Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Good news everyone! The Boards.ie Subscription service is live. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Murder at the Cottage | Sky

Yes it is. Its definitely there. Tbh, with the emergence of interest in the case now its really important to keep these conversations going. Pretty sure it's only those in the #baileyguilt camp who think it's pointless.

Well I don't think he's guilty, and I think the answer is out there and this can be solved, wether the perp is alive or dead. The problem now is the same as at the beginning: people only looking at one person and one angle, then making the pieces fit when they don't and never did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭MoonUnit75

I do think Farrell has to be totally ignored- she brings nothing but confusion. I maintain that, even if IB did it - MF did not see him that night.

Regardless of what you think of MF's reliability, it was her reported sighting at the bridge that seems to have caused JT to change the story of what happened that night. She had previously said that she was a light sleeper and she would have known if he had gotten up during the night but they had both spent the entire night in bed. After the MF sightings were laid out in the interrogation room, she then remembered him getting out of bed and added that she couldn't remember him getting back in until he brought her coffee the next morning. She also then remembered him suggesting he might go over to Alfie's and that he had a cut on his forehead that wasn't there the night before.

JT later denied saying this but it then caused IB to change his story about the night.

So even if MF was at home, or if she saw someone else, it seems that when confronted with a possible sighting a couple of miles from the house, JT seems to have considered this plausible during her questioning.

Much unlike the couple who claim he said he did it and then went drinking with him again the morning after.

For a grown man, like Fuller, to be running around the countryside in terror with a toddler under his arms would likely be more attributable to shrooms than Bailey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

We (the Irish public) owe Ian Bailey nothing, nada. He should be extradited and tried in France if we are not prepared to have a criminal trial. Let's see then what evidence is produced and sustained in court. At least that would clarify this aspect of the case.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,478 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

I agree with you. Things like this get lost in the endless cycle of the same information repeated by the same people on all sides, ad nauseam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,733 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Completely disagree. We owe it to our laws and constitution to not allow anyone residing here to be part of a kangaroo court which claims jurisdiction over what happens in this country. The French have zero interest in a fair trial or getting to the truth of what happened, as was obvious from the total lack of co-operation given to the Garda investigation in France. They want a non French scapegoat and they want to show they can use their ridiculous law to claim jurisdiction in another EU country.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭DivilsAdvocate

In regards to the first two cases of climbing into bed next to someone or lifting a woman up and asking her to wrap her legs around you wouldn't be behaviour that I would consider extreme, certainly climbing into bed next to someone could be considered sexual assault in present times with the issue of consent being a lot more prevalent in todays society, but I don't think its unfair to say that we all know of lads who would do worse in their youth on a night out than lift someone up. Plenty of times in clubs or pubs when younger you would come across women being groped or having their arse slapped unwantedly etc. Admittedly Bailey was probably a lot older than a teenager at the time.

I would have a hard time asserting that a man who lifted up a woman and wrapped her legs around him means he is capable of bashing a womans head in with a concrete block. Especially when the man reportedly put her down immediately when asked, if anything this may show he takes rejection well. All though obviously the environment of a pub with people around is different than a secluded countryside dark at night.

I'm not sure if the two cases mentioned are demonstratable proof that Ian Bailey is the type to go around cheating on his partner.

In regards to Jules daughter, do we know if this is the same daughter that was arrested by gardai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭Deeec

Agree - Fuller and Bailey were friends before the murder and to think they were running away from a man that wasnt even Bailey - a man he knew well! How reliable a witness is Fuller?

Answer - not credible at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭CowgirlBoots

They didn't "go drinking" with him. They ran into him. It wasn't a pre-arranged engagement.

Ffs the reason there's not been a criminal trial here is because unlike French law, actual evidence counts, not hearsay and he-said she-said based on biased witnesses, several of whom were coerced and bribed by Gardaí.

Personally I like to live in a country where people are innocent until proven guilty and only condemned when there is evidence beyond reasonable doubt, which there certainly isn't.

We are protected by Irish constitution, and France can't just cart off a citizen because they think their legal system is better than ours! Bloody cheek of it.

