyn but it was fairly obvious he never saw her in the same light.

The vanilla couple were as vanilla as you get. He (or the producers) didn't even mention what club in England he was on the books with. It might have given us some bit of interest in the conversation.

The Dublin lad wasn't into the long distance relationships. She would have traveled to Nigeria for him. God only knows what her accent would sound like if that happened. Both seemed nice though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Makes no sense. There'd have to be dates.

So you shift in a club. Next time you meet is where? A drink? A coffee? That's a date.

Any meetings in the first few months where you're seeing someone, getting to know them, is a date

I am 100% sure yer wan from Cork has been up to Dublin to get with yer man. No doubt in my mind.

I don't know why they match people from so far away? It's just never going to work out with someone from Cork and Dublin or Mayo and Wexford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Ya wexford lad lacked a bit of confidence in himself, looked good trendy looking lad in good shape with a good head of hair, he has a lot going for himself for a 40 year old. His date looks like she has missed out on her youth and is really going to make the best of it now with her new body and more power to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭druss

Chesterfield in England, St Pats before that. As an LOI fan, the bit about the dream all being over now kind of rankled. I really don't see why youth players should be going over to the likes of Chesterfield anyway.

But again it probably would have needed a lot more context on injuries etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭gidget

This is exactly what I can’t get my head around. Surely she would have had to have had some sort of relationship build up with her ex before she agreed to marry him, meals out, cinema etc all “dates” in the way I would class it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Shuffl_in

I hope Wexford guy comes back on. Yer one was a very poor match. He definitely dodged a bullet there.

She’s desperately trying to be something that she’s not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,067 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

That's an odd one, Cook went there after Sligo didn't he? Must have brought a few Irish lads over at the time?

My brother played for a very limited time with Cook at Sligo, while he was at college there, before giving up "the dream".

They surely went on dates before they got married.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,215 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

That's the curse with Instagram. All these stun hun followers makes her think she is some sort of a celeb when in reality all she has done is lose a pile of weight.

A complete diversion from First Dates, but your man from Wexfords line of "what's for you won't pass you by" might apply to the football bit as well! You're right on Paul Cook. He is back at Chesterfield again, as it happens.

I think the Brexit situation is improving this schoolboy football situation and hopefully it's more likely that most will do leaving cert in Ireland and then pick from options abroad if that's what they want. With more EU clubs being considered as well.

He seemed a smart enough young fella and was very empathetic with his dates situation on cancer treatment etc.

On the poor matches, i think there was a UK episode recently enough which matched a guy with his former sister-in-law. If that isn't a potential wedding riot in the making...

Some people only consider it a date when it's dinner with someone new.

You match on Tinder, meet on a night out, etc and go for a meal - A date.

Get rid of the children for the night - Not a date.

I, personally, wouldn't consider meeting for coffee a date.

She’s delusional, she was on Corks red fm this morning showing pity for her date as if he lost the catch of his life. Best of luck with her meeting the Kardashian’s they wouldn’t give her the time of day.

If you fix a time to meet with someone romantically that’s a date even if it’s only meeting on a street corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,215 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Let's be frank here, lads aren't exactly going to be forming a queue to get with her. Nor would she turn heads in a bar.

Compare her to the one last week who lost a load of weight as well, and was gorgeous yet not up her own hole. Cork one reminds me of Claire from Derry Girls.

She needs a reality check, even if I am impressed by her efforts in losing weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Is there much effort to getting a gastric band fitted and getting skin removed? She must be doing well for herself to afford all the procedures I suppose! Dunno what yer man was thinking saying yes

Define someone new?

Nah, I think she just wanted the attention. "I have never had a date despite being good looking" and then someone someone will go "how????" and then she'll be like "well I used to weigh 22 stone and then I lost it all and now I'm looking for a date" which will lead to the other patting them on the back for losing all the weight and telling them they look amazing.

It was definitely a publicity grab for her beauty pagent thing which is mentioned everywhere in the articles about her.

Exactly the girl last week was more in tune with reality and also really good looking.

The one that lost weight and had excess skin removed and a boob job, she was with the Northern Ireland fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Goodigal

I think she meant to say she'd never been on a blind date maybe. But did the voice over not say the Wexford chap was single for 8 years, but he had a 6 year old?!! I was a bit confused with both backgrounds. But I did feel sorry for him cos he was enjoying himself and then got a no thanks. Pity really. He seemed nice.

Ya she's nothing special at all, I'd even argue she was punching above her weight being matched with the Wexford lad.

I didn't really get a good vibe from her and I can't put my finger on why. She came across very fake or something.

He was lucky that she said no, imagine listening to her constant babbling if you were hitched to her.

Also, slightly off topic but does someone that loses weight due to a gastric sleeve really deserve the "OMG amazing achievement" type comments?

If they'd lost it all due to diet and exercise (as many do) then I'd be impressed. But anyone can fly to Turkey and get a gastric sleeve so I don't understand why someone should be lauded for doing so as if it's some incredible accomplishment.

Because she is fake. Botox, fake teeth, dyed hair.

It was all about raising her profile and talking about that Ms Diamond Ireland.