Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tell us about your cycle today part III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭MrSkinny

In Amsterdam for the long weekend, hired a couple of city bikes from our hotel to get around. Great way of exploring the city while marvelling at the outstanding cycling infrastructure. I am aware that Amsterdam is at one end of the spectrum when it comes to cycling facilities but it really is remarkable how enjoyable and efficient a means of transport cycling can feel in a large capital city. Although, to tell the truth, some of the busier and narrower cycle lanes in parts of the city centre did feel a bit intimidating (e.g. close overtakes at speed) even during the weekend; I'm sure they would be an 'interesting' experience at rush hour.

Got a flat tyre late on Saturday and my first reaction was to look for a repair shop. Inevitably there was one just round the corner but they were about to close and unable to help there and then, although they offered to lend me a bike until Monday morning when they would be able to get it fixed. That option didn't quite fit with our weekend plans so I was already contemplating a miserable Saturday evening somehow struggling back to the hotel (about 10 km away) to swap out the bike when the guy in the shop suggested to 'give the hotel a call and make it their problem rather than yours'.

Sound advice really. In less than 5 minutes the hotel had somebody Whatsapp me asking for my location and a mobile mechanic was dispatched with a promise they would arrive in 10-15 minutes ... which was spot on. Funny thing is I was keeping my eye out for a van when suddenly this lad turns up on (of course!) a cargo bike. 😀

In a few minutes he had the punctured tube replaced and I was back in business. Had a nice chat with him while he was working on the bike and learned that it was actually his company (MyHotelBike) that provides the bike rental service, through the hotel. They provide branded bikes for each hotel and take care of all maintenance and repairs. Looked them up afterwards: they have over 5000 bikes in over 400 hotels, mostly in the Netherlands. Very interesting business and certainly a very good customer experience.

Post edited by magicbastarder on

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,846 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Have the day off work so headed down around Blessington lakes this morning for a 100km spin. The rain wasn't too much of an issue (just avoid the puddles) but the wind was tough going. Had a headwind for the first half and on my way towards home I had it on my back but every so often a side wind would catch you as you passed a gap.

Given the rain forecasted, I stuck the mudguards on the bike and am kind of glad that I did (even though my feet still got wet through the shoe covers).

Next to no other cyclists out. Maybe they be all got sense!

102km @ 27.5km/h with 974m

Weather forecast wasn't looking good for Sunday so got out this morning. Was sitting at home waiting for the sky to brighten but it didn't as there was a really heavy fog. Had to get the tights and the full winter gloves out for the first time since March as it was freezing in the fog. Probably shouldn't have given the state of the roads after all the rain, but took the new good bike out.

Not one to sop for photos normally, but once I gained elevation outside Cork city, I managed to climb above the fog, which was sitting in the Lee Valley, just as the sun rose. It was magical and I stopped for ages just to take it all in, forsaking a PR and a top 10 on a decent climb to enjoy it all.

The new bike has slick summer tyres on so had to take it handy on descents and going into corners as roads were damp, but overall a great spin in a lovely part of the world. Even an artic driver who drove right up behind me on a narrow road blaring his horn - I didn't cost him 10 seconds so I have no idea why he chose to do it - before executing a punishment pass with oncoming traffic couldn't dampen the spirits.

Overall, 67km with 600m climbing at 31.5kph on a beautiful morning: https://www.strava.com/athletes/34401190

20211030_084335.jpg 20211030_084011.jpg 20211030_084359.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Gorgeous 72km spin round mullaghmore and lough Melvin this morning. Light winds dry . New coffee shop in kinlough.

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Trekker09

Not a cycle as such, but having coffee outside the Hub in Thomastown yesterday. As usual there were a few bikes lined up outside and one lush S-Works SL7 caught my eye. Shortly after out comes Sam Bennett with his dad and some of the Carrick Wheeler lads. Had a good chat and of they went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Left the house this morning to do my first 100km. To around Donabate/Portrane area and back. Stayed off the bike for a week to be fresh. Cleaned bike yesterday, Carb-loaded last night, major breakfast this morning, packed a **** ton of food for on the bike. Left the house, nice steady pace.

10km in, I hit a pot hole, the valve on the tyre blows, puncture. That's ok, I have a spare and a pump.

30mins later I cannot remove the tyre. It's embedded onto the rim, looks like it has actually gone under the rim tape. How is that even possible????

Anyhow I ended up on the dart and walked the rest of the way home.

2/10

My new Scribe Pace rims arrived the other day but I've not yet tried them out. Figured I didn't want their maiden spin done in the rain. I might try them tomorrow if the forecast looks good.

Headed out with the club for an 80km spin but I got a few kms in before and after to get me over the 100.

My shoulder feeling sore after about 20kms and wouldn't stop. Not sure was it down to holding the bars tighter in the damp) or just the cold air blowing on it. We stopped for coffee in The Faraway Tree @ Donadea at around 70kms and from then on it was fine. Go figure!

