Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users Posts: 12,941 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Wouldn't you rather be that way though than going on national TV and saying you broke your d1ck during sex?!

Give me plain and ordinary any day!

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

I'd love to know how many pm's @joeguevara received today from the single ladies of boards!😂

Well done man, you done good.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,749 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Ciara very pretty and good personality. Her makeup was excellent not drag queeny at all which is rare. Fair play to her for starting out on her own business wise, but someone obsessed with social media hmm that would put me off someone personally. Her date was handsome and a messer (a nice arsehole...lol like his mate said). They make a great looking couple. Could tell they were both keen.

Euciline really attractive...she looks younger than her age, nice laugh. Her experience with being married would put most people off men for life. Still not 100 percent clear on what happened, not sure she has really dealt with it emotionally but hey what do I know. I wouldn't have paired her with Joe at all, he would be punching tbh (a bit of a bummer and blower as my mum would say). But seemed to settle down a bit as it went on, seemed like a decent fella. No spark not too shocked.

Ginine seemed sound, (12 Guinness fair play twirling about on the ribbons after that), she needs more practice at the unicycle definitely ha. Andrew seemed nervous but not in a bad way, decent guy, seemed to relax a bit as it went on, he had the bang right away of a farmer/gardai (I said to my other half right away). I would say he would be decent sound gardai as well. Two nice fun easy-going people, on the show for the right reasons, really good match. Nice to see the follow up :)

Sasha easy going, nice eyes, amazing legs! Absolutely shocking tan hands. Her date seemed a bit nervous at start...a broken neck...and a broken penis (talk about an over share..the detail...he went into)...jaysus...and definitely a mammy's boy, he is young but still... I thought she would say no to a second date. Pygmalion I could have guessed tbh!

Post edited by gmisk on

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭SamStonesArm

Jaysis looking at all that, he really makes some mad effort for himself haha , I'd stumble up trying to do all that shite.

Also, dad jokes are the best jokes going.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

Ffs .

I'm only watching this on the player now. Ffs. I have no words!

Why the FOOK.

And I thought he seemed like the "normal" 1 ! Gobsmacked

• Registered Users Posts: 12,355 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

More importantly....what is the most embarrassing thing that you have broken?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭joeguevara

What does a bummer and a blower mean? Never heard that expression before?

The most embarrassing thing I’ve broken? Well apart from a little bit of my confidence with a handful of absolute horrible posts on social media. From one Twitter profile messaging about 10 tweets in a row questioning my 5Exuality to others saying I got my qualification in the joy.

but to answer your question the most embarrassing thing I’ve broken was falling out of a window in deptford in London and splitting my heel in two on my left foot and breaking all of the metatarsals in my right foot. Was in a boot and a cast for 3 months. Luckily I was fully paid for the entirety and spent my convalescent in Amsterdam. Explaining what happened to my parents was embarrassing to say the least.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

I thought Ciara was bland enough. Too much "oh.my god". She just made repeated comments about how she's done a 180 on him,

I think her "extreme ambition" is more fantasy...wanting to release her own brand? Bit like saying I want to be CEO of Facebook and claiming I'm ambitious.

Sasha was worse. All she did was laugh. Why would someone answer ".....ehhh why not" when asked if she wanted to see him again.

One thing that is very interesting I have found is that ordinary is the most important thing on the show. The dates that have any real resonance are ones with no gimmicks or stories that explode on social media. Take the couple that got engaged from last season. The northern Irish ex cop and the guy with the tattoos. They just clicked by telling their story but no drama.

It’s important to know that each date lasts about 2 hours(well from my experience). So from the bar to the paying the bill there is a lot that goes on and what is shown in the episode is literally a tiny proportion. So someone agreeing to a next date is based on a lot more than the viewer sees.

one thing that really got to me was seeing comments about my job. It always has to be fair mainly because people make snap judgments about how I look and what I do. Someone’s ambition is them. Of course people can be the CEO of anything they want. Ambition and drive is not visible from a few clips of a show.

i 💯 believe that if she wants her own brand she can achieve it. Rarely as frank or open as this but I was selected for first dates about 3 years ago. The reason I pulled out was because I was requested to wear a short sleeved tshirt on my date to show my ink. It was so uncomfortable knowing that it was a narrative that wasn’t me. It was crazy seeing a statistic from LinkedIn today that there was over 2000 profile views in the last 24 hours.

watching yourself on tv is cringeworthy. Reading comments that you are rough or dragged up is tough. I hate being photographed but there is two photos that my mother has framed and pride of place. It’s me in the Dail giving advice to minister darcy about financial crime and also me in the dail beside the tricolour Just shows that appearances mean nothing. And preconceived notion’s of what ambition should look like is archaic. If someone has ambition to rule the world, support that. It’s hArd enough without being judged.

Very interesting.... thanks your posts since the show....... absolutely great to get a REAL insight into fdi. Basically, the editor is a bit of a God??. I often wondered about what people wear on the show........I assumed you just drew on in your 'kit'........ never thought they'd 'request' you wear certain items ..... that's kinda sneaky though makes perfect sense. As regards someone's job.......well, this IS Ireland.......you'll always be associated with your job.....I see a guy in the pub & he's always referred to as 'X' the butcher.......hes been retired over a decade & he's still & always will be 'the butcher'.in fairness, you've given me a new better perspective on the whole programme.

