Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tell us about your cycle today part III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 dublindefy

80km/1110m through Sally Gap which was uneventful until I did a slow fall at lights on Gardiner St on the way home.

Been about 10 years since the last one and they still hurt the pride

Post edited by magicbastarder on

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,846 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

What happened? Is this where ye can’t get your feet off the pedals?

Time is contagious, everyone is getting old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 dublindefy

not a scratch, I led with my shoulder somehow. Contact point was probably just the pedal

Usually (for me) caused by indecision.

rolled up to a red light, was going to go past the white line to let the pedestrian walk behind me but then changed my mind…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

Welcome to the retirement club. It kickstarted a big increase in my annual mileage but joining a club for the leisure spins really helped the motivation at this time of the year.

Did almost 115kms with 500m on a windy club spin this morning from Lucan to Rathoath, Dunshaughlin, Kilcock & Maynooth. The weather was fairly good for this time of year - glad I had the shades for the first half and the rain didnt appear until after i got home.

Plenty of muppet drivers about. Got this punishment pass on my way to the group meet up...

I've another video (which I won't share because of other riders clearly visible in it) but it involved a thick driver overtaking us as we travelling were in two lines doing over 40km/h from Summerhill to Kilcock. Neither the solid white line nor the oncoming traffic deterred them from the overtake; sure couldn't they move back into the lane right beside me! The facial expressions from the other riders should be enough for the gardai to do something about it.

Absolutely beautiful day in my neck of the woods. Roads bone dry and not a puff of breeze. Hard to believe all I needed was a long sleeve jersey and gilet in late November. Ditched the gloves after about half an hour.

Given the summer-like conditions and the fact that I only had just over two hours, went for a sweet spot effort. Felt good and nice not to be watching out for muck and wet leaves.

70k in total with 650m up @ 32.6kph.

https://www.strava.com/activities/6282087511

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

100k around the plains of Meath.

Relatively flat, 650m.

Pretty chilly at 8am and didn't really warm up.

Plenty cyclists about Kilmessan and Dunsaughlin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

50km at 27.4kph

Dying of a head cold since thursday morning so delighted to get out and the cold air helped shift the cold i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭stevencn88

770m of up over 55km. First proper cold day on the bike with a real feel of -1 according to Strava! Not the best day to forget gloves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,583 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

65km with 1300m of up yesterday on the club spin, not sure what we did to deserve such punishment but a lovely morning for it. Loads of cyclists out, particularly up around Cruagh Hill.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,903 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Short one for me yesterday morning due to time restrictions, 38k and 620m of up taking in Enniskerry, Glencree and back via Cruagh. Lovely climbing weather as the sun was coming up but pretty bitter coming back down again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,049 ✭✭✭patrickc

was off today and did about 130km my garmin died for the second time recently. I cycled from Carlow to Edenderry via Athy, Monasterevin and back in a different loop. Lovely day for it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,226 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

chilly out there - 6C and 20-25km/h wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Luxman

Dug out the merino(est) layer I had and wrapped up well. Was about 15 mins before I actually got a temp that didn't feel cold, but had the neck buff pulled all the way up the glasses to keep that wind off the face. Baltic Sea was balmy in comparison :-)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,226 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

6C and 40km/h wind forecast for dublin tomorrow - i may be kind and give the bike a day off..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

There are plenty of tough ways to get to Bellewstown but, thanks to WA, I discovered a new one today. Turning off the R152 just south-east of Duleek is a narrow winding lane that goes by the grandiose name of Ladymoor Road. Quite a few bits of it are at 12% and it seems to on for ever even though it's less than 3km. I honestly thought we'd end up looking down on Bellewstown but it was still a very gentle few km away. Well worth trying.

Know it well, its tough going alright, I break it down to 3 mini climbs, but I tend to avoid it for the sharp turn left before the last ramp, the road is not good, full of debris and gravel and you tend to hit it with some speed. Like the climbing aspect of it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

First time out to Blessington in cold weather in almost two years due to to lockdowns and stuff. I was well wrapped up but felt the cold despite the layers.

ah yeah, i like ladymoor road. there's a sharp bend at the bottom of a hill that no matter how often i go on that road, it always catches me by surprise.

i suspect i'm talking about the same one as luxman.

46km to a wedding 223m up , so many tractors and trucks on the route I picked. Not a single arsehole among them thankfully, I dished out some amount of thumbs ups to them as they passed. I put the rack in the car herself was driving for the return leg tomorrow. Even got a fresh bottle and a bar as my wife passed me with the kids near Kentstown (she pulled in and stopped it wasn't TdF style unfortunately)which was a nice surprise :D

interesting mode of transport!

Haven't really done a huge amount in the last while so seized the opportunity, glad I resisted the urge to cycle the return leg earlier as those showers were nasty and a fairly strong wind to go along with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

My mother in law bought herself a nice Canyon last month and has fallen in love with cycling, went out on a spin with her this morning. My first proper spin in a few months because of other commitments.

Good hell, she has 29 years on me and I couldn't keep up with her once we hit stocking lane. Not a chance.

Beautiful morning for it though. Cold made the flat white all the better.

Check out my activity on Strava: https://strava.app.link/KqLThqEGwlb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,932 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Went up stocking lane myself this morning, first time in a while. Getting lazy now the evenings are shorter and the weather is colder. It was bloody baltic at 10am up there, and my rear brake pads were rubbing, so came back home. Checked the temp on strava, had it feeling like -2!

https://www.strava.com/activities/6312409282#kudos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Wonder if it was yourself that cruised passed me, I started the climb at roughly 11.

Didn't see many out this morning.

Club spin today from Lucan up to Tara and back via Maynooth. It was damn cold and the headwind as far as Tara made it tough going. By the time we got to the coffee stop in Maynooth my toes were sore from the cold had toe covers on over my shoes. A persistent achilles injury started giving out to me on the short climbs near Dunshaughlin so I had to nurse it the rest of the way home (hopefully it goes back to sleep again).

The tail wind back helped bring my average speed up from 24 to 27km/h.

In the end, it was 103km with 565m. Glad to have gone out even if I was doubting my sanity at times!

yeah, i walked to the shops earlier and the wind would cut you in two, so of the choice of going out on the bike and chopping down the dying escallonia in my garden, i plumped for the latter.

75K wander in the cold, came home and ordered new gloves.......