Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Near Misses Volume 2 (So close you can feel it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,500 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Nah I'm just there to pick the girlfriend up but it happens regularly enough considering how infrequently I'm there! Not a big deal but in my experience people often aren't aware of issues until someone fires off an email. I usually have a few minutes to kill while in the visitor car park :)

Post edited by magicbastarder on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,570 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Not my video but something that has happened to me at this junction. The main road curves to the right with the cycle lane so anyone wanting to continue straight is technically making a left turn onto a minor road, but the cycle lane is newish so drivers pretend it isn't there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

That's a situation where the cycle lane makes things worse for the cyclist, similar to here.

That the Cahir/Limerick road out of Clonmel (and pretty busy) the road to left has a lot of housing and a lot of traffic turn left. The bike lane starts just before the junction; it is the perfect position that a cyclist intending to stay on main road will invite being hook by a driver assuming they will turn left.

If there ever was bike lane design which shows how little Local Authority road engineers cycle this would be it.

I wouldn't mind but the City Council lads do talk the talk about their training and best practice etc etc

At least there's a bit of a build-out in that example. I'm not sure what more could be done apart from making the turn tighter (meaning tractors and trucks would drive over it), or moving the cycle lane back so drivers coming from the main road cross it at right angles but that would inconvenience people on bikes by adding a tight turn when they're continuing on the major road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,622 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

I'm not able to see your twitter link right now, but am betting you've linked Albert Quay/Victoria Road in Cork?

Another detail that's irritating here is the inability to reach Albert Road or Jewtown with this cycleway. You're dumped on the far left of the roundabout, needing to cross a traffic lane and a half. No cycle infrastructure exists on the roundabout. You simply need to give up on the cycle infrastructure half way down Victoria Road and proceed on the main traffic lane.

If you show the roads engineers basic elemental flaws like this in their designs they'll tell you "we are experienced roads engineers and adhere strictly to DMURS and the National Cycle Manual". Yeah, but maybe you need to get on a bike and try to use the junk you're commissioning lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Steoller

They could raise the entry to the minor road into a speed ramp with the cycle lane on top? slow down the traffic coming off the main road, and highlight the presence of the cycle lane?

That's it exactly!

This was all brought up in consultation and ignored, the responses are always as you say.

I think this would be good but I haven't seen examples of this speed ramp scheme outside of cities here, even on greenways, and can't find guidance in the cycle manual, so I wouldn't be hopeful of councils showing initiative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,622 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭ARX

They could at least have put the appropriate warning sign up but perhaps that would be asking too much.

W-004L-T-Junction-Type-2-Left.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Shite

Stuck home with covid and that sounds worse. Way worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,568 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

People who say 'reach out' when they simply mean 'contact' should be shot with balls of their own shyte.

"Reach back out to me"....are you having a seizure girl?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭kennethsmyth

Oh I have found an easy fix for that type of bus behaviour when they cannot wait for 5 seconds. i move in front of bus, put down my bike stand, take out my phone start videoing while blocking the bus for the next 2 minutes and asking the driver calmly why did he do that. The two minute wait hopefully makes them understand the futility of the pull in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭kennethsmyth

To be honest, I'd of probably let the bike hit the car a little, total pr1ck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Got close pass and shouted at the other day by a motorist (again) on Lombard St, Dublin, between the Windjammer and Pearse St. I was in the right lane, which is turn only. He goes past, gesticulating at the (contraflow) bike lane towards the quays. He's in the right turn only lane, and so gets caught at the light behind a car waiting for the right turn filter. So he's in the wrong lane himself, although the irony is totally lost on him.

I draw alongside and ask why he's shouting at me, pointing out that the lane he wants me to be in is for cycle traffic in the other direction. He then shouts at me there's a bike lane on the other side of the road too. I point out to him that you can't turn right from there. I was a bit angry but suggested he familiarise himself with the rules of the road, and that he should be more careful about his own lane selection.

Something like this happens to me on this stretch of road every few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭sy_flembeck

What I forgot to mention at the time is, where you see him reversing in the clip is just after I hit his side window an almighty slap with my open hand and roared abuse at him. Totally pointless manouevre in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,520 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Took the kids up the sugarloaf in Wicklow today (in a car). Was genuinely shocked at a drivers deliberate "confusion" regarding cyclists clearly and responsibly signalling right to remain on the N11 where there was a very clear and marked exit. The van driver was taking the exit & instead of simply taking the exit he inexplicably slowed behind the cyclist, went right and overtook the cyclist before going left over the hatchings to take the exit very late in front of another driver. There was plenty of room to simply go where the car (that he cut off) went that was actually in behind him initially.

