Things dat Trivyully Annoy You (part whatever) *MOD WARNING IN OP* NEW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,402 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Good woman, you just reminded me. !

TA is even though I know the clocks are going back , I forgot till now .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,135 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

People who can't get it into their heads that I'm a man!

Oops, my bad. Maybe I was just chancing my arm 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,135 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,483 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

The weekends are way too short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,006 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

It’s weird how society set itself up... we for the most part are working five days, off just two...

it would be a lot easier on society doing 4/3 or 4.5/2.5

You’d have a lot healthier a population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,783 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Children on Radio with extreme Americanism’s and intonations - it was a discussion from a school in Tallaght!

I nearly fell over when I heard ‘sidewalk’. And another one sounded like they were on holidays in Ireland from California.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Regularly here mum's correct their kids Irishisms and replace them with americanisms. Just this am, I heard this version, Petal you have to hold mommy's hand! Neither mum or Petal are americian.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,687 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

One aspect about moving out and living in my own house that I was looking forward to the most was being able to open the door to kids at Halloween. I love this time of year. There's something gleeful about putting smiles on their faces (with some of the coolest costumes I've ever seen in recent years) with bags of junk that just puts a smile on my face just as much. Putting a stupid mask on my head for an hour just to entertain every 5 or 10 mins is lots of fun to me. This was my first time experiencing trick-or-treaters at my own front door (would've been last year if it wasn't for the pandemic)

So forgive me for thinking the world shines out my own arse when (TA incoming) I take one look at my next door neighbour who is roughly the same age as me - maybe younger (25-30?), who shut all his lights off, and after half an hour of not answering the door to anyone, went out, and reversed his massive white van to cover up his window and door, so that nobody would go near his house.

How miserable do you have to be in yourself to go out of your way to make sure NOBODY even has a CHANCE of going to your door. I even made sure I had a sign up to stick to the front of my window/door that says "Sorry I've run out of sweets, hope you had fun!" just so I didn't look like a dour-faced bugger if anyone knocked.

I AM a dour-faced bugger most of the first half of the year, but when this time of year arrives and the clocks go back, I'm at my most happy. And seeing this miserable twat (who never says hello to me, nor my missus - and neither does his wife) almost put an dampener on the whole night for me.

As I write this, there are fireworks going off repeatedly. I hope he struggles to fall asleep, especially when his DIY kept me awake at 7am on a Sunday numerous times throughout Spring and Summer. This is payback by proxy.

Updated TA. My sign blew away. I spent ages looking for a black marker to write that 😂

GB Gaming Logo 2023 [FINAL] FULL.png

youtube.com/@gb.gaming

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,839 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

I bet your neighbour took it. 🤣

TA plenty of mayhem outside; bangers and fireworks going repeatedly for the last 3 hours or so,,,, Being going on for about 3 months (although about 5/6 times a day only, before today) this craic, and its the 'usual suspects' at it - kids as best I can tell, about 10 or under... This a built up area too... 😒

Have enough illumination to do what needs doing; perhaps a bit too much; but I most certainly won't be doing sh1t to draw any attention to me or mi casa..

That bloke above is dfnr - I'd say he's been around long enough to know what time it is... Fair Play to him 😊

It being Halloween, I thought I'd 'treat' myself and watch the only show that genuinely scared me as a kid.

Salems Lot

Anyone remember the floating boy tapping "let me in" ? 👹

TA is I can't find it on Sky or Netflix.

Probably for the best !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭Be right back

Nervous driving on Halloween night thanks to dopes like this lot.

Screenshot_20211031-201335_Chrome~2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Hopefully a few of them will lose a finger or two, or their mickies.

Some bangers going off here too in rural Cork, annoying enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭Be right back

It never seems to happen to those who set off the bangers though. Example, that poor girl in Eyre Square..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,319 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

That scene gave me nightmares for months when I seen it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,221 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Yeah I remember that, David Soul desperately trying to stay in the limelight after the demise of Starsky and Hutch and a few hits in the charts. The story and special effects were pretty creepy for the time and of course Christopher Lee helped the ratings too, the actual demon was pretty breakthrough in graphics and was to be copied in numerous films that followed such as Hellraiser and Nightmare in Elm Street and the likes.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

I scared the shite out of my older brothers, tapping on the window with a coin 👿

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,878 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I say this every year on boards but here I go again..

This time of year, I set my clock for 5 mins earlier to allow for the extra layers of clothes I'll be wearing 🙃

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,049 ✭✭✭✭PsychoPete

This time of year is why I love living out in the countryside. Nobody calling to the house,no fireworks,no trouble from youths etc

Around here you only have people calling to your house if you ask for them. Kids don't call into houses that don't have any decorations up.

A few fireworks alright but didn't see any trouble at all. It does happen in some places but very few I would say. Media reports probably make it seem more widespread than it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

There's an awful rattling sound at the back of the bus this morning sounding like a banjaxed fan or motor. The sound is head wrecking :(

On a brighter note I thought it was great to see the kids at the front door again trick or treating. I had a little mini cauldron on a chain packed full of sugary treats for when they called around. There were a few fireworks but nothing mental.

”If I offended you, you needed it!!” - Corey Taylor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I had 4 or 5 knocks at my undecorated, unlit door. Didn't answer as I don't celebrate it.

Next door, who have kids themselves and stuff up outside got far more callers (I could hear them).

I love the trend of decorating houses though. It's clear to most people where the treats are. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,324 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Didn't answer as I don't celebrate it.

Even with that Beetlejuice head on ya?!? 😀 I disagree with the house decorating in principle but at least it shows who is into Hallowe'en as a social event.

I'm working on a project in work, and my section is more or less sorted. Because of other areas, the kick-off date to put it into action has been delayed for 2 months so I'm left in limbo here, waiting for others to catch up. 🙁 It means I can't necessarily do my everyday job as I usually would, because of the 'limbo-ness'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,253 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Related to this, Irish teens who go out in rain with nothing but a hoodie because wearing raingear or taking a brolly is 'uncool'.

My neighbour told me to send my kids in at 6pm as they would have something for them. They are an older couple with no decorations up. However as we were leaving before they had managed to close the door another group of kids spotted what was going on and marched up the driveway. The look of panic on their faces was priceless. They didn't have anything ready for anyone except my 2