Katherine Zappone Envoy Gig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,851 ✭✭✭archfi

'Hello from The Piglet' is apt coming from Zappone. She's had her nose in our trough quite publically.

I despair that anyone in authority here would consider and believe a TQIA+ fanatic would in anyway defend free speech/expression.

Queer theorists are exceptionally dangerous censorious zealots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,198 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

I thought I was imagining this when I saw the photo of Leo's message thread, not sure wether to be amused or quite disturbed, what an odd bunch these people are

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,488 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

More and more trouble coming from this. Freedom of information act ignored by multiple requests it seems. FG ministers blatantly lying and then defying freedom of information requests.

https://twitter.com/JackHoJo/status/1433095705657229316?s=19

At this rate Coveney might be thankful of an envoy posting for himself to timbuktu 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Surely this will separate the part again, Leo dumping Coveney in it. Fairly quick to do it too.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I don't see how people don't know that she obviously means the wine bar where she is.

I'm no fan of her and the shenanigans but Piglet is the place where she is.

Most people wouldn't have heard of it. I know I haven't.

Similarly, it seems that the McCanns in the Merrion were the only people (on the island) that knew the regulations.

I stand humbly corrected, I genuinely thought it was a user name, not the name of a venue, I need to get out more 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Get Real

This is the first thing I thought of. Leo more than happy to release his texts and leave everything at the door of Coveney.

I didn't see Leo releasing his texts when he was caught up in his own leaking scandal.

It's not so much being transparent, as washing your hands and diverting blame away from yourself.

I actually like Coveney and don't know why. But jesus, he's really dug a hole with the hacking excuse.

Won't be able to avoid being asked who he reported it to, did he inform the Gardaí, Tánaiste, Department of Defence or MM. If he didn't do any of those things, and he's using the excuse of national security, he'll fall on that sword by admitting he never informed anyone of a potential breach of national security. Sure, isn't that his reason for deleting messages after all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,480 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Phew! I had no idea it was a venue.

I can stop cringing now. 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,716 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Looks Leo has his knives out for Simon. He is thinking that if Simon goes he will be in the clear and one less major threat to his leadership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Now deleted texts, Coveney has to go

Simon Harris curiously Quite, normally looses the run of himself when a micro phone within a few yards of him 🤔 he's one buffoon I've not missed during the Dail and Political break 😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Shebean

They created a crony position on the tax payers expense and lied about it. Forgetting the Merrion affair for the moment, that's some pretty serious stuff, I know not when FG do it, but it really is. Coveney may have broken the law deleting his texts. We could see a FG with the top two under criminal investigation, again it's FG, so....but it really is a big deal. We already allowed the bar be lowered for Varadkar's leaking. How low is too low, when it's another party? Cowen had to resign for avoiding a checkpoint.

Can you clarify what a "nothing burger" is, (I don't watch Nickelodeon) and how it pertains to ministers lying and creating makey-up crony jobs?

Now MM Joining the party, a bit late but intriguing, poor Coveney must be feeling the heat 🤔

I saw him prouncing about on a naval vessel earlier today, I'm sure I wonder did he grab a life jacket before departing 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,651 ✭✭✭jmcc

Perhaps they are astonished at the claims made by Coveney? :)

Regards...jmcc

Regards…jmcc

Seems that Gary Gannon has officially asked about Coveney's claim that his phone was hacked. Wonder if he will get a reply?

Regards...jmcc

Regards…jmcc

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Is a Minister of Defense and Foreign Affairs's phone being hacked not newsworthy?

I don't remember reading about it.

It certainly is but it seems the actual minister didn't think so, let it slip almost as an aside (excuse) at yesterday's grilling.

This doesn't look good for Varadkar and Coveney:

Regards...jmcc

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

You didn't hear about it because it never happened. Coveney started with deleting the text spoof for data space, and then lied to cover that, and it's now spiralled out of control.

(It's the little things that get you caught as they say)

So FG leader is currently under criminal investigation, and the deputy leader has claimed he was hacked and apparently hasn't reported it to the guards.... That's potentially a national security concern if true.

Can they even be trusted with phones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 rocjohn

Coveney directed members of the ARW to Afghanistan along with officers from Foreign Affairs.

He has not said who hacked his phone so presumably he does nt know their identity.

If he used his phone to communicate with any of ARW or FA people when on operation in Kabul he has ,in essence placed the lives of Irish Servicemen in additional danger.

If a serviceman died in such circumstances due to information gleaned from phone hacking and someone higher up in the military chain of command was the culprit it would necessarily be a court martial offence.

Coveney is Minister for Defence ,so why is the standard of accountability far lower for him than for those in the military chain of command who he has ordered to conduct a rescue mission in Kabul and who could have lost their lives in such operations .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,480 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Does a hacked phone not stay hacked? Who did he get to unhack it and how did he even know it was hacked? Was it hacked during the Brexit negotiations in which case did the EU Commission know about it?

So many questions to be answered.

This is Leo V, with a bit of help from his media friends in the Indo who are more than willing to help out, attempting to undermine and discredit his biggest rival within the party for any future leadership within FG.

Imagine a guy trying to use his relationship with elements of the Irish media to damage Simon C so to improve his standing and reputation within the party and the public at large.

That to me is a sign of a power grab. This is extremely dangerous territory for politics here. Leo V already has a criminal investigation against leaking a confidential document to another person. As someone said here earlier, it’s a pity that he wasn’t so forthcoming with such txts and messages when the whole “LeoTheLeak” fiasco and indeed the apt of Seamus Woulfe to the court of Justice episodes came into the public and political domain. Don’t forget his attendance at the Merrion bash too. And add the humiliating defeat in the DBS By Election.

He knows that his popularity is slipping along with his party. He saw an opportunity with Zapponegate to use it as an attempt to score points on Simon C and used the Indo and his links there with the paper, to portray SC as a liar and not trustworthy.

The Tanaiste is playing a very cute game, it’s cynical and outright dirty, but knows that it can hurt and potentially be fatal for Simon C’s standing within FG and the wider public.

I despise Leo V and FG full stop. But in fairness this is making for really good Hollywood style movie. It will be very interesting how all this will play out in the coming days ahead.

And with party colleague Charlie Flanagan now writing to Simon C, about inaccuracies in his appearance at the Foreign Affairs committee yesterday, there is plenty of life left in this story to come.

Even Leo's own backers must be a bit unimpressed by the way he has thrown Coveney under the bus. I wonder how his criminal investigation is going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Yeah, looks like it. I cant see how he recovers from this to be honest, .....

Wouldn't it be fcukin hilarious though, if he lobbed a grenade in before shuffling off by leaking to the media who was in the Merrion hotel with Varadkar, and also dropping Leo in it if he's any information that *coughs* "might help detective's with their criminal enquiries" about Leo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Is this a Machiavellian move by Leo, to finally vanquish his old rival even if he gets burnt himself?

image (1).jpg

Unimpressed? Leo has always only been out for himself.