Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Which "off the beaten track" countries have you visited?

• Greenland is one of my favourites, the clarity of the air is just amazing when the sun shines. I was able to walk back from the harbour to my hotel at 2am in relative brightness without a jacket in July, once off the icy sea it was mild then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,580 ✭✭✭jmreire

Iran,Jordan,Syria,Russia, Moscow + Republics,Nazran,Ingushetia, Chechnya,Dagestan,Croatia, Libya, Liberia, Sudan, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Tajikistan,Turkmanistan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, Kosovo, Albania, Macedonia, Republika Srpska

Post edited by jmreire on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,517 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I was in Kyrenia on Northern Cyprus in a really nice hotel with lovely food. It was a bit crazy seeing the Turkish flag "carved" into the side of a hill when we passed over the border from the south to the north of the island though.

Porto Seguro in Brazil was a nice place also. The hotel was fantastic and there was a really nice Caribbean themed bar at the beach. My only complaint was the busy main road which separated the hotel from the beach with a distinct lack of pedestrian crossings anywhere.

Bratislava wasn't too pleasant though. The bar and restaurant staff were abrupt and unpleasant, and my phone signal didn't work anywhere there so at times I felt unsafe.

Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,698 ✭✭✭Feisar

It does seem the world has gotten a lot smaller alright. I'd say the Hippie Trail would have been some craic back in the day:

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 554 ✭✭✭brownbinman

Apo island in the Philippines. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apo_Island

Electrcity for 2 hours a day, about 200 metres long . Breakfast, lunch and dinner is whatever they have. Have to get there and back on a bamboo boat

Would highly recommend it though, amazing place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,256 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Faroe Islands, Shetland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,506 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

I was on shetland years ago, got the ferry from Aberdeen, took something crazy like 14 hours.

Also been to Saipan, just like a mini-USA with a few casinos and a heap of Chinese tourists. Couldn't find the crappy pitches however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭scottygee

Oh wow!!! I was in Oslob, Cebu when I visited the Philippines. I will add this on my next trip!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,256 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

The Ferry to the faroe islands was crazier and filled to the brim with German camper vans, all heading back to Germany presumably because they ran out of food and don't want to spend a single penny in Iceland. Ended up hanging out with this crazy beour from Reydarfjordur in the bar. Wouldnt mind going back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,265 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

I got to see a lot of africa in the last 18 months. Absolutely awesome continent.

Post edited by smurfjed on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,031 ✭✭✭✭bnt

While I lived in South Africa I got to see much of the country and some of their neighbours, the most obscure probably Swaziland (now eSwatini). Not a whole lot going on there, to be honest.

Less obscure was Bophutatswana ... pretty hard to pronounce, but you didn't need to if your only destination was Sun City. 🌞

Death has this much to be said for it:
    You don’t have to get out of bed for it.
    Wherever you happen to be
    They bring it to you—free.

— Kingsley Amis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,151 ✭✭✭✭josip

Some of these do not fit the description in the title... but plenty do. Fair play - sounds fascinating. I've been very pedestrian in my travelling habits. The most exotic I've done is Turkey and New Orleans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,898 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Vanuatu and it was absolutely fabulous.

They were the worst team in FIFA '98, which I played a lot as a teenager, so I was always curious about the place. I moved to Australia and realised it was quite close so decided to head to Port Vila for a week. Did some hiking, collected fresh fruit, kayaked and had some lovely food. The people were incredibly friendly and welcoming. It was the week Michael Jackson died and I knew nothing about it until a few days afterwards, I guess that counts as "off the beaten track".

Would highly recommend it as a place to visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Suckler

Work trips have had me see: Iraq, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Afghanistan, Somalia (just Mogadishu airport), Mongolia. While I was in the region I managed to get to Oman/UAE (not just Dubai)/Jordan/Sri Lanka for social trips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,901 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

depends what you call off the beaten track, vanuatu is probably the most usual one for me, just back from iceland also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Just as a matter of interest, what took you to Iraq, Iran and Afghanistan??. Just curious, as I was in these Country's too.🙂

We once stayed in the touring caravan at a site just outside Portlaoise.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Mexico, Jamaica, Laos, Cambodia, Singapore, Vietnam, Indonesia, Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Sri Lanka, Hong Kong and Macau.

Kind of an oddly worded question but there you go. Should Norway and Sweden be in there too?

Mainly Oil & Gas; Afghanistan was related to NATO/NAMSA support services. Majority of time around Kandahar, the odd Kabul trip.

A poorer substitute for Tony Stark. Where he is "Iron Man" , I would be more "chinese quality tin man"

Kandahar and Kabul....and everything in-between,,Fascinating places, if you had the chance to explore them.😀 I worked in a somewhat similar vein, Conflict and Disaster support, repatriation.

I didn't get out and about much, KAF & Camp Bastion mainly. A few times outside the wire but never saw Kandahar city. The KAF poo pond and burn pits had an aroma that never leaves you!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Does Roscommon count?

