Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The wondrous adventures of Sinn Fein (part 3) Mod Notes and Threadbanned List in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭mikethecop

whos complaining ,? i m pointing out that posters here claiming that the sf that exists today is the same one that existed in 1905,

that is not true , its as been proven as not true , there fore to state is a a fact is actually a lie ,

if that makes you uncomfortable it should

Except it is the same party?

How is it in same premises and same name

Do you not feel.an inability to tackle.this rather glaring hole in your position...makes it seem.illogical??

which insults blazz ?

calling you people on the lies making you uncomfortable , as it should

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,602 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I studied this period for a history module way back.

I remember being struck at the time that it was a fairly sleeveen attempt to finish off SF for once and for all.

The FG Hayes practically says it in that Dàil debate. It was also evident in other reading. Civil War politics in full flow with history re-writing, track covering all going on.

P.S. i will add too, that like now Separation of Powers was far from distinct. This state has never quite managed that convincingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Sticking to a single particular "core principle" when you split from the main party does not give you the right to claim unbroken succession. It is quite sad to see claims that SF go back to 1905. It smacks of desperation for legitimacy, as if the current stature isn't enough.

And it smacks of desperation to be the good terrorists to try and dispute it.

The best that can be said is whole era is clouded in jockeying to be the 'legitimate party'.

We have after all been listening to this since the state was founded. How funny that those who fought so hard to be distinct are now coalescing to keep out the one they tried to get rid of.

what do you think happened in january 1070 and why ?

Except they are the same party....but who needs facts and logic i guess

Do you goys not feel silly,when yous cant explain how they operate outta same premises and same name as 1920s and then trying to claim em different......wee bit like when yous tried to gaslight country into thinking black&tans (and auxies)werent in the ric,despite being sworn in as constables🤔

Yous going about screaming delusional at anyone whom dare qs yous,or point out the obvious holes in yous talking point

😂😂😂 no answer when your lies falls apart

remember what i said about a pattern emerging ?

you've repeatability proven that you dont blazz

I believe the leadership,didnt get votes required to carry a motion on abstenion and tried pull a quick one......resulting in majority membership,reasserting and reconstiruong

Quite how you goys think a majority.membership,operating outta same premises with 100 years and under same name is somehow different is utterly bizzare

Except i have exposed yous lies and fantasy repeatdely with facts and logic.....while yous position is exposed as shallow and conceited....

same as yous concern for disappeared,went v.silent on concerns when it pointed out garda special branch files is a worthy source to invesrigate for locating remains......i believe the phrase for such shallow conceitedness is 'woke'

aw so you dont understand the situation in even the most simple way thats very very clear

what with calling every one who makes you look silly goy btw ? is that and effort at trying to make yourself feel superior or what ?

Except i do.....this is a wee bit like when yous accused me of lying earlier to cover fact you were getting yous arse handed to you,with facts and logic and starting screaming abuse,when pulled up on it

What do you feel is incorrect?

aw but you haven't because its not true blazz , thinking your right doesn't make it so , its like shouting peaceful protest as you throw rocks at the police , do you understand ?

your lying again about what i said about those murdered by the ira

read back and see any investigation would be welcomed and those who have relevant information should be compelled including members of sf , i was very clear about that but you ignored it for your own reasons

So we take this as you will join calls for garda special branch files to be opened to glean from them any possible relevent data

Should the officers,whom overseen macstoifin as an imformer face sanction for letting killings go on,on their watch though?? (If still alive?)

should whomever was minister of justice at time be called to answer qs at any future inquiry,if still alive?

as i ve said multiple times already yes of course you keep ignoring that , every one with information ,including sf members dont you agree ?

so whats with the goys thing its weird ?

We have seen the history of the UK being rewritten as their colonies grow in confidence and independence. The colonised are now telling their histories and that is undermining what Britons have thought of themselves.

Similarly here, the history of the state has a power swap slant. The 'true' agreed history will not be written until we are united and all equal.

