Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Don't buy in a new estate

Plenty of people who own their own houses don't do upkeep, or turn their gardens into dumps. Happens all the time.

It's lazy stereotyping to presume social housing tenants are like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,531 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I do genuinely enjoy these threads where the folks who are firmly anti social housing or housing assistance and want people to go live where they can afford. These folks , how are they going to get served their poxy latte, or their cold pint. Or their silly fancy wrapz or their crappy deliveroo order. Or their healthcare assistant or their Gaurd dealing with their parking compliant or their teaching assistant for their children or their childcare assistant down their local creche.

It constantly amazes me how people are so utterly self centred and stupid that they can't see past their own front door.

This state was built on socialised housing country wide. We would not be where we are today for the programs of social housing country wide in the 40s 50s 60s and 70s.

What these thickos should be more upset about is housing being bought wholesale by foreign entities for leasing back to private people at a ridiculous premium or back to local authorities at again a ridiculous premium. That's the core to our housing issues.

It is most certainly not providing housing to people on low wages being our core issue today. Get real or else.... Get no services for you . Rant not over.

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭ohnohedidnt

I grew up in socialized housing, the place was a real kip...still is, drugs, crime, regular petrol bombings recently. My parents worked hard to get out of it and we move to our own house, I've had crappy jobs myself, making the lattes and wraps, my job wasn't near my house though, I had to use public transport and even thumb a lift sometimes, it was horrendous, I really should write a book about it. But then I got an education then a professional job, and after working for 13 years bought my own house, a similar story to most people who buy their own house I'd imagine.

If I'd known that I was entitled to live in a houses worth many hundred of thousands of euros, just because I was making the wraps and the lattes for people with professional jobs I would have stayed doing that.

Socialized housing should be stepping stone for people trying to better their lives, handing people houses worth the same as those with high earning jobs and saying it's necessary is a bit of stretch.

Maybe the thickos aren't upset about the foreign investment in Irish housing because that's what was basically supporting the construction industry for so many years when not much else was happening, and in the unlikely event that we ever experience another recession, we might actually need that foreign investment again

• Registered Users Posts: 940 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

Well considering no other country on Earth hands €770,000 homes to people refusing to work, then you must think every other country on the planet is full of "thickos" except the Irish!

The investment companies are buying in private estates too to lease to the Council. They too object to paying 400k for 2 bed apartments when they can pick them up for 250k.

I just checked one apartment which I am very familiar with which was sold in 2018 and it was sold to Davy Platform ICAV, an asset management umbrella fund established to provide Social Housing to local authorities. Source: land registry folio.

So long as the Councils continue to enter multi-decade guaranteed profit agreements with the Residential Property Investment Companies those Companies will continue to outbid working people for homes.

It is Government policy working against the interests of the Public.

But you did know, because you grew up in social housing. You are well aware that you can get housing assistance of you need it or if you are low paid or dont work.

you choose different for yourself. I'm not sure where the jealousy comes from in Irish people for social housing. If it's so great to get a 'free house' then go do it. You know differently, so you choose differently.

Cool story bro,

I also grew up in council housing and we also moved out. The area isn't a kip isn't full of drugs and provided and still provides housing for thousands of working people. From bus drivers to school cleaners .

My grand parents also got social housing in the 50s and same story there.

But it would be the usual speel from the folks like yourself who thing foreign investment is propping up the building industry. It's not. Theyre buying stuff out from under private people. Entire estates being purchased off the plans for rental only. You seem to think that's good. It's evident you don't actually have a grasp of the subject matter.

And all the gribbing in the world about social housing isn't going to fix the market where wealth funds are operating world wide hoovering up housing stock. This isn't an Irish phenomenon it's everywhere. The fact lower income people can't even buy a house if they wanted to is because of this policy which you have an abject hard on for..

Gas, cutting the nose off to spite your face. Maybe we should just put people in camps. Many many camps.

Suggest you do some reading up on whats actually going on in the Irish housing market. Might make your commentary less me feiney and more balanced

Councils are being hampered by having to provide housing and government policies actively working against it.

Net result is the tax payer is robbed blind . The government are the issue here. Other international centres are taking action.

The fact that we are now the highest place in Europe in terms of overall cost of living isn't by accident.

But it's people on the lowest wage that are the issue. Lol.

Well, from experience I can tell you this is a load of bollocks.

I am an owner in an older established private estate where a number of houses over the last 5-10 years have been bought up by the council. Plenty of other renters too, though not sure if they are leased to the council, on HAP with private landlords or whatever. Not that its any of my business.

There have been no increases in my insurance costs. No "greater exposure" to criminal elements or discernable increase in anti-social behaviour and house prices in the area have been going up steadily not down! No problem selling, most go sale agreed within a few days / weeks of the for sale signs going up.

