Manchester United Teamtalk/Transfer/Gossip 23/24 - [New Thread Available]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭d22ontour

Shaw doing Shaw things again, he should have lumped him for the card after getting himself drawn over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Pipmae

It's only a matter of time until Ole is gone. We'd be as well off losing a few EPL games in a row to speed it up. Hopefully that would be made up after his departure with wins rather than draws.

I fully believe CR7 will be instrumental in moving him on - he's 36. He hasn't time to wait around for Ole to f#ck right up. Bruno will back CR7 up albeit nicely - they all like the guy but he is in the wrong job. Did I mention CR7 is 36.😁

I hope the Twitter #oleout# comments keep increasing. In fact I wish he'd just resign - I'd prefer if he did that than get fired but I suppose there is too much money at stake for him personally.

Disclamer - I've had a bottle of wine so this post needs to be forgiven and ignored if I'm writing crap......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,199 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Fully agree. Ole needs to go and I do think that Ronaldo will have a part to play. Hopefully it won’t get nasty but I do hope it gets sorted before the season becomes another write off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,895 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

If Ronaldo is that influential,that's a problem for whoever replaces Ole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭TRC10

Not happening.

Glazers are happy as ever. CL football 2 seasons in a row, and will be again next year given the strength of the squad. Ronaldo has boosted merch sales. Bottom line is looking good. Financially, the club is healthy as ever.

As far as the Glazers are concerned, Ole is doing a great job. Why would they pay the money to sack him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,577 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 43,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I mean, you’ve as much proof the Glazers are happy as I do that they’re upset really, so I think your overconfident in declaring he’s going nowhere.

Its as easy to say that they’ve given him near 500m and he’s not delivering trophies, which was what this seasons end game was supposed to be, and that we sacked Jose long before Top 4 was gone.

Is going to piss off Ronaldo and Cavani the way he's going

It's happening already. Ronaldo ranting to himself and rage-walking off the pitching straight down the tunnel.

That honeymoon period is well and truly over anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭maximus15

He got alot more action than that on international duty in Iceland, off the pitch tho.

Think that has cost him since that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭d22ontour

Inviting people to your hotel hardly counts as action... Other guy who has a kid hasn't had a problem getting picked since though.

He is not getting any time playing up front, we signed a player we didn't need for a position that we probably didn't need to cover for two years, bought a rw player too but don't play him there either since we bought the striker we didn't actually need.

Yet another **** up by the club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,146 ✭✭✭✭JRant

There were a number of errors in that goal that you'd expect to see in an underage game. Everyone got sucked to the ball but Shaw was the most egregious.

The first half showed how positionally poor both Fred and McTominay are. McTominay in particular was just ghosted past on a number of occasions. I would love to see how many interceptions he actually had because he has a knack of being in the wrong position at the wrong time where he can't disrupt play at all.

My take on the Cavani sub is that Martial was carrying a knock so needed to come off. Sancho for Martial was the right call but Ole probably felt he had to get Ronaldo on the pitch in the first subs. So he hauled Cavani off for no real reason other than to keep Ronaldo happy.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

No need for Shaw to bomb over the way he did, I could be imagining it but did he not do similar in another game this year, maybe Newcastle.

I think Shaw has been excellent the last year or so but still has these brain farts from time to time. These errors somewhat show the imbalance of the team though, we basically play a 6-4 formation and none of the 4 want to track back. With a well coached team the wide player is tracking back if the full back tucks in, look at city’s attacking players, KDB, Foden, Silva, Sterling etc, they all put in a shift and if they don’t they’re taken out of the team, ole doesn’t have the authority to drop big names.

Don’t know how to edit here!!! The last line was supposed to say drop big names for the benefit of the team, I’m not sure taking Ronaldo out yesterday was the right call and surely Lingard plays wise to help on the counter attack instead of Martial or even Greenwood.

I don't think it's an authority thing. He just doesn't seem to set his teams out to do that. It's all a bit gungho really and I think he likes to keep the wingers high up the pitch to counter attack.

It's a weird formation he plays being honest. We have Ronaldo, Bruno and the wide men pushed up high with huge gaps all over the pitch. This leaves the back 4 extremely exposed and he has done nothing to change it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,001 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

should he get the whole team to push up? thereby removing that space in the midfield where the opposition just slice through. and rely on the recovery speed of the defense in case of balls in over the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,625 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Well lads, it has taken a lot longer than I'd hoped but given the posts when I've been catching up on the thread I'd like to welcome you new converts aboard the Ole out train.

Pizza night is Thursday 🍕

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

I think we just need to be more compact when we don't have the ball. The problems start with how we press. When we do it well, the defense pushes up and makes the space right for the opposition. We've actually started a couple of games doing this but it nevers lasts more than 10/15 before we start to drop off.

