Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Green" policies are destroying this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,894 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Yeah, that's why no other country in the world has high-rise high-density cities....................oh.

And that's why no other country in the world has clustered settlements in villages rather than dispersed settlements like Ireland...........oh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭iColdFusion

Im sure every one off household in Leitrim plays more than €336 in tax every year, their LPT would even go towards that, so whats the issue?

Your whole argument seems to be "Im against the taxpayer subsiding other peoples way of life except for the subsidies that I personally benefit from such as a 10 billion metro" Can you not see the hypocrisy in that?

And saying everyone should be living in a major town or city at a time when we have a catastrophic housing crisis with sky rocketing rents and houses prices in these exact areas, are you for real like, is this another you already have a house so it doesn't affect you kinda thing? Do you have an issue with the massive amounts of state subsidised housing that has been built in all the major cities especially Dublin for decades? Surely all that has been a burden to the taxpayer since we got independence versus rural people actually having to pay full price for their houses?

You are pro rural people living in towns and villages but cant seem to make the connection that these towns and villages need to be connected by roads and power lines and most one off housing is along these roads so they are just making use of what's right in front of them.

As for Kildare council giving out about all this while being a massive car commuter suburb of Dublin is an even bigger joke.

Holy leppin' Jaysus I find myself on the same side of a debate as Blanch. I need to talk to my Rabbi.

No, you just need to check your mechanisms, you've become a stopped clock, still wrong most of the time.

😂😂😂

"full price for houses"

I see you haven't grasped the economic concept of externality.

One-off housing is a perfect example of the tragedy of the commons. Those benefitting refuse to countenance the costs, and others have to suck eggs and pick up the tab.

Social / council housing in appropriate areas is a net social good - one off benefits the individual and the individual only. The costs of a social house are amortised over time, the cost externalities (envirommental, 100% car depedancy for instance) of a one-off are baked-in in perpetuity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭MBE220d

The biggest problem around the countryside is all the holiday homes that the city folk have bought up over the years, to be used 2 or 3 times a year in the middle of a housing crisis to make matters worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,092 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Are you trying to win the Boards spoofer of the year award, or something? That is so wrong from the outset I wonder if our highly paid civil servants know all they should. The EPA didn't seem to know about diesel emissions containing the most potent carcinogen ever discovered when Gormley succeeded in geting everyone out of petrol vehicles into diesels, so it's not surprising council road departments wouldn't know their arse from their elbow.

Country roads do not exist for the principle benefit of one off houses, they exist because of farming and rural history. There are no roads being built because someone decided to plonk a house 3 fields away from an existing road.

In terms of maintainance and spending, you and these county council idiots are off with the fairies. Damage to road surfaces is a 4th power relationship, it's not linear, it's not even exponential, where that is often used to refer to a power of 2. A heavy 32 tonne truck, like a six axle milk tanker, will do 11,692 times as much damage to the rural road I live on, and which passes my house twice a day, as my Honda Civic. Tractors pass my house at least 10 times a day. At 7,000 Kg, each pass does 723 times as much damage to the road as my car - so the tractors do 10 years worth of the damage my car might inflict, every single day. One single pass of a tractor is roughly equivalent to the damage a rural house dwellers car might inflict in a whole year of commuting to and from work.

"“The damage due to cars, for practical purposes, when we are designing pavements, is basically zero. It’s not actually zero, but it’s so much smaller -- orders of magnitude smaller -- that we don’t even bother with them,” said Karim Chatti, a civil engineer from Michigan State University in East Lansing."

So stow that rural house owners tearing up roads and the cost of rural road repairs crap where it belongs.

You do know that people only build high rises when the cost of land is astronomical, because building vertically is far more expensive due, among other things, to the very high cost of foundations? Building apartments in Dublin is more expensive than houses. If you want housing people can actually afford as FTBs, you want houses in rural locations where the land is cheaper. Working from home could deliver greater social benefits than that high rise urban blight noone with any sense wants any part of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Some people will buy anything that's shiny and has an Apple logo on it, and I'm in total agreement with you that Elon Musk is a sack of ****.

Those roads damaged from large agricultural vehicles need to be made repaired and safe for one-off dwellers living up and down what would otherwise be farm vehicle-only roads. You'd be on an unholy moan if they weren't and your car was damaged or if there was a serious accident. Politicians make entire careers out of 'the state of the roads' and the put upon people of one-off rural Ireland whose choose (nay demand) to live on repurposed boreens from the 18th century.

