Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Asked to buy a webcam myself for WFH purposes

Options
  • 17-01-2022 1:30pm
    Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭

Hi all,

I am working for a company here in the RoI. As most people do, I have been working from home (WFH) for almost 2 years now. In fact I have not even so much as visited the office of my current job even once.

For my role, it is required to hold video conferences with customers, this requires a webcam and headset. I happened to still have an old headset lying around which I am using (not provided by the company, but I already had it anyway). In addition, I use a laptop provided by the company which has a built-in integrated webcam like most laptops do. I also use an extra screen (basically required for this role, if not obligatory) which, again, I happened to have lying around here already anyway. So far so good.

Recently my manager instructed our team to purchase an external webcam so that we would appear more representative on camera to our customers. They stated that a webcam can be purchased for as little as 20 quid. I proceeded to ask my manager if the webcam could be expensed by the company (we do have a company credit card and can expense certain things but it needs to be preapproved) so that we could actually get a PROPER webcam, preferably one above 20 quid but worst case just expense the 20 quid for the cheap webcam; in addition I also took the opportunity to ask for a proper headset for WFH purposes to also improve audio quality.