2022 Irish Gigs (Confirmed & Rumoured Events)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭fafy

On Bruce, ya, if he takes one day off after every gig, the consequence is a lengthy Euro tour. Don’t see any RDS events in May, apart from a 3 day taking place after those rumoured dates, most big Aviva rugby events, finished in April i think, have not checked soccer events.

2022 will be overloaded with gigs, thats now very obvious, no income, or low income for many acts, for over a year. Which is why i will be very choosy, as a pile of more announcements are going to be made, as more acts are going to be doing some level of touring in 2022, than in any previous year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,761 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

With Brooks taking over Croke Park could a Bruce gig at Slane be out of the question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

There's a requirement to have a break between gigs and games of a number of weeks for the pitch to be treated so highly unlikely that anyone plays a gig there until the season is over.

Not - out of the question, anything is possible, just seems less likely, as MCD seems to have Slane - totally sown up, and Bruce is a committed and loyal Aikens act, in fact, the last Aikens act in Slane was what 30 years ago ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,753 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Disgraceful how they try and sell those pre sale seats.

Look at the Cure. Only the **** seats available. They try panic people into buying Block P and the like for 75 quid. Even though there will be plenty of standing and closer seats available tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭Duffy98

Yup, pre sales are to just shift the bad seats that people wouldnt usually want, they know the fans just want to get the tickets as soon as possible and they prey on peoples fear of not getting them, i dont agree with the practice of only allowing you to get the nose bleeds, if you are a proper fan you should be entitled to the best seats, if your signed up to a mailing list or for pearl Jam, pay for membership the types of tickets you should be allowed to buy before general release should reflect that, pre sales are very handy dont get me wrong i pretty much always use them for standing tickets but for seated they shaft you a lot of the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,188 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Well yes, they successfully panicked me into getting seats for the Dublin Cure gig. It's absolutely possible that I could miss out for a gig like that on general sale. Completely agree with the sentiments of both of ye, though. Presale is sold as a VIP queue skipping which is bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

I like presales for fans, if you're on their mailing list or purchased an album or whatever but this practice of advertised opt-in presales in advance from promoters is an awful practice.

For The Cure there was a 3 presale, a separate MCD presale and tomorrow a general on sale. Its stupid.

You won't miss out on the gig. I've never not been able to get a ticket to any gig I've ever wanted to go to. If it sells out there are always tickets the week of on Toutless or wherever.

Granted I've been lucky a few times. The Stones in 2003 being the luckiest I reckon. Think it sold out in 3 minutes.

Ah I don't know, Nal. Maybe you're just luckier than me. I missed out on plenty. Toutless is great but it won't always deliver on a really popular gig in the smaller venues.

I only ever use 3Arena Presales for standing tickets, they are consistently absolute rubbish, for seats, and its always been like this, it is not anything recent

Out of interest which ones have you missed out on?

Not trying to be Billy Big Bollix btw with my above post. But I genuinely cant think of one.

Idles in the Button Factory was the last one that would've been really tough to get a ticket for but even then there was someone trying to sell tickets on the door 30 minutes before the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,690 ✭✭✭Shedite27

Sponsors pre-sales are just a benefit for the sponsors clients. Three pay an amount, and are given an allotment to sell, as a benefit to their customers. The arena/band are never gonna give away the best seats for that.

Band/Fans presales are normally good seats as they have a different contract. Snowpatrol a few years back did a fans presale that sold out the whole Olympia. You'd never get that on a Three presale

Agreed, some band/fan presales have been good.

REM did 5 “fanclub only” gigs, in the Olympia a long while ago, that was really something, i’ve used the Radiohead presale, a lot over the years as well, Neil Young & The National are good also.

I remember that for snow patrol, did a nationwide theatre tour, all shows sold out from presales alone, didnt have access to that one, queued up on the day for Cork and was told there was no tickets left before they went on sale, was fuming but went to fans which was fine, pre sales are handy for peace of mind and standing tickets not much else

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 16,427 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Faith No More have cancelled all their oz/nz/uk/European dates for 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭BruteStock

One is probably unvaccinated. Possibly Patton as Mr Bungle cancelled tour dates as well.

Jack White announced a U.S and European tour, no irish date though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭thebronze14

Think it was mentioned before that he was going through some mental health issues. I had tickets for FNM's gig in Berlin but I had to change my wedding to that week and couldn't go anyway so will be getting my money back fortunately. They are my bucket list band to see so hopefully they are able to get back on the road soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

NaL is on the ball. 99% of the time tickets will become available on toutless or adverts. If you can wait until last minute i.e. couple of hours before the gig, you'll get very good bargains.

I think there was only one gig that I couldn't a ticket for - The National in Vicar St;. Not a sniff of a ticket. That was a bit unique in that it was a band playing in a very small venue.

There will be no problem getting tickets during the week before the gig. People will get sick, have other plans etc. I got a ticket for the Cure gig in Malahide for €40 on the day of the gig.

Ye're probably right lads. Your circumstances have to be right though to play chicken like that on gigs up until the last few hours. I alas have reached that stage of life where a bit of forward planning is a necessity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭DarMul17

All Idles gigs in Vicar Street are cancelled for next month.

Playing Royal Hospital Kilmainham on May 29th 2022.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,713 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Apart from here , wheres the best mag / newspaper to see up coming gigs. I'm not in ( or near ) Dublin so will be planning a good bit ahead.? Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,761 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Music blogs might have list such as Nialler9, Golden Plec etc. Then case of venue and promoter sites. Be handy to have a big masterlist site alright but don't think there's one afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,713 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Thomhic312

Thanks for letting me know about toutless. Never knew of it.