The Pat Kenny Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,168 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

God it sounds awful, like a forced death march but in an airport.

How this poor woman suffered for her junket/shopping trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,168 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭rino87

I was wondering what would happen to Mr. Healy seeing as Mr. Savage seemed to be the new choice fill in for Pat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,367 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Did anyone listen to Anton's new show on a Saturday? I turned it on last weekend, but fell asleep again! Worth tuning in to?

Saturday mornings are getting very crowded these days, the only thing I don't want to listen to is Bobby Kerr.

What was Terry actually on about? Don't think I can bring myself to listen back to that, but I might have to go and find that doctor interview, sounds most entertaining!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

I was driving , and heard a doctor from Monaghan who was also pouring cold water on the miracle of antigen testing. Luckily Pat was off or he could have given himself a stroke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭72sheep

Anton is so much better than his mum.

No one is as bad as Mary O'Rourke though. Assume we all know that, purely by accident of course, Mary's son Feargal (PWC Managing Partner IRE) brought all the multinational companies into Ireland. Lovely man allegedly!

Jonathan Healy 😭 Although Pat has become insufferable. I'll have to go over to Marty on Lyric. I'm going to be stuck at these lights for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,657 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Don't know what it is about Paul Harrington but I always stop what I'm doing to listen to his Lyric's the Thing. Gets me every time.

I'd take Pat back very quickly, even with his antigen obsession !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,367 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Ah FFS - Pat Kenny is usually my refuge from Tubridy from 9-10...... Healy on for Pat is bad enough, but now he's got Tubridy on???

How very meta. The circle jerk is complete.

Between covid variants, the bloody Toy Show and fkn Garth Brooks, I swear the radio is going out the window soon.

🤬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,583 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Tubridy too busy to do his radio show today - but not too busy to go on with Jonathan Healy to promote his variety show (which may or may not feature toys)

Oh, I didn't even listen to any of it - I assumed he was talking from his own show to Healy on his show, and was wondering how they'd co-ordinate that!

Anyway, still a load of shite, and suddenly Marty on Lyric sounds like a soothing balm of intellectual calm! Even if he is just now playing Rod Stewart - but I'll take it 🙄🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Tubridy and Healy my least favourite radio presenters ever! Two together torture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

Surprised so many people hate this Healey guy. I've only started listening to radio while working from home again recently so still trying to figure out what is worth listening during the far.

So far my only real conclusion after a couple of weeks of Pat is that the Pat Kenny show is grand as long as hosted by somebody other than Pat Kenny.

From TV, I always remember him being boring. But now He just seems to be a cranky opinionated and totally detached old man who thinks he speaks for 'the people' . I have not heard him give one opinion I agree with, and have never heard him back anything up with relevant info/argument.

For me, the man is just insufferable, I've rebranded him from Pat the Plank to Pat the Tw@t in my head and will now avoid him at all costs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,201 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

I actually don't mind him but had to switch off when Turdbidy showed up, he actually puts me in a bad mood, insufferable clown 😁

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Pats the best Irish radio presenter ever, him Marrion Finucane and Gaybo the only ones worth listening to in my lifetime.

"So far my only real conclusion after a couple of weeks of Pat is that the Pat Kenny show is grand as long as hosted by somebody other than Pat Kenny."

Bizzare conclusion!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

I like the format, guests and everything "not Pat" . To be fair, I think it is just that he is incapable of keeping his own opinion or of any conversation. Its not even that I have opposite opinions, it's just that he doesn't to have any grounds for his, or doesn't feel he needs to justify them. He tells people they are wrong and he's right, rather than discussing a topic.

Dunno, anyway I'm out as soon as he's back. He obviously has an audience who feel very differently about him than I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

i think i've said it before, but when Anton Savage was filling in, I couldn't tell what his own opinion was on anything. he just did the interviews, got the info out and carried on.

as the poster said, pat does think he's a man of the people, unless those people are building somewhere in dalkey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭One Who Waits...

I like Jonathan Healy but I do wish he would cut way down on butting in with 'funny' quips. It often disrupts the flow of the conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,483 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I have played 4 of my favourite albums on Spotify so far today to avoid the likes of that absolute puke fest.

Much better for the head and I would highly recommend it on a Friday morning.

Screenshot_20211127-102011.jpg

The antigen tests didn't seem to do the job there. Wonder if Pat may mention it on Monday if he is back.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,449 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

We don't know if they were PCR tested by the Dutch.

The antigen test picks up if you are infectious, you might have Covid but you've a very high likelihood of not being infectious. The PCR picks up whether you have Covid, infectious or not.

60 out of 600 with covid, but none infectious ? ya

I recall years ago asking a Petrol station owner in Dingle why was their petrol so expensive, his response, Dingle a long way from nearest refinery 🙄

You'd wonder why anyone lives in "rural Ireland" considering how absolutely awful it apparently is....

I do and completely dependent on my humble diesel car. To put my situation into context, I live on the side of a mountain, nearest Town 22km. Zero public transport.

OK, I could technically roll down the mountain with engine off, getting back up a little tricker. But have to admit, seriously considering an electric Bike for days weather permits 😁

Petrol / Diesel prices near me are honestly shocking, I don't do a lot of milage but have sympathy for those who do.

It's not just Car fuel prices up, everything has gone up

Oh but no the poor dears will have to go into therapy if they have to wear light face masks.

Passed by an Asian family earlier two kids about 5 ir 6 max wearing masks, looked happy, it's about the will of the parents.

Im sure China is shivering in its boots in fear of a condemnation from Ireland.