Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has the Pandemic changed you in how you feel when you are out and about?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,209 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

wait until the establishments divide into two...one for the maskers and one for personal choice crowd,it will happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Your friends sound a bit thick. You don't need a Covid pass to have a drink outside.

To the OP, not in the slightest. I've been in packed pubs since they reopened, been to the cinema, on the bus/train etc. I'm dying to get back to more normality where every pub is packed, some are still following the stupid rules to the T. Was at a friends 40th over the weekend, inflatable pub in his garden, was brilliant craic and great to see everyone having fun again, long may it continue.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Mental Health is health too, maybe you need to talk to someone. People aren't generally "filthy", and exposure to some germs help build your immune system.

I feel sad for people who are scared or hesitant to get back out there, I mean those who really want to but are stuck due to fear. It must be awful.

For me I am the exact same regarding socialising and being around others as I was prior to the pandemic. I sort of intuitively know what to do in social circumstances with others and that hasn't changed.

I'm out and about all the time and I'm very delighted to be.

Mostly just in online bubbles, most of which are living in US politics. I haven't seen anything like that in the real world in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Release from the lockdown has made me want to go out more, see more people, do more things.

I was on holiday a while ago and it was great to do everything we did pre-Covid, I didn't think about Covid or lockdown once the whole time.

And when I got back (to the UK) all restrictions were gone, walked into a pub and ordered a pint at the bar, sat anywhere, it was class.

I think anyone saying social distancing/people afraid of everything is better is suffering some kind of Stockholm Syndrome to Covid/Lockdown.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

I'm personally happy enough with restrictions as they are and come late October I'll be happy to see further easing of restricitions.

I'm not living in fear of anything, but I acknowledge that Covid still poses a risk so the fairly innocuous restrictions for another few weeks are not a problem for me. We will get back to normality soon and i'll have no problem socialising again, as normal, then. In the meantime covid passes are fine with me.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

Your fears and paranoia don't trump other peoples' right to live their lives. Selfish? Give me a break. You're the selfish one trying to guilt-trip others who don't drink the kool-aid that you are so ready to quaff by the bucketful. There are 2 types of people. Those who are afraid of their own shadow and those who aren't. The former should stay at home under the bed in a friggin hazmat suit if stepping out the door is so treacherous. I'm afraid of the mosh-pit at punk/metal concerts hence I don't go in. I don't call all those slamming off each other and stage diving "selfish" for not respecting my comfort and safety if I want to stand in the middle of the floor.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,976 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Just one thing I would definitely disagree with you on, I don't think people in general suck. I deal with the public every day and 99% of them are good people who don't cause me any problems, people in general are good, of course there are a few absolute a$$holes but they are in the minority.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Nah, but my speech patter has become more noticeably robotic and predictable.

The way it is with me, I have been observing the restrictions almost to the letter apart from getting to know/mix with one new individual outside of my circle (in spite of the restrictions) and that was because I was residing alone, and I’m being honest about this. Being a sociable (if somewhat independent) person I found the restrictions crucifying.

I used to travel a lot (not eco friendly and feel the guilt!!) and enjoyed going out and socialising, and generally enthusiastic in company. The past year has introverted me a great deal, but then I hear I am far from alone in this respect. I am prepping myself right now for a turnaround!

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users Posts: 13,841 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I seemed to have triggered a few people. Long post incoming.

@bucketybuck Am I not allowed an opinion? Because I don't agree with societal norms, I should just shut up and leave? Is it not the point of an anonymous forum to discuss things? I give my opinion simply because it usually is the opposite of what most people think. But some people seem to take this as a personal attack of some sort. It's not. You say simple fact human beings are social animals, but it was simple fact 50 years ago there were only 2 genders (no, I'm not bringing the discussion that way). Simple fact, just like common sense, isn't simple (or common). Yes, the vast majority of people are like that, but I wonder is it because to be anything else is met with anger and accusations? It certainly took me longer to realise what makes me happy because of it. Society has changed many times since the dawn of man. And I stand by my belief that most people are dirty, because they are in my opinion. And I'm guilty of it myself. But it's just my opinion. I'm not asking anyone to believe what I say or follow me. I'm not asking anyone to join me "under the bed", i'm asking them to be a little more mindful of those who can no longer take part like they used to. But no, it's always met with your comment, it affects me so no, I want my fun = selfishness/greed. In my opinion.