Just want to say for my date on the show on Thursday the producer didn’t make any requests. But a couple of years ago they did.

Honestly my biggest concern was inadvertently I said what I do 3 times and was worried that it came across as something that defined me which couldn’t be further from the truth.

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭JimmyCorkhill

At what age did you study/train in the legal profession?

I thought in the pogramme you said you previously owned or ran a pub.

Was law something you studied later in life or earlier in life and went back to it?

I did a bcl in ucc straight after the leaving, then immediately after I started travelling for about 5 years. Then bought a pub in Carlow and sold it for a ridiculous price 18 months later. The pub was called Guevaras.

after that I did the 1 year barrister at law degree in kings inns. That was 2005 and then devilled with the most amazing master. As a devil my first case was on the prosecution side of the scissor sisters trial.

I won’t mention any other specific case as it would have been on the defence. I did a masters in international humanitarian law (law of armed conflict) and counter terrorism in NUIG which helped me specialise in anti money laundering and counter terrorist financing.

I would really love to know what gave you that impression?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Ah I'm just a randomer on the internet don't be worrying about my opinion 😊

For me it was the theatrical, flamboyant way of speaking and actions throwing your head back laughing, it seemed overly exaggerated.

To me it just came across abit camp.

I fully appreciate nerves may also be a factor.

You seem a really nice guy you are obviously super successful and intelligent.

The comment has obviously played on your mind as I made it a few days ago and your only asking about it now. Seriously don't let it. If you met me in real life you wouldn't give me a second look or give my opinions a second thought.

So put it behind you and move on, hopefully you will meet someone nice this year.

Fair play to you doing the show and admitting on here (which I think is even braver).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭VonLuck

I know from watching with friends that they think 50% of guys on the show are gay so I wouldn't take it personally!

Not at all, I just found it interesting how one can be perceived and good to know. I wouldn’t take it as an insult at all.

@joeguevara What is the schedule of it? Hard to make out from the show.

When the date finishes do you go to a room where you give your answer? Always wondered because they often show people going down escalators etc together and then next thing they're walking into the room at different times.

The goodbye outside the hotel, is that after the answers have been given?

I noticed sometimes there are people who have different hairstyles to what they had on the show talking on the set. Do they bring you in a few weeks after or what's that all about?

I had my pre date interview around about the June bank holiday and then the date was on in late July or early August.

One thing that kind of took me by surprise was there was a strict time limit for the date. So my date was scheduled for 5 but had to arrive at 3. They did the initial shots there of the walk, the lift, coming out of the lift. And then had to stay in a hotel room with two lovely researchers until the restaurant was ready.

the restaurant is a room off the main restaurant and people can’t just walk in. You can only get 2 courses off a 3 course menu, but I got a second course of oysters because I finished the food earlier. Then given the bill which was a 10 minute warning. Once that was done we were separated to do the separate post date interviews and finally the interview together.

I was happy to answer the would you see each other again question was a relief that my answer oh no was what my date was going to say too. We then had a nice little chat before going down the escalator for the final goodbye shot.

One of the best things to come out of the appearance of the show was being contacted by a few people who were in horrible legal situations and the walls were closing in on them and I’ve carved out time to try and create a plan so they see light at the end of the tunnel. I absolutely love the show but if there was one addition Is some sort of interview immediately after airing and before there is so many media outlets writing articles based on the episode and peoples reactions on social media.

• Registered Users Posts: 84,332 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

He is talking loads now, very culchie shite

The penis break TMI

The publician barrister I'd say was afraid of Ms. I Want Babies Brazil

• Registered Users Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

The thing is if you have the determination and drive to do it, you can succeed.

All you need to do is look at the likes of Suzanne Jackson, Marissa Carter etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,135 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

For every Suzanne Jackson that makes a career out of social media, there are millions of wannabes that don't. Drive and determination play little part in the success of these individuals, blind luck and the right connections play a far bigger role. I can't see how that young one did herself any favours on the show, she looked well in the pre-date interview but her makeup on the actual date was awful. Not a great advert for her skills if she looks like a tangerine without the instagram filters.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,941 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

@joeguevara I think you were very brave here to out yourself and give the insight and tbh answer a lot of personal questions that are nobody's beeswax.

Honestly, hats off.

@JP Liz V1 what's wrong with culchies? 😆

To thine own self be true

Yeah the brand thing came off the back of gaining lots of followers from algorithms on facebook that don't exist anymore.

I remember the old days of facebook when Joe.ie were starting out. I remember they simply posted a straight picture of lads in Oz recreating that picture of lads sitting on a girder hundreds of feet in the air. It wasn't linked via their website or anything, just a straight photo posted. Got 10k + likes because any time someone liked the post, facebook would then show that on every one of their friends page. That's how things went viral.

Instagram algorithm worked the same at the start, now it's changed again to get pages etc. to pay for advertising.

So the likes of Jackson did well off that. her brand started by basically getting things in from China and sticking her label on it and then jacking up the price.

But back to this girl, my point was basically that calling yourself highly ambitious because you want your own brand doesn't make sense.

Everyone has dreams.

• Registered Users Posts: 84,332 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1