Villarreal was a perfect example. High press with everyone compact and they had nowhere to go with the ball. Once we stood back they got a easy footing in the game because our attackers were still playing a high press but midfield and defense took a couple of steps back leaving acres of space for them to play through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,073 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

ANY manager and I include Sean Dyches in that category would improve us.

Dyche is levels above Ole, I don’t think there is any doubt about that, but imagine the uproar if he got the job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,686 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

That's the issue really, ole is in the job purely and simply because of who he is, not what he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,686 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Watford have sacked their coach, they are only 7 points behind us and he was booted for poor results.

We can only dream of having owners that are decisive and know when the jig is up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Everybody can see and has seen Oles limitations, not just the posters on boards who have been complaining about him incessantly for months/years. Call for any manager to be sacked and eventually you will have all supporters on the same page.

Ole getting United to 2nd or 3rd in league shouldn’t of been able to happen, it really shouldn’t. The squad wasn’t as good as Liverpool or City and not better then Chelsea’s and yet they finished in that position. So there is something , very strange/dysfunctional, about the club that sort of made the Ole experiment kind of work and it wasn’t that the league competition was vastly better under LVG or Jose.

There is just something uniquely broken about United and some of you are even saying it while at the same time singling out the manager. Yes, it’s looking more and more like the team/squad needs a better grade manager to get the most out of them but I’m still baffled how he has done so well relative to every other United Manager until this season.

400 million spent is a red herring argument, it’s no more impressive then City or Chelsea who were already better then United. Pool spend so much better and get the players they need so don’t need to spend that much to build a good squad for their manager.

What frustrates me the most is that this is the merry go round playing out again. Some of you act as if it’s not but the same all over. Bet if we looked back over threads near end of Moyes and Jose we’d see the exact same sort of stuff regarding managers being out of their depth , managers play style being boring , squads better then it’s showing and managers saying annoying stuff after games they lose or play poorly. I remember people saying players hadn’t been coached under Jose , as if Jose forgot how to coach a team!

The issue is at the top. Always has been and it looks like Groundhog Day number 4 is coming. Manager goes, team gets a bounce, all is well for maybe 12 months and then cracks appear, manager isn’t supported , fans know owners are p*icks but maybe a new manager might make it work this time.

F*ck sake, I’m fed up of this nonsense. The worst thing of all about this is United have more then enough funds to be properly competing at the top, even with a sub standard manager (like Avram Grant) but the owners are too f**king stupid to make the proper infrastructure changes to make it work.

Whatever happens with Ole, screw the Glazers, absolutely useless owners who haven’t a breeze unless they are marketing the club to some Korean toilet role crowd. I think if they played pin the donkey on transfer targets and managers for the last 8 years it couldn’t of been that much worse. The amount spent should of even yielded a freak league or CL challenge at this stage.

Dont know why people get so angry with Ole. Nonsense talk to say he should quit. No manager ever quits and if he didn’t believe in himself he wouldn’t of had the job as long as he has had. Some act like Ole is some emperor who appointed himself, don’t get angry at ole , get angry at the owners or Woodward or whoever chooses to retain him. The owners need to do what every other top club does when a player or manager is not producing, it’s their responsibility.

Stop expecting Ole to (quit) do something nobody else does because you don’t want to address the owners impact on Uniteds on field issues. I remember fans thought Jose should quit aswell, we all know how Woodward handled Jose v Pogba , by doing nothing, buying Fred and Dalot and telling both player and manager (who didn’t want to work together) to get on with it.

The Glazers won’t make any changes unless players and fans really turn against Ole. What does that tell us about the owners? This is why people need to understand that the decisions taken or not taken by the glazers do impact and affect our first team. Who decided Pogba should not be sold back when Jose had fallen out with him in feb 2018? Again, decisions made that have had huge knock on effects for United teams. I even wish the next time the glazers/Woodard have to make a decision on something football related that they decide on what they think should happen and just do the opposite.

And before someone responds as if this is some defence of Ole, it’s not. I think I have to post the same stuff after every sacking and we end up in the same place over and over again but the promise of a new manager is the promise of hope. We are Liverpool of the 90s.

Im not so sure of that.

He’s in the job because hes navigated United to consistent champions league qualification which is the target of the owners. Glazers don’t give a flying f**k about who he is other then that it suits their goals at the moment. Like every other United manager he’s a great shield for them.

“Ole out” is better then “Glazers out”.

If I’m Joel Glazer, I see United finish top 4 two seasons in a row and get to a cup final with less money spent under Jose and LVG.