I was lucky enough in that I had the chance to travel quite a lot when I was there, Kabul, Herat, Jalalabad, Mazar Sharif, Taleqan, Chagcharan, Kunduz, Ghazn, Fayzabad etc. plus a lot in the rural areas, that have not really changed much over the years. But Kandahar was always a bit restricted. And the highlands also left you with an aroma that did not leave you easily, .... LOL

That’s far more than I got to see there. There was rumors that the bases in the north like Herat were quite comfortable and had decent facilities, I think the Italians were based up around there.

whenever we got outside the wire we had a lot of security and there was no hanging around. South of Kandahar was quite desolate but north was very lush. We were brought to some of the Forward Operating Bases by helicopter, very remote, was frightening as they used to get hit a lot

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭el_gaucho

I saw Paraguay from across the river in Posadas in Argentina. At the time Irish people needed a visa (maybe we still do). I can only remember two people I’ve met who’ve been there and both said there was absolutely nothing to see. Maybe they didn’t look hard enough?

From my own travels, Iran is probably the most “off the beaten track “ country I’ve visited though I see it’s been mentioned here a couple of times. You don’t hear of many Irish people going to Jordan or Bolivia either.

Sister in Law working in Saudi city. allowed drive, but everywhere she goes is segregated both on gender and religion. Balistic missiles hitting the city. Bomb attacks in the port. Palace guard in gun battles weekly with - they won't say, but suspect Salafis and faction fights between princes. Absolutely awful behaviour towards her at work etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,151 ✭✭✭✭josip

I would LOVE to go there. I love inclement weather, so to me the ideal would be inside during a terrible storm and just everyone cosy.

Yes, I'd agree with you there. And what ever about there being no -go areas around Kandahar, Herat and Mazir -i Sharif, were pretty OK security wise. But what it is like now, and for how long it will be "Unpredictable" is anyone's guess. Taliban now in "Threatening mode" Remove the sanctions, give us international aid, or else........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Mongolia, Pakistan, Laos, Colombia, El Salvador, Honduras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Irish connections throughout Latin America.

I visited the Panama Canal museum in Panama City and it noted the fact that Irish labourers were the main group working on the construction; many of them died through malaria and other tropical illnesses.

Are you a Halliburton extra or a hired gun for Blackwater?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Visited Grand Cayman during my honeymoon. Not exactly off the beaten track but different all the same. A lot of financial institutions dotted around and little else. Beautiful beaches. Very picturesque. Also Jamaica. We did a tour of a plantation. Our tour guide was armed. Also climbed Dunnes River Falls waterfall there. And did some kayaking around a fishing village in Haiti.

All pretty touristy. But not something I'd seen before. Or will likely see again.

Not a European citizen. Employment options are poor in her home country. Her life is work, then guarded compound, then more work while trying to get a good enough english language test result so she can work in ireland(big staff shortages in her skilled job here)

Neither of those - Specialist construction for various Nato armies.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,850 ✭✭✭Lillyfae

Did a very long trip through Europe in a car ending up in Georgia, haven’t seen it mentioned here. Knew very little of the country beforehand but what a place. Entered through northern Turkey and drove through the north and midlands, also around the wine region Telavi. Breathtakingly beautiful in places and the people are mostly very warm and friendly.

Yes I'd agree with you there. Georgia, South Caucasus is very like the North Caucasus, Kaberdino Balkaria region. Same cultural traditions, music and dance ( Lezginka ) they produce ( and drink) fine wines and Vodkas, if drinking is your thing. And the scenery is something else. The highest peak in Russia and Europe, Mount Elbrus 5'642 Mtrs is located in the North Caucasus. Would be well worth a visit, Georgia especially.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,850 ✭✭✭Lillyfae

Sparkling water coming out of the taps in mestia and herds of cows hanging around on the half finished motorways were pretty memorable. As was the driving. You’d call it aggressive, but other drivers are laughing their heads off at the same time as scratching 2 cars while trying to overtake traffic in gridlocked batumi. Couldn’t be nicer about it :pac:

As for the traffic and driving style,,...now that would need a section entirely devoted to it.....Definitely not for the faint hearted ( especially on the mountainy roads ) !!! None the less, I'd go back in a heartbeat. ☺️🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,940 ✭✭✭sporina

Belize and Guatemala (thought the latter is not so off the beaten track anymore)..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

The American army is present at every DMZ tour, and the guide is always a junior US officer. That's a bit like saying I got an exclusive kiss off a magic stone in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Not an off-the-beaten-track country in and of itself, but I've seen a lot of Indonesia away from the main spots of Java, Bali etc.

Similarly, not exactly off the map but I've seen China top to bottom, and East to West. Only a couple of provinces left to tick off there.

Bhutan: simply glorious, and they've done right by themselves in their approach to tourism, even if it is an expensive trip compared to the rest of the region.

• Registered Users Posts: 431 ✭✭Jeremy Sproket

You all must be teachers to have travelled so extensively.

Most of us normal mortals only get 20-odd days of annual leave per year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Saw it on a travel show and it looked amazing, do they still have massive statues celebrating Stalin?

• Registered Users Posts: 32 protosByte

Georgia is great. Did some hiking there in the Tusheti region. Can add Suriname, French Guyana, Ethiopia, Ghana, Jordan. A bunch of other places that wouldn't qualify as off the beaten track. Maybe Morocco and Nepal qualify? Lived in Japan for 8 years.

Would also like to get to the 'stans at some point.