@Fandymo As above re: dirty, but I'm well aware of my mental health, more aware of it these days than ever before, and I'm doing what i'm doing because that helps me. I don't need to be social. I don't need to be part of the rat race. I do what makes me happy, and it should not be harming anyone else, so why is it a bad thing? Because it's different? And I'm not locking myself in my house. I do go out, but I go to places where there are little to no crowds. I get the shopping, I visit a couple of actual friends when it suits us both. I play D&D either in person or online. I just don't go to pubs, clubs, concerts, etc. I don't pretend to have 1000 friends through all my jobs and clubs over the years, I have a close handful and plenty acquaintances. Being healthy without doubt for the last 18 months, while avoiding society, leads me to believe that other people make me sick. So I avoid it now. Again, don't think I'm harming anyone by doing that. Except maybe people who don't like to see someone not taking part in the rat race and actually being happy... I dunno, I'm no psychiatrist, but I don't think I need to be one to know my own happiness. But, as you suggested, by talking to someone I take it you don't mean a random anonymous person on the internet, like the many who seem to think I need to talk to someone...

@ShatterAlan But other peoples right to live their lives don't trump my right to whatever it is I do? That's not selfish? Just because most people think that way, the few who don't should shut up and exclude themselves even more? "guilt-trip others who don't drink the kool-aid that you are so ready to quaff by the bucketful. " What? Can you please rephrase that so it's a bit more understandable? Just because I think differently, doesn't automatically equate me to someone who should hide under their bed. See above, I'm not a recluse, I just choose to avoid busy/crowded social situations for many reasons, lately because I genuinely believe people can't do simple cleanliness, and avoiding it for the last 18 months, be it mandatory or by choice, I haven't been sick, at all. 2+2=4 to me there. Re: your analagy, that's exactly what I'm doing, going shopping at quieter times, not going to busy places. But that doesn't suit the black and white narrative some people try to push of pro vs anti full opening/lifting.

I'm going to ask ye again to read my posts in a neutral tone, because I feel like some of ye think I'm getting all worked up over this, sweating over my keyboard covered in doritos and mountain dew. I'm giving opinions, and I'm being accused of needing mental health and selfish (for not attending places...). It's just my opinion, and I hope that if there is someone else out there who was like me a few years ago, can see this post and realise it's ok to not be part of the societally expected norms. I'm asking the general public to be a bit more cognisant that not everyone is going to be 100% ok with the way things used to be, and give a bit of respect. But I don't expect it. In fact, I expect the opposite, and I'm seeing it evidenced here in this thread. Humans won't change, that drives my belief, and I do agree with @pgj2015 that there are good people out there, but my belief that everyone is a dick and selfish is serving me well, because when they're not being dicks or being selfish it's a bonus, a win if you will. But it allows me to no longer get upset when humanity proves me true. If you can't think any less of something, it can't be any worse, but it leaves it open to improve. Always expecting to be disappointed means you'll never be truly disappointed, but you can more easily be pleased.

Again, I'm not interfering with anyone or anything. I'm choosing not to attend certain events or places, and I don't expect anyone else to agree or disagree with me. All I want is for people to use shared public spaces, specifically ones that are required (shops, etc) while keeping other peoples personal space in mind. I know that can't/won't happen in pubs/clubs, so I won't go, but I shouldn't have to tell someone to back away from standing on top of me in Tesco. But I still do, 18 months into a pandemic I still have to say that.... That fuels my beliefs, but again they're my beliefs and I don't expect anyone to agree with me.

I wouldn’t ever have been much of an attendant at mass events, but normally absolutely love to socialise in close/intimate circumstances. During pandemic I was quite nervous about socialising; absolutely not at all now.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,976 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Do you think your former employment has given you the idea that people in general suck?

I think now that society is opening up, and a lot of folk have become almost “institutionalised” by the pandemic, that it is important to force oneself into socialising, even if at first a bit iffy or non-enthusiastic about it. Somebody was discussing this with me only yesterday and said they too had been initially reluctant, but by literally just going through it they began to reintegrate onto the social scene.

Its interesting to read some of the responses to Potential's experience and way of life.

It certainly wouldn't be mine, in particular how he views other people. It is his way though. Potential finds comfort and peace in how he lives. Why would that upset others?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,041 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

There is an element of that alright, especially after the long lockdown we had earlier this year. I had no real enthusiasm to get back into my hobbies for a while. It was like forcing myself to go to the gym; hate the idea but feel better afterwards.

I still can’t bring myself to go to the gym, owing mainly to the fact that there’s a persistent cougher there. Possibly the person has CF and attending the gym for health, but since Covid reared it’s ugly head it just put me off. I tend to take my exercise outdoors once again. Attending the gym for about a year did add some vigour and muscle into me and I haven’t really lost much of it by not attending. I started going after having a very difficult recovery from a knee replacement, had been unfit for years due to that and other previous health issues, and even today someone remarked that I look better than I have five in years, had I been in a diet or something. I don’t know if I can be motivated to return to the gym.

