Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

9/11 20th anniversary

• 10-09-2021 09:39PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,183 ✭✭✭✭cena

20 years on and this is still tough to hear what happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,414 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Hindsight is great but you wonder how the cockpits were all pretty much insecure up to this date, any randomer with mental health or dodgy intentions could have taken a plane over with little effort. For decades before this bus drivers had secure cabins blocking access from the general public, just seems mad that wasn't law for all passenger jets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Never happened so was never thought of. Highjackers normally get airplane to fly somewhere. Unfortunately most safety aspects normally come after an incident. That or I watch too much aircraft accident programs

Howard Stern's live coverage is some of the most gripping radio in history.

To this day Stern can't listen back to it and as far as I know makes copyright claims when it pops up online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,853 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

It’s mad the hijackers still hit the twin towers even tho they were big buildings. the planes could have easily missed going at the speed they travelling at. Those hijackers wouldn’t have flown passenger jets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,404 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

All those lives lost

RIP

GDY151

BBC had a documentary on during the week all about what was going on behind the scenes with Bush trying to control the situation.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/m000z8p5/911-inside-the-presidents-war-room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭passatman86

I remember watching the tv at me nannies on lunch from secondary school the day it happened . Id say its our generations " you know what you were doing" moments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭OU812

I'm just after finishing a show on Nat Geo (Disney+) about the firehouse closest & absolute first responders. Absolutely harrowing. Talking about having to drive over bodies & body parts in the street to get to the towers, mere minutes after the first impact. Stuff that never occurred to me before. It's so tough watching it. Extremely high definition footage too.

Also, anyone who has the ABC7 app, they've got a segment "as it happenned" which is their broadcast from the morning. very low standard def, 4:3 display, but seeing the reactions "live" in the studio as they struggle to broadcast.

Also, anyone into podcasts, there's a show called 9/12 which focuses on the people who had to go to work the day after & how it affected them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭BobHopeless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭Zirconia
    Boycott Israeli Goods & Services

The hijackers had been doing commercial pilot training in the US in the months before the attack. Hitting the buildings wasn't too difficult for them given some basic training on aircraft systems and control

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,930 ✭✭✭✭banie01

The Smithsonian Channel's The Heartland Tapes is a great docu IMO. No talk, no commentary, just news reports of that morning interspersed with ATC and emergency services radio.

I lived in Lanzarote when it happened and was sitting at home watching BBC News when they broke their coverage. Shots of the smoking 1st tower and then the 2nd plane hitting.

I remember initial death toll estimates of up to 50k! If nothing else, the fact that the planes impacted before the work day fully started, saved an awful lot of lives.

The mood in the bar that night and for the next few days was like nothing I've ever experienced. We opened but cancelled live music and kept as much news on as we could. It's not something I think of often, but I'll always remember where I was when it happened. My wife was stranded back in Ireland too as she was home on holidays and was meant to fly back out on the afternoon of 9/11. Her flight that day still took off, but she didn't make it to Dublin and fair play to Iberia, they looked after her and rescheduled the flight for her even tho it was her own fault (and Sky news') that she missed it in the 1st place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,252 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

There'll be loads of documentaries. This one was on the BBC a few years back recalling stories of those inside the WTC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,918 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

the world is multiple times more dangerous now.. it will get worse...Despite trillions being spent... Aviation is multiple times safer yes... but what fûcking use is safeguarding aircraft and airports.... when these scumbags can just blow up trains, train stations, trams... walk down a main street or into a shopping center with an automatic weapon or IED ...

fûck all use spending billions on aviation security when what should have happened is quite simply the EU to have the fûckin cop on to halt, limit non EU citizens from certain locations from arriving... safeguarding us in the air and on the streets, in our homes, in shopping centers...

no Islamic terrorist gives a rats about ETD, ionscan detectors, backscatter technology or the latest X-ray machine...

quite simply the clock is ticking, it’s happening here...

you would find it multiple times easier to kill / injure more people by just walking into a shopping center with an automatic weapon / grenades...

10th of December, if Liffey Valley, Blanchardstown, Jervis St, Charlestown, Mahon Point, Eyre Square Center are attacked by people with automatic weapons and improvised explosives, you’d be seeing similar casualties to 9/11....

my own view is that it’s at some point in the future going to happen... could be one year or twenty away.

if you invite trouble it will arrive.

No point in thinking if we learn from 9/11 and make the skies safer when we as a society have done that very thing but inviting problems on the street, shopping areas, public transportation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

I think it was a body blow to white supremacy. Make of that what you will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,624 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

I was only 7 or 8 in 3rd class when it happened, I remember the teacher turned on the tv so we could watch what was happening. At that age all I cared about was pokemon cards and capri suns so seeing the news reports meant nothing to me. Was only many years later watching documentaries about it, realised the affect it had on American

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,197 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I’ve listened to it a few times a couple of years ago when it was on YouTube and it started out as a normal show but yes I agree the whole team stepped up the plate once it becomes apparent that this was a serious event.