If I'm correct, that will be my 25th spin over 100kms so far this year. Chuffed with that. 😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Luxman

I felt like I was fighting a gorilla today, couldn't going properly, felt knackered from the start. Only had an hour and got nicely soaked too. Glad to get home. Meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

I got out for a 40km spin this morning and felt crap for most of it, wasn’t sure if it was the wind, rain or I might be carrying a bit of a bug but zero energy and glad to get home into the warm shower

Time is contagious, everyone is getting old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

On this, do you always carb load for a 100km spin? Is there a need to?

Before I go out (in the morning) for a long spin, I'd eat a bowl of porridge flavoured with honey and a banana. I'd also eat a banana or two an route. Occasionally I'd eat a granola bar or some jelly babies while out.

Same, cannot beat porridge. I wouldn't be worrying about loading the day before any spin under 130km. Once you are eating a decent lunch and dinner the day before.

Did 55km on friday evening, finished in the dark. Might need to get turbo out

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,229 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

(stands up on bus)

i don't know if i've ever eaten porridge. i certainly don't remember ever trying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

Time is contagious, everyone is getting old.

It's one of those things. I could shovel it into me like nobodies business I leave a pot of it soak every night before bed for me and the youngest but my wife and eldest would gag at the thought of eating it. The texture of it is a thing I'm told. I favour a bed of banana for mine but the 3 year old loves raisins with hers. My wife and my eldest look on in horror every morning 😂

Narrow window for me on Saturday morning as had to be home early. The hour changed helped and was on the road by 7.15. My only real chance to get out so decided to make it count with a tempo effort. First half was straight into the wind and a bit of an effort but got my rewards when I turned for home with a nice tailwind. Dry for the most part and the roads were in good nick for the time of year.

69km with 636 up at 32.5kmh.

https://www.strava.com/activities/6218230346

105km spin this morning on the flat. Average about 28kph

Lovely morning for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,088 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I'm in the same boat as your wife - I cannot bear it. Everyone talks about how good it is for long cycles so a few years ago I tried it for the first time in about 40 years. It took me ages to eat a couple of spoon fulls. Awful texture - the work of the devil himself. Being forced to eat it as a child probably doesn't help. Yuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,069 ✭✭✭griffin100

60kms today and despite it being bleedin November I had a bee get inside my helmet 4 different times and was stung on the the top of the head and side of the face by 2 of the feckers. The side of my face is so swollen I can barely get my glasses on. At least the weather was good .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭grouchyman

101 kms for me today @ 25.3 kph. I had things to do so didn't make the club spin at 8.30 but managed to head out about 11. Had a smashing day for it. Realised that I am about 80 kms off 6,000 for the year so have set a new goal for 6,500 kms for the year on strava.

I'm a big believer in the bowl of porridge every morning. Usually make it with water and add in Greek yogurt and berries afterwards. Smashing!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭secman

Porridge rules, have it every morning with raisins and fruit in it 😋

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭secman

That from the gardening incident ?

Oh bringing the porridge back up I made these for the kids during the week for school, they are meant to be for babies but since when did that mean stuff wasn't yum. I cut to cook time down a little for the second attempt and they were much nicer texture than the 25 I did them on the first attempt. A little too dry when cooked for 25 (fan oven)

Went down well when I was out this morning.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,229 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

saw a kestrel on the spin just now - hovering over a rough patch of ground near the boot inn, just yards from the perimeter fence of the airport.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,903 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Agreed, I do it the lazy way in the microwave for 4 minutes. Made on milk with some raisons, nuts and a teaspoon of jam thrown in for good measure. Never used to like it, but I find it sets my up so well for the day I've grown to love it. I swap to granola in the warm weather.

You're making it wrong so. Add flaxseed, honey, blueberries whatever to sweeten it

overnight oats made with yoghurt is nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭rushfan

A bit like yourself, force fed it when I was a kid. In NYC back in 2005, I saw this "Hot Oatmeal To Go" in a diner one morning, with any amount of added extras. Kiwis, nuts, dried fruits, etc. So, when in Rome etc, I tried it. The trick is to mix it with milk ( or water ) , leave it in the fridge overnight, microwave for 3 mins or so, pour in some maple syrup, couple of handfuls of nuts, fruits, and it would do you for the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭rushfan

And as an afterthought, should someone start a new thread "Tell us about your porridge today"????????

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,903 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

The Great Boards Gruel-off, we could get @Beasty to host it! 🥣

Nice spin at lunch out to Enniskerry, 31k @25kph with 350 of up, though pretty knackered after it as haven't been on the bike much at all over the last few weeks. Could also be because I had granola instead of porridge for brekkie. Life is getting in the way of cycling a bit too much these but still managing to resist the turbo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭Rosahane

Great idea! I make it with a handful of sultanas, half milk half water and simmer it until it's almost solid. Add a capful of whiskey to the pot with the last stir and serve with cream and honey 😁