Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Santy get a boyfriend...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

It doesn't matter that he's not a real person - the whole magic of Christmas is about Santa Claus & Mrs. Claus. There is absolutely no need for some woke cretin to rewrite that to Santa Claus kissing some fella. It would be like someone rewriting a gay love story to include a female because **** that, the old ideas of homosexuality are so boring and this is how an established homosexual character should act if a woman approaches him...

There is nothing sexual about Christmas.

Just quoted one line (for context) and agreed that yes it is weird.

I didn't deliberately misrepresent you - I made an error obviously.

Of course I'd consider it weird if Santa's partner was once a girl he gave presents to.

The "Let's be honest" mind-reading thing was to depict me as having a problem with men being with men - ah here, so incorrect it's not even funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭funkyzeit100

I just can't find humour in this kind of thing anymore. It's the kind of humour that's essentially laughing at people for getting upset at something that was purposefully designed to upset.

It's a woeful state of affairs that there's such underlying venom within so many people that is being fanned and enflamed by these companies. And I reckon the origin is the same as the result, it's antagonism for the sake of antagonism. A snowball effect.

Looking at the United States, I just don't want to live in such a wreck of a society as that where everyone is at each other's necks and everyone is a policeman with a phone looking for outrage.

This ad is a great example of how those eejits over there got to where they are. It's not harmless and it's not funny. Nobody likes to be po-faced, but it's time people started saying "f off" to these bloody companies and advertisers trying their best to stir up trouble.

So do you think that the ones behind this advertisement thought to themselves, "this is just great, it won't cause any controversy at all"?

It's all well and good to say such a thing isn't offensive, but you'd need to be living beneath a rock your whole life to not see that it was purposefully designed to be offensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Okay point taken, but here's the thing. Society progresses by inclusion, that's how it's always been. As social thinking has advanced over the years a key part of this has always been to include those groups with 'less' representation. Yes, it can and will antagonize some folks, and that's normal.

Personally, I will sit back and watch at those people who are bothered and offended by the idea that Santa could have a boyfriend. It is funny to me that somebody can be so small minded and so set in their ways that the hint of Santa, who is again not real, and his legend roots are from **** Turkey and not Lapland can actually be upset by an ad for a postal service.

I'm telling you man, this stuff is going to achieve the exact opposite of togetherness.

Stuff designed to offend and divide is not challenging or bringing people together. It's going to offend and divide. Nobody was wondering where santa clause sticks his dick, but they knew that it was a great angle to stir up shyt. So they did.

That's how the United States got to where it is, and if people think that place is some kind of utopian goal for a country, I want off the planet!

Eartha Kitt should not have sexualised Santa and Christmas.... Not a mention of Mrs Claus...

Santa baby, just slip a Sable under the tree for me

Been an awful good girl

Santa baby, so hurry down the chimney tonight

Santa baby, a '54 convertible too, light blue

I'll wait up for you, dear

Santa baby, so hurry down the chimney tonight

Think of all the fun I've miss

Think of all the fellas that I haven't kissed

Next year, I could be just as good

If you check off my Christmas list

I'm sure they were perfectly aware that somebody would treat it as controversial in much the same way as the introduction of gay characters on soap operas or gay penguins in a children's book outrages people. And that's more a case of bigots or idiots looking to be outraged cause this stuff is inoffensive and the message is entirely positive. Fyi, the ad has largely had a positive reception.

“Posten is an inclusive workplace with great diversity, and we would like to celebrate the 50th anniversary with this fine love story,” she added.

There has been some inevitable negative comments from some sources. Moscow-based RT bemoaned the reimagination of Santa Claus “to suit woke causes.” However, the coverage in most mainstream media around the world has been positive.

So Norway doesn't seem to care that much meanwhile the most predictable outlets such as Russia Today are annoyed. It's dickheads finding controversy where there is none. The fact that you think its purpose was to be offensive is more a reflection upon you since the actual controversy is pretty contrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

I've noticed lately that many posts on boards are not there to make a point , they're there to score a point, while at the same time belittling their targets.

I'd agree that looking at what we see of American society on tv or the papers seems to suggest that the place is falling apart, but it was as bad in the 60's and 70's. No acceptance of an opposing view, just arrogance and intimidation. You're seeing it in this thread, but my limited exposure to 'society' these days doesn't suggest the heroic types who post here are as outspoken in real life. So I don't bother to engage with them here.

