Who is someone you inexplicably can't stand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Archeron

That beardy bloke on the Bord bia ads. I bet you any money he eats people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,864 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Speaking of Bressie, or more really speaking of mental health, some journalist (Irish) wrote an article criticizing Blindboy (And in turn, folks like Bressie) with regards to how they exploit the discussion around mental health.

Sure enough-twitterati came to his defense. If they'd only taken a step back, they'd realise that the journalist was right. And Blindboy coming out in 'defense' of himself... tells you that he was worried about his pay packet. If you get very defensive about any kind of criticism (accurate criticism, mind you, not deconstructive criticism- when someone does the 'you're rubbish' kind of stuff) then it very clearly points to a weakness in your armour. As in you know you're a huckster, but you're not happy being called out on it.

Seen it happen too many times with youtubers. But once they're called out, they have to go looking for a new source of revenue. The regular audience usually get clued in on it not too long afterwards. He's already had to switch from being a 'comedian', then switched to being a 'musician', now he's a 'mental health advocate'... 🙄🙄🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,685 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

If you choose to use the media to engage with the general public, express views, communicate, yet when somebody disagrees with you, calls you out, takes issues with something you say... you need to remind yourself that in a fûcking democracy, you are of the ability to say xyz, about tambourine making, the best washing up liquid and indeed mental health ... but people are also of the ability to disagree with you, put a counter view and or call you out as a chancer, spoofer, whatever... a just society, a democracy enables all that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,451 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭cms88

It's actauly kind of interesting how many of them go down the same route. comedian', then switched to being a 'musician', then a 'mental health advocate'..

It's also interesting how many talk about free speech, choose etc but only when it's inline with their own thinking..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Joe Don Dante

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,947 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Larrissa nolan,

actually i'm sure it was blindboy alone she nuked, think she gave bressie a pass for being a actual professional

Give her time-she'll spotlight him too. Then the twitter folk will come after her over it.

Case in point, Laura Whitmore tried to set her followers on a journalist (Niamh Walsh)-but it heavily backfired (barring some genuinely nuts people who made death threats against Ms Walsh). Journalists came out in support of Walsh, even the Washington Post, of all things. (it was an embarrassing moment for Whitmore. And she's been embarrassing herself quite a bit in the last few years).

Anyways, Walsh wrote a nothing article about how the women politicians 'don't dress very well', and even including a little dig at the male politicians at the end of her article. Friends-of-Whitless came out in her defence, such as Muireann O'Connell on Ireland AM. And it was soooo clearly an agenda. (Muireann started attacking those who wrote in to Ireland AM and defended Walsh's article. That politicians, at home and abroad, represent the people, the country. You want them to look good. You don't want another 'Bertie Ahern in a Canary yellow suit' debacle'. Or Brian Cowen being the butt of a Jay Leno joke.).

You could tell they were just using the article to attack Niamh Walsh after the way Laura Whitmore was made look like an idiot before this. It was the Dailymail... nobody cares what they say unless it's Piers Morgan writing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,685 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Rket4000

I haven't really followed Laura Whitmore or her career and only heard of her in the last couple of years. I can't say I've warmed to her (saw her on celeb gogglebox). However in the case of her spat with Niamh Walsh, I totally got where she was coming from. Just because someone is in the public eye doesn't mean every aspect of their life is public. It seems that it was the papers, and not the couple themselves, who announced that the child had been born; then this "journalist" wrote a cringey faux chummy email saying we're going to announce your baby's name - surely it's the couple's own decision if or when they announce it. The "journalist" only contacted LW to get the quote that she needed so that the article became a story rather than a piece of unsubstantiated gossip. That being said, maybe LW needs to filter out which of her friends are prepared to sell her out by talking to the papers.

I'd be more inclined to 'agree' with you, if Whitmore hadn't set up an instagram page for her kid, with the kid's name in full view. And this was set up months before the email went out. Laura and her bloke were more likely trying to sell a magazine deal, announcing her kid's arrival.

They just weren't very bright about it.

Is it active? If the child's name hadn't been made public no one would have known who it belonged to. I know some people who set up email addresses for newborns in order that no one else can get them first - maybe setting up an Instagram is something similar in the world of people who use social media?

Yep, pretty active (think Brian McFadden is following it). Keep in mind, for months after Caroline Flack took her own life, she was promoting the #BeKind tag. She could easily have blocked out the name of the journalist, but she wanted to make an example of them. Rather nasty, tbh. And Whitmore studied journalism, she knows the type of people you deal with there. She used to trade in celebrity gossip for MTV, so her double standards were quite ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭Be right back

I said it before but she comes across as rather painful on her instagram.

The baby's Instagram must be riveting for Brian... "got first tooth today"

Saw Iain stirling on a repeat of taskmaster and he came across as a right tool - so maybe they suit each other (still think she was right to call out "journalist" crap tactics (which applies to loads of them not just Niamh whatsername)

Dil Wickramisinghe went down ALL the dang routes. She was a radio presenter. A writer. A 'comedian'. An Actor... now she's studying to be a mental health counsellor. It's like a textbook plan now - 'How to succeed when you've failed at everything else'.

(God, typing out her 'careers' reads like that opening speech Jesse Ventura would give at the beginning of his conspiracy theory show).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,947 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Fell on her own sword over George hook if I recall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,289 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Donncha O Callaghan on 2fm. He thinks he is hilarious. needs to grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,972 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Yeah, I didn’t agree with her at all but at least she stuck to her principles. Found the behaviour, at the time, of Chris Donoghue far more odious.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Trondheim

I must be living under a stone. I have never heard of Dil or half of the people that are mentioned here.

Ah, she’s been “off air” for a few years now, T.

A harmless sort, had a Sunday evening show on Newstalk called ‘Global Village’ that celebrated diversity and inclusivity, you can see why she might have been a target for online angry, hate-filled, lads.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,451 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

I remember her getting called out for tweeting anti vax conspiracy theories.

Post edited by Hangdogroad on

Was a good rugby player BITT, I'll give him that hands down........but who thought it was a good idea to 'parachute ' him into a primetime radio show does have questions to answer, he's miles out of his depth ( his two co-presenters aren't great in any event ). Anytime I have the misfortune of catching that breakfast show I feel sorry/ embarressed for the guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

How are they able to afford all these courses living on a “Luvvies” wage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭Will_I_Amnt

Jennifer Anniston

Although.....I probably still would!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Milena Fluffy Stretcher

He stole Bernard O'Shea's manchild gimmick...he's a nice guy , see him around the place but christ the manchild/will ferrell light gimmick is really tiresome

edit - Donnacha i mean now not bernard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

I think she was just dull and boring, very boring people seem to get way too much airtime

Wouldn’t agree with her on that front either. Wait, does this mean she’s now a “hero” of the alt, or far, right?

Post edited by EmmetSpiceland on