A 100% purposeful obtuse action to annoy & endanger other road users to make a silly immature point. There was no ambiguity regarding the cyclist intentions, my oldest in the passenger seat is 14 and he knew exactly what was going on.

Cyclist was in black livery with black mitts, I saw him perfectly and could even see he was wearing mitts instead of gloves.... perfectly visible. Unfortunately I don't have a dash cam.

Motorists don't like when you make right turns. A few years ago I was on a two lane road, stopped waiting to turn right into the car park of the apartment I was living in. Car behind beeps because apparently I shouldn't be stopped and waiting for traffic to pass even though a car would be doing the same. There's two off road bike lanes so in their eyes I shouldn't on the road. This was also on a very short stretch of road between two roundabouts, with a park on one side where cars would turn into the car park and my apartment on the opposite side so stopping to turn is a regular occurrence there...

Goes into the oncoming lane because they should and they have to but wait what about oncoming cars !!!! what a fuckwit. My guess there is all but the Yaris dropped anchor.

EDIT: Actually over taking coming up to a junction there on the left should also count against the Yaris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Surprised there isn't an N and L plate in the back window.

Also that's all happening over a speed ramp

Not a near miss (do we need a hit thread?)

Took the bike up to Dublin on the train yesterday, was delighted with how easy it was and the number of cycle lanes and their relative continuity compared to Cork, but less delighted with my first ever collision on the way back to Heuston this afternoon. Classic left-hook. I think he only flicked on the indicator as he was turning cause there was no way I'd have been in that position if I'd seen it. I'm still annoyed at myself for not holding back but I was a little distracted trying to figure out how I was supposed to turn right up ahead. Lesson learned.

His excuse was he had a green light (so had I) and the first he knew about me was hearing the crash. Got his phone number and reg but I just wanted to get out of there so left it at that. I'm a few quid down between getting checked out and filling a prescription to deal with my hip and elbow which are now fecked for the next week, I'll see how they get on I know some injuries take a while to appear.

It's weird if it was just a near miss I'd be delighted to go to the guards but now that's the last thing I want to do.

As an aside has anyone ever got a Cyclic Fly12CE repaired? Mine is acting up. Would have been a much better video from the front!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭koutoubia

Doesnt matter.

Driver shouild have had his eyes planted in the offside mirror to make sure they werent gonna someome out of it .

Correct me if I'm wrong but he's crossing the bike lane to turn so must yield to you like crossing a normal lane of traffic? On paper that's similar to taking the exit on the M50 from the middle lane? (On paper anyway, obviously not quite as extreme) That's how I see it anyway. Anyone beside a bike lane should be checking their mirrors like a hawk. No excuse for that collision. Hope you're ok and nothing serious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,875 ✭✭✭tnegun

Thankfully your ok and fair play to the guy in the red top looks like he was coming to help? I've had close calls like this a few times no indicator and then the sudden turn left. What's annoying here is the change to a broken white line so it becomes a shared cycle lane is my understanding it's no longer a mandatory lane. I think this rule to yield "Is signalling an intention to turn to the left and will move to the left before you overtake " comes into effect as its now a shared lane I know he wasn't indicating but that's your word against his :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭fun loving criminal

If I'm stopped in front of a lane of traffic because of a red light, intending to turn right. Am I correct in thinking that any cars behind me has to wait behind me?

I had two drivers in the past week give me a fright with their awful driving or overtaking.

As the light turned green, and off I go, one driver overtook me on my left and turned right in front of me.

Another driver, overtook me on the right.

Wish drivers would cop on. We are vulnerable road users on bikes and crappy moves like this does frighten me.

They should absolutely wait if they're turning right, if there's room to pass on the left and they're turning left or going straight they can continue but not if it puts you in danger.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,734 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

I'm a few quid down between getting checked out and filling a prescription to deal with my hip and elbow which are now fecked for the next week, I'll see how they get on I know some injuries take a while to appear.

send him the bill. from what you say, he did not indicate on time.

this is one of the things i do not like about those wands; i would often take up position in the middle of the road going through junctions to protect myself and the wands will often make this difficult to do.

If he was indicating well in advance he'd have had right of way, not that that would absolve them of not checking mirrors and driving through someone. I think I'm OK thanks for asking, just soft tissue damage.

Yeah nice guy, came over to make sure I was OK! Though I was a bit shook so didn't thank him properly. It's a terrible cycle lane design for a junction and it's repeated all over the country. I'd normally join the main lane in this situation so this can't happen but couldn't with the bollards, though I'd rather have them than not.

Good call re the bollards another example where the engineering actually makes it more dangerous