If you prefer the French system then off ya go away to France instead of moaning about our fair, evidence based legal system.

The French spent over 10 years investigating this. They had investigators at the scene, walking and timing the routes, questioning witnesses etc. That far outstrips the efforts of anyone posting on this thread or Reddit by a very, very wide margin. If they wanted a 'non-French' scapegoat there's dozens to choose from in West Cork.

Not really. Things like this come out when fresh eyes and minds look at the evidence and crime scene photos available and notice things that were seemingly ignored before. In a case like this, these things are many!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭Deeec

Well then why did the French ingnore evidence that didnt point to Bailey in their trial? They only used evidence that incriminated IB. Why did they block the Irish from invesitaging her french life.Do you think this was fair?

I hope you never find yourself before the French courts!

The French did an excellent job of gathering evidence, I agree with you. However, they did this with absolutely zero objectivity. They did it in order to convict one man, and refused to look at other leads. Do you see the problem here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,483 ✭✭✭chooseusername

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭DivilsAdvocate

Nonsense, what kind of standard are we setting if we allow a person who's lived in the country for decades and has every right to Irish citizenship be extradited to France to serve life in prison for a crime where there's practically not a shred of evidence against him, whether he did it or not its legally wrong. Whats then to stop me, you our families or any other average joe from suffering the same fate.

People can't proclaim law and order and then try to bend it when it suits them.

Our DPP has said several times there's no evidence to warrant charging him, they'd be practically admitting that French law is more important and accurate than Irish law.

And in fact, evidence was the wrong word to use, because they still didn't find anything new. They were just more organised than our boys, but again, with the view entirely of convicting IB, not actually starting the investigation from scratch, which they arguably would have done better. In all honesty the Internet sleuths would have done a better job than the Gardaí at that time tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,483 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Really, you don't think climbing into bed with a sleeping woman you only met that night, manhandling another woman and asking them to wrap their legs around you and propositioning your partners daughter suggests you are likely to cheat on them?!

So terrified he brought his wife and 3 year old child down to the river to search for the murder weapon?

At least one, if not two people in one of the documentaries said men were contacting the gardai asking if they had made any progress because their wives would not stay at home alone!

He and his legal team offered no defence for the trial, apparently he was entitled to free legal aid from France as well. If there was no evidence or witnesses, any defence would cut through the case like a snow plough. As it stands he is entitled to a full retrial with representation if he were to find himself in France. What do you want them to do, send a summons with a little pink ribbon, an inspirational message and a voucher for a Med cruise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,042 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Re the hitman theory, the general consensus on this thread, whatever that is worth, is against, even among people convinced of Bailey's innocence. For various reasons, notbably the extreme, gratuitous violence employed and the failure to make even the most rudimentary effort to conceal the body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Darc19

can you show the exact statement of the DPP saying that "this was a bit of craic"

They may have say=id it had no bearing on the case, but I would doubt very much that they said this was a bit of "craic"

Your credibility is effectively on the floor with wild erroneous statements and utterly crazy conjecture

And both him and his legal team have a vast knowledge of French law, ergo they knew a fair, evidence based trial was out of the question!

In fact, the only sensible thing to do was boycott it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭chicorytip

It seems possible some creep may have been lurking around the house at night when she was present but it would be difficult for a" peeper " looking up at her bedroom window to actually see anything going on inside, certainly not standing at the entrance gate or even from the adjacent field on the left. Anyone who has visited the site would realise this.

Yeah I don't buy the hitman theory. It was a personal attack. An act of utter rage.

The point is they stayed in the pub and drank with him, as opposed to tearing up and down the street shrieking and waving their arms until a passing old lady calmed them down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Ffs, the plain people of Ireland couldn't give a fig for Bailey. I have more respect for the legal system of our fellow EU neighbours that for the utterances of that Walter Mitty. Let him go and put his defence before a trial. That's the only way to at least clear his name in some manner.

Pretty sure he'd be happy to put his case before a trial IN IRELAND.

Oh wait... Theres not enough evidence to even charge him, let alone get him to court!