Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXV-956,720 ROI (5,952 deaths) 452,946 NI (3,002 deaths) (08/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

They do have 89% of 16+ with at least one dose so it will catch up. We may get to 92% or above and it will drop because we are more or less finished. The 12-15 age group here accounts for nearly 6% of total population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

@is_that_so wrote:

We may also be seeing a decline in cases and hospitals are currently at 367 with 59 in ICU, virtually flat numbers.

We are definitely on a downward trend case-wise at the moment. ICU numbers have been stable for 2.5 weeks now, and hospital numbers stable for a week. With cases on a downward slant we should start to see hospital numbers come down behind them.

There is an unknown in terms of schools. We may see a short bump in case numbers over the next 5-14 days, but it shouldn't affect hospital numbers much. Virtually everyone I know with kids has got the email about a confirmed case in the school over the last week, but as we know from the previous two times we reopened the schools, this all settles down pretty quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,255 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,552 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

I wonder if having the schools open increases detection, if a child has symptoms at home they may not get tested, if they go to school with symptoms they will be sent home and will have to get tested.

Only the VOCs matter, plenty of VOIs have come and gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 aigne

This forum has been by and large very informative throughout pandemic. Just want to make a comment on something I see here every so often - I have listened to most ISAG webinars - and the whole point of ISAG is to be ANTI Lockdown! They might support lockdowns more than letting it rip but what they have constantly called a better option than the two - an open society without the virus circulating! And there is a way to do that - old fashioned local public health investment, clean air, a test and trace system that can actually break chains of transmission, etc etc. We can argue about the specific details but the whole point of ISAG was to avoid the lockdowns we have had for the past year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 aigne

Also the focus on schools now - again we put all these unvaccinated people in a room together - there are things we can do to make that safer. Why expose the children to the novel coronavirus? Clean air standards, HEPA filters, regular testing. This has been done in other countries, and we could do it here

The whole point of ISAG was Zero Covid which, for any sentient adult, was never going to be a possibility.

We don't vaccinate under 12s, the vast majority of the unvaccinated in a room in your scenario and there would be far fewer in post-primary. Testing as we've seen is fine until it gets to a point where the system can't cope with a fast spreading variant like Delta.

There's not much to say. The first cases of both variants were detected here weeks ago so they're not new.

They've got some interesting mutations hence them being regarded as Variants of Interest. They're not currently Variants of Concern so they're worth keeping a close eye on but not much else at the moment. Delta is still the most immediate concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

There contingencies for the PCR limit being reached. These involve antigen testing of symptomatic individuals at 3 (?) intervals, I think. I don't recall how much capacity this adds but I think it's quite substantial. PCR cap is approx 30,000 per day.

It would take a lot for Delta to overwhelm the testing system.

Edit: sorry misread your post. A fast spreading variant with no mitigation measures, vaccine or restrictions, would rapidly overwhelm the testing capacity.

The testing no but for the secondary and key part of the system - tracing, yes, especially in context of many close contacts.

Yeah. Sorry I misread your post. :o

Was going to delete... but you're all so bloody fast. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

ISAG are a laughing stock. Anyone trying to defend/justify their nonsense at this stage needs their head examined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭BobHopeless

It's inevitable here unfortunately. Any new "variant of concern" has the doom mongers reaching for the lube and kleenex and will have pubs and restaurants closed at a minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gral6

Thanks God, these iZero Covid idiots from ISAG were never listened here.

Unfortunately there is just way too many agenda's and motivations to keep this thing going for as long as possible.

Do we really think doctors/scientists want this to end? This is like paradise for them. They can do all kinds of research and studies on this for years to come. Lots of media attention etc. Not to mention its a great excuse to keep visitors away from hospitals. Great not having to answer to family members.

Do we think politicians want to go back to housing crisis/hospital crisis?

Do we think the media want to work hard finding interesting news stories when they just post whatever negative Covid news they have.

Do the likes of the Garda and doctors want temple bar buzzing on the weekends with lots of people coming in for all kinds of reasons?

Do office workers really want to go back to commuting in and out of work each day?

The reality is, we are using a mild illness to push all kinds of agenda's. If there was a real appetite to move on, we'd have long moved on.

If the UK or any country goes back into lockdown, we can kiss goodbye to normality. For years to come there will be people pushing for lockdowns.

Spot on.

And another one is all the money being made on testing perfectly healthy people every day for covid.

What comforts me is that the world is a big place, so people will be able to emigrate. I would say the best countries to consider in Western Europe are the Scandinavian countries. I'd say Eastern Europe would be a good bet too because of the avos.

I used to think that the US would be a good country to go to, but I think it was more that I was thinking too much of the US being 'the home of the brave and the land of the free', but they've gone totally extreme over there with masks on 2 year olds and persons such as Fauci talking about boosters and constantly moving the goalposts. But is is a country made up of many different countries, so I think I should have said states in the US as opposed to the US as a whole. Florida, Texas, Alabama and South Dakota all come to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

So who are the groups that want to go back to "normal"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭godzilla1989

Yeah no one wants it to the end and it won't end anytime soon

Pharma are making billions, they will want it to continue forever, great money spinner.

Big tech and Amazon are making billions from it with WFH and deliveries

Governments loving the power and making plenty of money as well, they love it.

It suits way too many people and too much money involved for it to end

The only people affected by lockdowns are the poor working class people that have to get up everyday working in restaurant's, cinema's, hotel's etc

Oh lots of people would love to but they are ultimately just 1 person in a messed up system.

Sure look at our next Taoiseach. Having the time of his life at a festival in a country with no restrictions.

You'd have to wonder why he thinks Covid is so dangerous in Ireland. Or maybe he just has too many people to placate over here.

Absolutely nothing wrong with losing the plot at this point. Just today I clicked on an article saying kids as young as 4 should be forced to wear airtight masks at school all day.

This is the world we now live in. If more people would "Lose the plot", maybe we could stop this nonsense?

Yeah thought I'd tapped into conspiracy theories by accident

Think I heard that a few times before. "Of course you won't need your papers to have a cup of tea - conspiracy forum is that way".

September 2021 says hello.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,289 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

You clicked on an article that made you angry? Unbelieveable. This is not the 21st century I signed up for. We should be in space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,379 ✭✭✭goingnowhere

Tuesday 7th

1162 positive swabs

5.87% on 19,794

Its going the right way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

That's a very big fall in positivity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's a huge drop in both senses. A huge number of tests as predicted by the head of testing, but didn't cause a jump in positive tests. Mostly just kids after developing coughs and sniffles from going back into the petri dish; but not COVID.

If that sticks to the end of the week, then it's game over for Covid. And it means NPHET were at least bang on with looking for 90% vaccination rates in the over-16s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭mollser

That would be the lunacy of testing all the school kids, and hopefully used as conclusive proof that this thing is not spreading particularly in primary schools. The amount of kids missing school needlessly is disgraceful, hopefully by mid-term they relax the close contact rules for schools when they see what a waste of time and resources it is (hopefully)