Engage the brain before calling anyone else a spoofer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,365 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I just spent a week in the Chilterns, 30 min drive from London. Old forests everywhere, birds of prey, woodland critters. I didn't see one one off house as we went around the area, the difference between there and here is astonishing.

Did a road trip through rural Wales and I found the same. Their villages are compact, vibrant and on initial inspection, a lot more day-to-day economic activity going on than your comparable Irish village.

*tounge in cheek* It was horrible and I could hear the cries of the Welshmen in Cardiff tower blocks razed from the land from hundreds of miles away.

The difference between there and here is that one farmer probably owns 500 acres upwards, unlike here where a farmer owns 50 or 60 acres.

But don't worry there is plenty of one-off housing in the English countryside, you just don't tend to see them from the road.

So just to be clear its perfectly fine for the taxpayer to spend billions of euro on public transport for Dublin which is 28.5% of Ireland's population but one off houses in the countryside are a massive drain on the public finances that needs to be stopped?

You do understand all this jobs boom in Dublin is a relatively new thing right and historically Ireland was very much a rural focused country? So not very surprising there are lots of houses in rural areas right? And id say if you mapped out all the new house builds in the last 10 years or during the property boom the vast majority would be around urban areas, so new one off rural builds are actually probably in line with what you would expect considering the growth of the country during the same period.

I spent time in rural France a few summers ago. Complete absence of one-off houses, with many farmers living in villages. Again, completely different to here, I don't get this rural Irish mentality of wanting to live away from everyone else.

"So just to be clear its perfectly fine for the taxpayer to spend billions of euro on public transport for Dublin which is 28.5% of Ireland's population but one off houses in the countryside are a massive drain on the public finances that needs to be stopped?"

Precisely. Now you're getting it.

Just to add to that, with the high rise you need a lot of money upfront.

If a builder is building say 100 houses they can sell them in phases, you only need the capital for say 20, sell them and you have the finance to move on to the next phase, With building apartments, you have to complete the whole block before you are paid.

I lived in cities for the best part of 30 years and I assure you its a better quality of life,

When I look out my window in the morning now I will probably see a 4 legged cow looking in at me, wheres in the city it would probably be a 2 legged cow in a dressing gown having a smoke looking in at me.

We should actually thank the begrudgers, because they are actually increasing the value of our assets. I am in the process of selling my one-off holiday home/estate and when that's concluded, I'll be selling the one I live in. So keep pushing that scarcity value up - kerching! - many thanks.

Comparisons to countries that have been economic giants and had their own governance for hundreds of years don't make any sense, Ireland was a colony for hundreds of years, very little of our infrastructure and housing was geared towards what was best for Irish citizens and more towards generating revenue for English landlords and food exports.

Probably we have houses all throughout the countryside because that's what our masters wanted so we were closer to their farms and could work more hours or because Irish people were so poor we couldn't afford our own housing or even a horse to travel to work. Don't forget we were the poorest country in Europe all the way to the 1990's so its no surprise we haven't made any major changes in our preferences for countryside living, that takes generations.

A-historical. The massive boom in urban generated one off housing only started in the 1970s.

It has nothing to do with landlords, Cromwell, or the spuds going black in the ground - and everything to do with permissive, thoughtless planning with political backing and cheap land prices in peripheral areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

People need their own space, most Irish people actually enjoyed the first lockdown, not having to interact with people,you see the damage rural people can do when neighbours fall out, you force them into co-living tenements and they'll make Harold Shipman look like an amateur,

We are also hoarders by nature and we need sheds and yards to store our stuff,

What percentage of Dublins housing is either owned or rented by the state?,How many native Dubliners have never been employed? if the buses aren't profitable sell off the good routes and cancel the rest,

Allow one off housing or else Mickey and Nora will murder everyone.

End Dublin bus and native Dubz are dole lifers.

*Choo Choo* Ladies and gentlemen the train will shortly arrive at Crazytown junction. Alight here for services to Mental Arguements Parkway and Non-sequiter Central.

You accuse me of being mental and then come out with this fantasy, population of Ireland was 8 million in the mid nineteenth century , all those wallsteads scattered throughout the land all date back to 1972?

Look up the old Ordnance maps from the 1800s there were houses everywhere,

My grandmother converted a rural building into a holliday home in 1960.

Thanks for the laugh.

We need one-off housing to avoid mass murderers. That is the absolute best excuse for dispersed settlement ever. Absolutely brilliant.