My Big Test about how I feel about being very close to a lot of strangers is going to be next month, when I’m booked on two short overseas trips almost back-to-back, having rescheduled them to end-of-season departures due to summer postponements. I normally absolutely adore the momentum and novelty of travel, though never have liked big crowds per se, and this is going to test how I really cope with it. Whilst I no longer fear Covid the way I did (I actually feared passing it on more than anything) I still don’t fancy getting a dose of anything for my holidays.

Suppose that might depend a lot on why they are not getting them. If there are not getting them due to managing zero exposure then I do wonder if you are right - that over time this might have implications to their immune systems. It is something I have been meaning to read up.

However simply being someone who does not get them and never has - I doubt has similar implications. I live basically the opposite existence for the opposite reasons that potential-monke describes above. I have found myself being more social over the last decade or so. With more people. And it has nothing to do with "gossip or talk about the inane".

I study close combat which involves getting up close and personal with many other combatants - I work with troubled local teens - I teach "guided" meditation to strangers - I throw house parties for friends - I have kids of my own and am exposed to their friends a lot too. And I hunt wild animals and dig around in the dirt in the garden a lot.

I do not remember a single sniffle in quite a few years.

I must have gotten infected with many things in that time. I just did not suffer in any way from it. Not even a sniffle. Hell for all I know I have caught covid multiple times. I doubt it but I probably wouldn't know if I had maybe.

Why I am like that would be only guesswork. It would be easy to point to my diet and healthy lifestyle and guess it is that. I worked through every diet under the sun before I found the one that works for me for body weight and fitness and health.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Made absolutely no difference to me, I'm going to live my life and not in fear. I go to pubs,restaurants, meet plenty of people,go to peoples houses,people come to mine and I don't even think twice about it

• Registered Users Posts: 15,353 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Loads of ppl have been saying to me recently they’ve NO intention of going back to “the way things were” society pre covid.

Personally the thoughts of a packed stuffy pub and all that entails is something I never want to endure again

• Registered Users Posts: 15,353 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Eh...Sorry now , why should people “force” themselves to socialise???

• Registered Users Posts: 16,349 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

No.

I followed the rules they had in place over the last year and a half but was never in fear of it.

Time to move things back to normal now though and stop us being muzzled up like greyhounds every time we wan to go in to a shop etc.

If people still want to wear masks fair enough but forcing eyeryone to do it neeeds to change, was out in the park recently and this old bollix was going around shouting at everyone to put on a mask, when he got to me I wasn't long telling him where to go.

Was never a regular pub goer but I like a pint or two the odd weekend but will hold off until we can go in and sit at the counter like before C19 came along.

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭mary 2021

Loved your post and you are definately no alone in this train of thought so much of the 'socializing' is bullshit lots of virtue signalling and showing off. I loved the past year my own world and only the few people i like and all my own interests, it was brilliant. i f i never socialize again i dont miss it, its so fake and vacuous.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,041 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

One thing I don't miss is the "obligatory" work nights out. So much hassle with them in my last job.

I’m really talking about my own personal here or maybe people similar to me. It’s not about having to socialise, for me it’s that I am initially a bit reluctant but find that if I push myself a bit that I enjoy it and feel so much better for it afterwards. I’m a mixture of introvert and extrovert, and it really is better for my mental health if I can exercise the latter aspect of my personality.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭yagan

I was over crowded places before the pandemic hit, so all it did was reinforce how I already felt. My favorite type of holidays was always outdoors and I'm planning to do more camping type travel in Europe in the future.

One huge bonus in this is that more venues now have more outdoor options which I always preferred.

The huge vaccine uptake has actually given me more confidence in our society, despite the vocally load brainfarters that get too much airtime.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,841 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Oh big time. It showed me what a lot of people don't see, or only see the edges of. It opened my eyes to how low people can go, or just how selfish people can be. Yeah, maybe me thinking everyone is like that is a bit extreme, but it's not like I go around with a big thick head muttering to myself and giving out to random people. I just keep to myself, and would like if other people would keep to themselves too. And it does make it a "win" if someone new turns out to be actually nice. Takes a while to find that out though, outward appearances are usually deceiving, and people only show their true colours in certain times.

I expected a lot of it tbh, knowing the people I would be dealing with, but it shocked me to learn it happens in every type of society regardless of money. Just that the more money people have, the better they usually are at hiding it. The amount of houses I've been in that would be in excess of €500k (10 years ago, down the country) and the people living there would be some of the worst you could encounter. And yes, I met quite a lot of apparently nice people too, but only barely knowing them I can't say for certain if they are actually nice people. I had a friend for years who I thought was nice, turns out he was also a cnut.

Anyway, it's better to say that everyone is a cnut and be proven wrong, than say everyone is lovely and be proven wrong!

• Registered Users Posts: 204 ✭✭The Silver Branch

It's turned me into a more introverted person, a bit of a recluse to be honest. I shop in a 24 hour shop in the early hours.

I broke up with someone just before lockdown March 2020, that area of life has stalled.