Remember why there was such a special transfer window for us? Was it because the owners suddenly wanted the squad to challange for the league? Or … Did it have anything to do with last Aprils super league Gaff that ended up with fans on the pitch demanding the glazers leave? It’s almost like the owners might make football related decisions to suit themselves, not necessarily what’s good for the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,126 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Leaving Oles obvious shortcomings as a manager to one side for a minute I find it galling how from a recruitment perspective the powers that be hadn’t the cop to realise Fred,Mc T and Matic were not up to the job in CM to boss games against decent opposition we might meet on way to trying to win a league or dare I say it CL!…..

All 3 had their struggles last year,a ball of money was ringfenced to get Sancho and to be fair Varane was good value,even if he has struggled noticeably to adapt to the pace of the Premier League but imo Ronaldo was a Glazer signing to appease the fan base.

Don’t get me wrong like most Utd fans I love him as a player but I can’t help but feel that if the club had gone and got someone like Ndidi in the Summer we would have a hell of a better balance to our team than currently.Sales of likes of Fred,Mata,Martial for any half decent fees would have funded a quality DM.

Ronaldo will score goals but his signing will impede Greenwood from playing in his natural role up front,and it gives Cavani less game time too.Ronnie simply won’t press the opposition defenders also which creates a problem with the way Ole wants to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭numbnutz

You couldn't say that Ole is there for his managerial achievements prior to his appointment as our manager. I also don't think fans on the pitch had the Glazers rattled in any way. Such is the way of football now that as long as we are in the top 4 every year the Glazers won't care as on-field success is not their aim. Revenue generation is but I don't have to tell you that. If they were intent on winning silverware we wouldn't be having this discussion.

The fans need success not financial corporate talk. Until the Glazers leave and we have owners who have pride in their approach to running a football club that is silverware focused then and only then will we get back on our perch.

I am so frustrated watching us at times....

Agree with most of that but not the fans protest. The pool game was cancelled and Glazer was being hounded by journalists. I’d say they had some calls from other clubs In EPL telling them to get their house in order. Remember the EPL is a product that all clubs are invested in and one of its marquee games being abandoned is not a good look. The Glazers prefer to hide insidiously in the background , like a demon possessing the soul of the fans and using shields like managers and Woodward to redirect all anger. They are cowards who have mostly refused to even engage fans, again until Aprils protests.

Don’t think it was a coincidence that less then a few months later United had their most impressive looking window (on paper) then any other year over the last decade. And it was done relatively cheap with Varane and Ronaldo not costing a whole lot to actually buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,507 ✭✭✭Quandary

The owners are, and will continue to be the biggest problem at Man Utd. It doesn't matter who the manager is. Even if the Glazers appoint a manager who goes on to win a league title or champions league, they will still be a ball and chain that is preventing Manchester United from being the best football team it can be.

They are leeches who will do all in their power to maximse their personal wealth and the only way they will want Utd to be the best team in the world is if it will make it financially worth their while. Top 4 is undoubtedly the sweet spot for them.

All that being said, nobody can deny the current manager is massively out of his depth and is wasting the best squad Utd have had in a long time. It doesn't matter how appaling the owners are. Ole needs to be replaced with a better manager.

1 - New Owners

2 - New manager

3 - Get rid of Pogba and his dirtball agent

These 3 items are my wishlist in order of priority. I might get slated for number 3 by some, but personally, I cannot wait for it to happen.

I wouldn't waste time. Some peoplre are so obssessed with the idea the Glazers are the biggest issues that they don't want to deal with occum's razor; that Ole has a squad in place that should be capable of winning the league, but is struggling to get shots, let alone points, off Aston Villa and Everton.

I'm no fan of the Glazers. At all. But it's stupid to ignore the fact Ole has been given 500m worth of players in three years, and yet we're still at the same level now as the time he came in. We've not elevated despite signing top levels players in all positions except one.

We could get rid of the Glazers, spend another 500m on the squad, and Ole would still be naive tactically. The biggest issue holding us back right now is Ole and his coaching abilities. That's not defending the owners. It's achknowleding that the biggest issue is one that could be addressed right now.

Put a Klopp or a Pep into that squad and we faceroll the league. I think the likes of a Conte would be begging for the chance to manage the squad we have right now. Jose, LVG and Moyes would have killed for the level of backing and support Ole has gotten. For all the owners' faults, and there are many, we have a team that's better than we've had for the gut ends of 10 odd years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Quags

I think if Conte comes in then we may see a bounce to maybe win the League or CL but he will sooner or later create issues with the board. Conte does seem the obvious choice if Ole is sacked but there is no major candidate you can hang your hat on and go "that's perfect".

If Ole wants to succeed at United then I think he needs a better backroom team so they can coach them while he manages them