Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have I chosen the wrong career?

• 06-02-2022 12:12am
    Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭

Have been looking at houses and almost every estate agent (20 out of 21) had luxury premium cars newer than 2020 like bmw x6, 730, jaguar suv.

These cars are over 50k while some of them over 70k and I'm trying to understand if this profession really pays that well or the real estate company provides them with luxury cars?

Yes, I know having a 70k car doesn't mean much as it can be financed but literally every agent to afford them it's a bit fishy, no?

I'm a Software Engineer earning slightly above average but I'll change careers tomorrow if it pays better.

Comments

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 9,921 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

But would you be any good at it? You need to be a people person and comfortable talking BS for hours…. Not your typical software engineer. On the other hand a good software engineer with salary and royalties should not complain either.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,864 ✭✭✭✭Dav010

There are lots of well paid people in every industry, including IT/software, and lots of poorly paid. Could be as you said, the cars could be leased by the agency, or they just might be very good at their jobs. If you think you can be that guy, go for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,721 ✭✭✭Phil.x

That's why you don't know who, if anyone you're bidding against, bunch of crooks, all bidding should be at the property in person with ID and employment details, that way the estate agent cannot include fictional bidders.