I don't expect it to be the history we are told today.

P.S. That does NOT mean that the Shinners will emerge as heroes of the piece, before posters saddle up the high horses of indignation. 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

"A split in January 1970, mirroring a split in the IRA, led to the emergence of two groups calling themselves Sinn Féin. One, under the continued leadership of Tomás Mac Giolla, became known as "Sinn Féin (Gardiner Place)", or "Official Sinn Féin"; the other, led by Ruairí Ó Brádaigh, became known as "Sinn Féin (Kevin Street)", or "Provisional Sinn Féin". As the "Officials" dropped all mention of Sinn Féin from their name in 1982–instead calling themselves the Workers' Party of Ireland–the term "Provisional Sinn Féin" has fallen out of use, and the party is now known simply as "Sinn Féin".

So, still Provisional Sinn Fein?

Cathal Goulding called the MacStiofan's splitters the 'Provisional Alliance' and the press abbreviated it to identify the two factions. The IRA also split the year before and were referred to as the Provisionals or Provo's to distinguish them from the Official IRA.

Handy nicknames/monikers that I don't think either refer to themselves as. (maybe they do now because of familiarity and length of use.

Know your history mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,335 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Lot of anger here……

who was the lad who said ‘History is bunk’ Harry Ford was it?

Lad had a point…..only used for deflection and freeloading in the real world.

we need to get back onto the real subject-the present.

Yes Brendi, actual history would tell you that is not what Ford said at all, a journalist cleaned up what Ford ACUALLY said.

History can be altered/slanted/or damn right lied about and is usually written by the victors or those in power. It's never clear and clean when you dig down into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭dudley72

So SF still desperately trying to link themselves to the original Sinn Fein :-)

Even a court of law(excellent find by the poster I might add) says no link but we still have the discussion ongoing.

People shouting about history, is that real history? or the rubbish that SF are inventing?

The question is still why are they so desperate to ignore their roots and what they stand for? was the noble battle in the North with the PIRA not so noble after all?

I see no broken link back to the origins of the party. (A legal case about money doesn't break the link. Dev outlines what happened to the party pretty clearly in the link I posted and it is clear that while it went into the doldrums, there was still a party there)

To be quite honest with you, it matters not a jot to me if they came up the proverbial canal in a bubble. They are here they have a mandate(the largest one of any party in this state) and some people need to get over that.

The history is interesting though and like all parties of the period murky as hell itself.

I didn't think you would see a broken link but to be honest that means nothing.

Again the question, why are SF so desperate to link themselves to a party from 50-60 year before they got created? the Provisional Sinn fein was created or spilt or whatever to be the political wing of the Provisional IRA. According to SF for the last 30-40 years that was a noble battle for the people of Northern Ireland and was a worthy cause.

Now, they want to dump all that and go back to 1916? why is that?

What?

Who is 'desperate'? Can you link to this 'desperation'?

And is it anymore or less desperate than others linking themselves to the good 'terrorists' of our struggle for independence while trying to exclude the bad 'terrorists'?

'Desperation' is in the eye of the beholder, clearly.

*Once again the fact is dudley72 that SF, 'provisional or otherwise' was not created anew in the 70's, no matter how 'desperate' you are to rewrite factual history.

'Provisional' SF came from a split in the party called SF with a continuous line back to the previous split and so on.

Who started this campaign to get SF linked to the past and not the North? Who is running around boards while all other social media has the same campaign

The answer is Sinn Fein so yes they are desperate, so the question is why? Nobody else came up with it

Why do they want to be no longer linked with the North?

Where did they start this 'campaign'?

Not aware of a campaign on any social media, can you link to it?

Re: 'The North'.

The SF split happened in Dublin...'the Parnell Street branch' and 'the Kevin Street branch', ring any bells?

The modern SF party of Mary Lou/Gerry Adams came from that split. Deny it as much as you want, you won't change the fact.