Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Pandemic Information- Local and Worldwide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

The big difference is social contact wasnt restricted. That is a major difference and shouldn't be downplayed in anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,528 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

+1, children are resilient, it's just that some parents spoil them.

Three of my five nephews have broken marriages and its amazng the way the kids have just got on with it.

A couple having to finance two houses just don't have the time or the money to spoil them,yet they children are fine.

Back on course then......., for grown ups to be making a fuss over a few injections definitely isn't showing resilience.

The hospitality industry are in big trouble though, I really have sympathy for them.

Neighbours here got Covid, they're much older than me, I know where they'd be now but for the vaccines, husband is even more overweight than I am

There's no risk of side effects from a driving test and it actually does test competence...

Other vaccines can actually prevent the possibility of spreading disease...

The covid vaccine cert is a tick the box job that doesn't actually do anything to limit disease spread.

What it does do is give big pharma a great platform to sell vaccines in the future. A bit of hysteria around a "killer" flu. All of a sudden we need flu passes...

If we're really going to go down this road we should do it right. Heavily restrict the overweight. It's their choice to eat poorly after all...

Likewise for smokers, type 2 diabetes, people with low vitamin d levels and who knows how many others we can come up with a reason to restrict...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,852 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

We went to the local for our tea yesterday evening. The lads who'd come in at 10 for the few pints were in at 6. Good few around.

Yea, but it will curtail the parties having to start at six, won't be as much money spent.

It is what it is now, we're running the country to facilitate the HSE, Such a crowd to be depending the country on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,092 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

That's exactly what it is right now - the weapon they were in the process of creating.

Wasn't it. What age are are you? Or don't you remember the indiscriminate shelling of civilians, sniper fire, and all around great bunch of genocidal lads marauding through that country side every night on the news.

It's immaterial whether it was or wasn't created in a lab, worse virus' exist in nature. As for exactly, aside from the homeless crisis that used to be news, most of us have roofs over our heads, loved ones alive, free access to food and 99.9% of modern conveniences. That's not really my definition of exactly.

What it is is, different from what was normal. People are gone soft.

Is it spoiling or selfishness. We have a young fella and we both worked through lockdown and minded him, it's not easy, but it was in our opinions better than risking him contracting covid - regardless of statistical information on effects at different ages - it's like the home insurance in the other thread, no one want's to be the exception to the rule.

Contrast those complaining about the price of a pint before all this, that the industry was gouging them, to now complaining they don't have the opportunity to be gouged. Complaining really is an industry in Ireland.

There are sectors in difficulty I agree.

If you really looked into it I'd guarantee it was social bonds and people helping eachother out that got them through it.

No different to the community spirit that got the english through the blitz, or go back to ww1 and it was the camaraderie between fellow soldiers that was the reason they went over the top instead of deserting

You dont get that when you're isolating from covid. Lots dont seem to be able to understand that

People have still been helping each other through Covid. All across the country, doing shopping for people, contacting them in various ways to esure they're ok. The point you're missing in the non contagious nature of a bomb or bullet versus a virus.

That just leaves someone with four walls for company for the day. A five minute chat at the door isnt worth a fcuk compared to normal living and socialising.

There's never been this sort of behaviour forced on a population in history. Contagious virus or not, it's the wrong way to go.

People need the opportunity to spend time with others and have proper conversations.

"Compared to normal" really is missing the elephant in the room. Many people who've been hospitalised, for any reason, would have done great deals to get out of the place. It's the same with masks, afaik the mask I wear going into the shop doesn't protect me, it's there to protect whoever else in the shop from something I may unwittingly have. Community doesn't exist solely for the individual.

You're right. Community doesnt just exist for the individual.

It doesnt exist so that we give everything to protect a very small minority at the expense of the rest of society.

The full cost of reacting to covid in the way we did will be many times greater than had we let it off from the start.

In reference to society's expense, you'll remember I said something along the lines for what little we're being asked to do.

On money expense. If the people in this country were any bit worried at all about the state finances they'd have staged an uprising at the bank bail out time, with the level of debt that'll be multi generational that's been heaped on the country.

An awful lot of what I see is driven by entitlement and selfishness. Fair enough if people don't want to take a vaccine, but no more than not accepting that the powers that be dictate we drive on the left hand side of the road, expect some limitations or sanction for the choice the individual makes.

The UK tried letting it off at the start and abandoned the idea fairly quick and they've more ICU per capita than we have.

The uk is the pit canary for ireland

We see what the reward was for "saving" Christmas 2020 as well, months of lock down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Lad in I'll divo died from covid, ud think they'd get the best medical help. Lockdown should be based around calving time, mid January to mid March, lockdown everything

Just in case anyone is taking exception to anything I'm saying, well, anywhere, when I run for office I'll tell ye what ye want to hear, until then, I'll say what I think 😀

Watching Kate Garraway on TV, her husband got covid 20 months ago. It's a tough existence for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,092 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Totally agree, I had great help Spring 2020. The easing of construction lockdown coincided with the last calving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭paddysdream

Was sent for the booster yesterday and so far nothing in the line of side effects .Anything I read suggested that any chance of a reaction would occur with the third one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,752 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Closing pubs and restaurants early making things very messy …just popped in to collect a takeaway and gangs of young people drunk as an ass no masks on a lot and half arsed attempt at wearing them by others all fueling up for house parties …on one hand hard blame them but other ……no excuse for not wearing mask indoors now

Bit of a pain but if it saves one hypochondriac from a head cold then its probably worth it .

Our locals never bothered with any covid related stuff when they reopened this year ;2019 all over again .Two lads seemingly tested positive that were there one night I happened to be there as well .Still alive .We were all at the bar together for maybe an hour or so although at opposite ends .Neither would be in the first flush of youth .

One asked if people in the pub that night were to be listed as close contacts but HSE said no ,only his wife was considered as such .She was positive as well I think as were his daughters family who would be in his house most days .They were not considered close contacts either .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭arctictree

Got the booster on Sunday. Whole family tested positive today. Probably unrelated although I wonder did I pick it up at the test centre! Mild symptoms anyway.

Should I be worried then ?

Never been tested yet and unlikely to happen anytime soon I hope .

Massive number of cases today. Number in hospital going down. Hopefully it's getting weaker

Omicron can show symptoms in as little as three days, it's the quickest one yet, Is the vaccination centre the only place your family have been, vaccination centre is the only place I've seen the guidelines being adhered to, even I wore a mask

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,052 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

It’s very promising indeed.

herself was saying they are really worrying about it in healthcare settings as it’s so easily spread. But for the general population this shows that there is a way out.

It's timely that schools are off for 2 weeks to try and slow down the spread