There was a thread for the 15th anniversary and I gave my recollections then of being on 4th year in secondary school being told by a passing teacher that “ a plane had crashed into the world trade centre” which I said five years ago I only knew what the WTC was because the Simpson episode. 102 minutes that changed America IMO is the best documentary of the events twenty years ago because there are no talking heads, it’s just footage that ordinary people filmed on the day. There’s been a few 9/11 documentaries added to Disney plus which I’ve never seen a plan to watch this weekend.

Two moments I’ve remembered in the five years are one on September 10th, 2001 I was in cork airport collecting a family member and we were in the old terminal and it was like any other time at the airport. Little did we know that the airport experience would change drastically less than 24 hours later. The second is sky news and their coverage, which I can remember turning on before school in the weeks after and it was static camera pointing at ground zero with these massive spot lights shining on the site.

For those of us in our thirties 9/11 was a “where were where you moment” and IMO has defined our generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,370 ✭✭✭Be right back

^^ I was also collecting a couple of family members from Cork airport on the 10th of September. I remember thinking it was small planes at first and I didn't know what the WTC was..

Didn’t the plane that hit the second tower have to bank sharply to hit the south tower and because of that it hit it straight on.

Was that before or after that imbecile was taking about Pamela Anderson's jet? I really struggle to understand when they took it seriously without being dicks? And I know it's low brow and all the rest but, surely, there is a point where all that goes out the window? Because I also listened to it throughout and it's really not quite as you paint it imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭HerrKapitan

RIP all those who lost their lives. I remember vividly when a classmate told us "6000 people are dead in America" while waiting for our schoolbus. Thought he was joking and laughed at him.

Terrible that a country can do such a thing to its own people.

The Pamela Anderson talk was going on when the first plane hit and did continue until the second plane hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,703 ✭✭✭AllForIt

There was an interview on LBC's Andrew Pierce show today, with a woman who on 9/11 started her FIRST day at work there. What a first day at work, how surreal. Didn't get to listen to it but it just shows there are so many untold stories around this terrible day in history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,703 ✭✭✭AllForIt

As for documentaries, there were many docs available on YouTube but have been pulled. Maybe it's a bit morbid to watch them anyway. Some of the personal stories will stay will me forever and sometimes I wish I didn't know. It's the real life stories that kill me more than the visuals of it.

One in particularly; about a woman who took her mother to the top restaurant on her birthday. She's worked in the towers and apparently loved working there. Who wouldn't. They both perished. So so sad.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,635 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

2001 was a landmark year for me as I met my current OH in February of that year. 💕

My sister had my nephew, the first of a new generation of the family, later that year.

And then 9/11 happened. It shattered, in an instant, what had been a happy and positive year for me. My sister phoned me at work to tell me that an airplane had hit the World Trade Centre. I thought it might be a light aircraft she meant, but I went down to the common student area of the university I worked in where staff were gathering around the TV screens - and was stunned to see a second aircraft hitting the second tower. It was utterly surreal.

When I heard the Pentagon had been hit, I really thought this might be the end, the beginning of an end of days. I went into town to meet some American friends over in Ireland for a wedding and everyone was just stunned and numb.

The images of desperate people jumping off the towers will stay with me until the day I draw my last breath.

Post edited by JupiterKid on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

On that day I was on my lunch break at work. I'll never ever forget seeing the live footage of the second plane hitting the second tower. Shocking!

GDY151

I remember myself on the day hearing on the radio a plane had hit the first tower, at the time there was no real sense of the scale of the collision, assumption was a Cesna type plane hitting in some kind of navigation error, once you heard the 2nd tower was hit I knew it was terrorists. The internet wasn't able to cope with the news across the world, ISDN was only being implemented and most homes didn't have this, multiple websites completely collapsed with the traffic for the day, BBC, Sky, CNN, ABC etc, as did phonelines between Ireland and US. There was a fear in our office that European targets could be next, got off early in work, going home in the car my mind was wondering what in the jaysus had just happened and how it could be responded to so it didn't happen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Woke up at 5pm Irish time after working night shift the night before and turned on The Last Word where they had live commentary on it. I thought it was similar to the 'War of the Worlds' broadcast in 1938 where people tuned in late to a drama broadcast and thought the Planet earth was being attacked. I actually thought it was a drama or mocumentary type piece for several minutes until I went and turned on Sky News. Was before smart phones and the immediacy all that brought.

Like others, I'll never forget the rest of that day but its a somber thought to realise that on the back of what happened that day, America went to war in 2 countries for 20 years, which saw trillions of dollars spent and millions of lives lost or displaced.

Oh, and that right now in America, more than twice the number of people who died on 9/11 are still dying every week from Covid and circa 40% of the population refuse to take a vaccine to help prevent such deaths and some states are preventing schools from wearing masks to protect staff and students.

In the year 3125 history books where they cover the early 21st century, they will think we were very slow in acting in our own best interests (jokes on them, climate change inaction might mean there's no one left to read those books. lol)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Avon8

Hitting a 60m wide target at 500 mph is absolutely difficult. Didn't the official report exclude all systems and conclude it was manual? Even more difficult when you consider the pentagon, a mere 5 stories from the ground. All logic there though would suggest they were attempting to plow straight into the roof from above and somehow managed to hit the very narrow strip between the ground and roof at that speed

GDY151

Seemed easy enough, 2 planes, 2 complete direct hits.