Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shear grab protection at barrier

Options
  • 19-01-2022 2:25pm
    Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭

Most winters I end up cutting a cow/bullock/heifer with the shear grab. Most of the time it's just a slight nick where they puck the open shear grab but we have had one or two cases over the years that needed a vet callout.

They are standard diagonal barriers on both an open and closed slatted shed. I could drop the silage block 3ft out and close the grab and push it in but that takes time, as a part time farmer I'm usually in a hurry to go to work, collect kids, get dinner etc.

Does anyone have any ideas on a simple blocking mechanism to stop the heads going out at feeding time?

I'm thinking of some sort of gate/mesh hinged off the top of the barrier that could be opened/closed quickly.

Has anyone done anything similar? Or any alternative ideas?

Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

I drop the block out from the barrier and when the next block is on the grab, push it in with the grab closed, then drop the next block.

Other option is drop the silage above the the height of the barrier

• Registered Users Posts: 2,421 ✭✭✭Jb1989

There was something on here years ago, Possibly in the gunthering thread, (I looked first few pages but can't see it).

Man was makeing light mesh sheets, in a light frame on a pully, that he could wind up and down fairly quickly, across the barrier.

He was useing bale spike but his passage way was very narrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo