Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2021 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,588 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

It's odd though how teams like Clare had Covid cases this year and little or no contacts but Tyrone had loads.

The whole contacts thing is open to abuse at both ends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Tyrone look a serious outfit particularly under the new management. They've moved with the times and seem to know what they are at.

Its going to be a great final, very tight imo, with no more than a couple of points between the teams at the end. Both have serious benches particularly forwards.

Mayo's big hope is Tyrone will be tired and have a few niggles.

But what Mayo people must not do is write off Tyrone or have them down as underdogs as Tyrone love being underdogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭Call me Al

It doesn't mean isolation if they were vaccinated.

The attitude towards which being the the issue many had with Tyrone mgmt.

The whole funding thing in GAA is a mess and is probably the number one reason why there is a huge gap between the big and small counties. There is no hope of an AIG or Kerrygold type company stepping in to fund Leitrim, Carlow, Wicklow etc. And their other means of funding such as GDF will always be limited.

Pooled funding including sponsorship is the way to go.

Decades ago, teams had roughly equal funding, but once big sponsorship and all that came in, the gap grew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Yeah pooled funding is needed to make it fairer for everyone.

Also the GAA needs to stop giving the most dominant County with the most resources and advantages the most funds.

Particularly in hurling. I get it the save Dublin hurling fund did a good job and the Dublin hurlers were not a dominant team. But what about other leinster hurling counties. Where's the millions for meath, Kildare, wicklow, offaly, carlow, Louth hurling?

Mayo hurling, armagh, down, antrim and derry. It's about fairness and doing what's right. Not trying to create a lob sided championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,714 ✭✭✭robbiezero

I'd say Peter Keanes goose is well cooked at this stage. Last year v Cork was an absolute disaster, that performance yesterday wasn't much better. Whatever happens in the AI, Mayo and Tyrone with young coming teams .will likely be even stronger next year, I expect the Dubs to come back with all guns blazing too, they are far from finished with some of the players they have. If I was a Kerry fan, I certainly would be looking for a management change going into next year.

The tactics of carrying the ball into Tyrone time and time again yesterday were just appalling. If any of the recent AI winning Dublin teams had been given as much of a platform as Kerry got from kickouts, they would have won that game with at least 10 points to spare.

Its hard to think of any alternative managers for Kerry though. I'm not from Kerry so don't know the scene down there.

The day of Kerry showing up, playing a bit of football, and beating everyone are long gone. That might still work in Munster but outside of that, you need a bit more to you such as good S&C, good tactics, good pressing, a rounded team and so on.

Probably Eamon Fitzmaurice will be mentioned but I remember Kerry supporters being frustrated with him too and his tactics and substitutions or lack of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭External Association

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,567 ✭✭✭dobman88

Jaysus, I've seen some things posted since Sunday but this just has to be a wind up. 2 proven failures being mentioned for a Kerry job. Sugrue just stood down after losing to Galway in the 2020 All Ireland semi final, having previously managed Laois and did nothing there either.

Quirke left Laois and the footballers in tatters.

They shouldn't be even mentioned for the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

100% laois are probably the worst county team in Ireland at the moment certainly outside of division 4 they are anyway the clowns responsible for that shouldn't be let next nor near the Kerry job. I was astounded by how bad they were vs Kildare in the league and Westmeath in the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭maestroamado

You were watching a different game than i was. Dublin were good in the first half and gave away the ball several times in the second half when under no preasure just kicking the ball to opposing player. I cannot figure it out.

Anyway once Mayo get and win a final i be happy for Mayo people. I was at too many finals that they should have won and left it behind them...

They are only just barely underdogs. 5/4 in some places. Its little more than a 50/50 game really. I can't see Mayo having any complacency whatsoever. This would be no shock result if Tyrone win it.

The biggest issue for Mayo is that the pressure on them will be huge. The perceived first and second team in the country out of the equation, people will see it as one of the best chances they have ever had of breaking their duck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Have to respectfully disagree, if you take out Spillanes mannerisms and the way he speaks and actually listen to the words coming out of his mouth! He was talking sense.

I thought it was SC that let himself down, he was clearly all riled up and didn't wait a single minute to start pushing the victim card, Which is a card that even allot of the tyrone plp(from talking to supporters after the match) are getting tired of.

I dont mind abit of an auld heated conversation between the panelists tbh. Without it we just have an hour of them telling us what we already know.

Were Laois not going well up to Sugrue suddenly quitting?

I have no clue myself either, but I can't see them winning an AI under Peter Keane next year. Return of the "Super 8s" will help their cause you would imagine, but they still look to be a bit short of what would be required to win an AI, both on the pitch and sideline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,518 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Heard it all before Robbie, But there is definitely an air of 'we beat Dublin, all we have to do is play 80 minutes and the All Ireland is ours' about the place. Now with Kerry gone I think that will be a growing feeling rather than a dissipating one.

Even though I'll be shouting for the Ulster team, I won't begrudge Mayo a title one little bit btw.

Ugh I forgot about the super 8s. Such an absolute bore stopping a knockout championship for a group stage in the middle of a tournament

Where are you hearing that? I suspect you've not spoken to anyone from mayo and are just making that up because that's certainly not the mayo man's opinion. It's true Tyrone offer a completely set of challenges to mayo than Kerry but it's not any bit easier.

I think Donnie Buckley was a huge loss for Kerry as he was for Mayo. Widely credited with turning Mayo into AI contenders every year and it took them a while to bounce back once he left. Same with Kerry. Possibly worth a try for Kerry for a year and if it doesn't work out look somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,567 ✭✭✭dobman88

Tbf to him, he got 2 promotions and a Leinster final appearance so my previous comment on him "doing nothing" is quite harsh so I'll take it back. But in all fairness, Laois going well and delivering an All Irleand for a county who have notions of winning it every year are a world apart.

Definitely not missing the super 8s this year and I'm sure the players aren't either. It would be great to see the "covid" format kept and a secondary competition for those knocked out along the way. The Super 8s were tried and they weren't the success some people thought they would be, myself included.

Not so much 'hearing it' as feeling it in the nature of the we 'won something' celebrations on beating Dublin.

Mayo are as far away from an All Ireland as ever - they have so far, won zilch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭john9876

Yeah, I think he did well with Lapis. I'm sure someone will come along with the stats. Mind you it would be a challenge coaching Kerry if he lives in Laois.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

Yeah the super 8's were a disaster we need to go back to quarter finals always a much bigger matchday feel about them them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

We know we have won zilch, everyone in the **** county knows we have won zilch.

We beat a Dublin team who were 6 up at the break, with a referee who allowed them to do as they physically wished after years of heartache against that fantastic team (best team ever).

Sorry but your 'feeling' is shite.

Edit: If I can add to the above, if we lose to Tyrone (which is completely possible) it will have absolutely nothing to do with any celebrations after beating Dublin nor over-confidence on the players part. Mayo vs Tyrone is a coin toss.

If we lose we'll survive, we are well used to it at this stage. If we win...

We are just giving our opinions. No need to get so rattled.

From the outside looking in, there was a bang of 'we have won the All Ireland' off the celebrations.

Delighted that you have subdued that, because it is necessary for you to do that, given what is in front of you.

"If we win"

I'm picturing the "No prisoners" scene from the end of Laurence Of Arabia given all the slagging ye have had to endure over the years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I think the Mayo greater pace, youth, intensity and fearlessness forced Dublin into those mistakes. My impression is with this Mayo squad mindset is different. Plus with Mayo having a calm\experineced\asute Horan on their side I think it gives Mayo the edge. My only worry for Mayo is if the game is tight in the closing stages, the enormity of the game for Mayo means they tighten up. If Mayo do lose I hope it is not in that manner.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

You must be great craic to sit beside at games?

High on vendettas and agendas, low on substance. Worst still you are real glass half full merchant. 'Ah won't last will get worse'.

I mean know the Royals are battle scarred after years of trauma and mismanagement from County Board level. But jayus, from the sound of you are hoping the AIF Final is poor just so others can wallow in GAA misery like yourself!?

I remember the days Meath men used to show fight, and balls. You are defeatist. The Meath ladies have more balls than the Meath men ATM.

I am looking forwards to both finals Men's and Ladies. But there are always GAA misery guts looking for a whinge unfortunately. Looking for excuses. Although you are in good company judging by Pat's rant on telly.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.