I find the ad crass. Someone said "Jesus is next". haha, as sure as night follows day......(and I absolutely loved The Life of Brian).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

So I initially was watching the ad and not liking it because I just wasn't relating to the boyfriend guy, just found him a bit old and a bit of a dead fish/cold. I wasn't relating to Santa either because I was just looking at him and thinking, god you just look so "old"

But my God, as the ad went on.... Sniffle. It was heartwarming! Everyone deserves love! I don't care how old you are. I don't care if you are a guy and a girl. two fellas, two girls whatever. I thought it was a lovely ad

Sorry, but that's some pile of contradictory shyte there.

So you admit that they did it to cause controversy, but the problem is the people that see it as controversial?

Nah.

You're living under a rock if you can't see that it's a bunch of shyt-stirring pricks doing what shyt-stirring pricks do.

That's the beginning of it and that's the end of it. They are the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭jjmcclure

So so sick of Santy being portrayed as male!!!! Clearly "they" are non-binary.

And if what is shown in this ad is true I don't want him coming down my chimney and emptying his sack on Christmas eve!!!!

On a serious note..... if we are going to constantly rewrite tradition and well-established lore to fit the gay/transgender/whatever you're having yourself narrative then the world is rightly fooked.

And before you start I have many gay friends who hate the sort of shoite this ad spins

Nope, not to create a controversy. It's just a guarantee as there are people who are by default annoyed by anything LGBT. There's a controversy but it's largely by the same people who are annoyed by a female Dr Who or Superman's son being bisexual. But overall the response has been positive with a minority being upset.

There's a distinct irony in the fact that the same group of people who would likely be referring to people as snowflakes are getting so riled up about this.

True. They could have told the same story effectively in about half the time.

You forgot to add an extra paragraph at the end saying "Pathetic".

Pathetic.

Nobody even picked up on the fact that on the most important night of his working year, Santa handed over his work to the Norwegian version of An Post so he could pull.

Sorry, but if I was yer man I'd consider that a serious red flag.

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

I want to see some girl on girl action with the Tooth Fairy.

Did people send their letter to Lapland or Greenland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,664 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Woke shite.

What kind of wingnut sends a letter to Santa in Greenland?

I did! I think I might have put North Pole, Lapland, Greenland on it.

We just did North Pole. Lapland got mentioned, but never featured on the envelope. As for Greenland? Nah, not a chance.

Did I mention that my parents were pedants?

I think I just thought "put a bunch of snowy places on the envelope".

Oh yeah, there's nothing controversial about portraying santa clause, perhaps the least sexualized person you could pick, as a sexualized figure in an ad.

They really just wanted to put out the innocent story that everyone wanted to hear about where santa puts his dick. That's all! They wouldn't have dreamt that it would stir up clicks and controversy, little innocent pukes that they are.

Come off it, will you.

But something something bigots, something something funny, something something whatever. Yeah, right, that's the problem.

The song Santa Baby is pretty sexual, came out in 1953... Still pretty infused with sex. In this case it's romantic at most and really hasn't caused a controversy. Norway isn't up in arms over it, it's just a few idiots who would probably have a stroke over a black santa as well. It's just really silly. Sort of hilarious that you think the Norwegian Postal service wanted to cause a controversy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 oookkkaaayyy

You better watch out, you better not cry

You better not pout, I'm telling you why:

Santa Claus is bumming your dad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

I would not phrase it like that " Gay industry "

Its the " LGBTQ+" industry , many gay people are unhappy with being shoved in under this umbrella and aligning themselves with the goals , values and demands of said movement

"Let me tell you about this one song from nearly 70 years ago".

It's controversy for controversy's sake. No matter the mysteries of exactly who and where profits, you can bet your arse that someone will make money off the clicks.

Perhaps, the ad company can then point to this nonsense as a campaign that garnered 2 million clicks, therefore "hire us to get your product 2 million clicks too!". Whatever. Someone is making a buck off it.

Nobody in their right mind was wondering about the sexuality of santa clause. They chose this subject to stir up the shyt. That's all there is to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Starfire20

Im always amused by the people who hide behind "think of the children" excuses.

I wish they'd just be honest and admit they find gay, trans people etc icky.

I mean, whats the difference between a man and woman kissing and two guys/girls ?

Its just their own prejudices and insecurities at play imo

Funny, isn't it, how people keep talking about their "amusement"?

What it is, in fact, is people who are actually venomous on the inside finding a tiny outlet with which to extrude their inner poison on others. "Amusement" my arse. Satiation of inner conflict is what it is.

And besides all that, no amount of sniggering behind clenched teeth will make this any less or more than the thing it factually is; artificially created controversy to generate revenue. It's fake.