But then, it wouldn't be Boards if there wasn't an ongoing thread bashing social housing and demonising all who qualify for it - working or otherwise. It seems your damned if you do or damned if you don't. If you're an average wage earner that doesn't qualify for a mortgage for a bank, you;re not trying hard enough, apparently.

Personally, I think they should bring back the Shared Ownership Scheme. I wonder how those who bash everyone who qualifies for a place on the housing list simply because they don't earn enough, would cope with the idea of homes half privately owned and half council rented.

• Registered Users Posts: 298 ✭✭Jmc25

The situation is a real mess and the way social housing is currently being provided shows the lack of joined up thinking on housing across government.

The state needs to provide social housing. It has needed to do that since it's foundation and will continue to need to do that. As a society we benefit from social housing.

But while historically the state has added to the housing supply by building houses directly, at the moment they are simply competing with potential purchasers for a bigger slice of the same supply.

This leads to justified outrage - "I've just been outbid by the council!!", "I've spent 400k on a new house and I live in a council estate". "This guy who never worked a day in his life just got a house in Rathmines and I can't afford to safe for a deposit because my rent is too high".

What an out and out mess.

Loueze hasn't figured out that their offspring won't be able to afford to purchase on the private market when the time comes to fly the nest.

Corporations plan in decades, not months or years.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,690 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

Developers are not forced to sell cheaply, Part V purchases are supposed to be at cost but that is difficult to determine and the developer always does a bit better than that.

The idea that developers would drop prices on the remaining units if they weren't required to sell units to the Local Authority is naive in the extreme. They will always sell at the highest price they can, nothing to do with Part V.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

I don't think you really grasp what social housing is.

In a way many of us benefit from people in social housing - care staff in particular, people in necessary but low skilled jobs - cleaning staff, manufacturing staff, some retail staff and many other sectors.

They will not travel from westmeath to Dublin for €11/hour.

Many in social housing work, but their earning power simply would not allow them to live in or near the areas they work. Current maximum net income limit in Dublin is about €36,000 to qualify and you would pay rent.

Now, I personally think there should be size limits on social housing at 100sqm and 3 bedrooms and only in certain cases it should be 4 bedrooms. And I also think that there should not be social housing within high end estates as the money spent on some houses could buy 2 or 3 houses elsewhere, but i simply don't buy the scaremongering "houses will lose value" statements

Link to the article on the homes being leased at Beachpark for social housing. 1 and 2 bedroom apartments.

No €770k houses involved.

Cool the jets.

Name all the bad estates in the country.

Now divide them into two sides, the private and the social.

Which one is full and which one is empty?

They remain in the estate that people have paid 770 though so the knock on effect remains to those that paid that amount regardless

lol. Have you seen her posts? Social housing all the way. Loueze thinks you should never have to work for anything (and in this country, she's right).

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭enricoh

Eh , who are the foreign funds buying all the houses renting them out to ? Oh yeah- the councils . Maybe do a bit of reading up yourself.

The confusion you're having, is that people in social housing who go to work are not the problem. Nobody has any issue with a couple on a low income getting a house. People DO have issue with Scummy McKnackbag who has a conviction list the length of his arm and was in court only last week, getting a new 3 bed semi D handed to him.

Mary and John working in Tesco full time serving sandwiches might never make enough money to buy a house of their own, and the state stepping in to provide something decent there is not on anyone's radar as an issue, at all. However, there should be a realistic limit to what they're given. The value of a social house should be capped. Social housing does not belong in affluent areas. Decent, safe areas, yes, but places that house people who have worked very hard to get a high quality place, and paid a lot of money privately for the privilege, no.

The real problem with social housing is that crime is disproportionately committed by people in social housing. Anti social behaviour is disproportionately prevalent in social housing estates. All the nuisances of the day, are generally from social housing. Scramblers, loud music, litter, graffiti, etc. are all much more common in social housing.

This wouldn't be an issue if the Councils/Gardai tackled it, but they never do, which is another reason why no one wants to be anywhere near a social housing tenant - if you get lumped in next to a bad one, your property is worth nothing overnight, and there's absolutely nothing that will be done about your quality of life going to pieces.

There's a multi-generational drug-dealing, never-working family near me, and i seen on facebook the other day that one of this family, and their friend, are both after being given new houses in a development much nicer than where they currently live (they've ruined the area). They're both younger than me (neither have hit 30) and they now both have their own houses, which they will use to torment their paying neighbours, and they both never worked an honest day in their life. I know lots of people working full time jobs that will be probably 40 by the time they scrape enough together for a deposit. It's completely unfair.

That's the issue with social housing. If the requirements to be eligible for social housing were that you had to have an income from employment, and could have no criminal convictions, then nobody would care about it.

Typical Irish begrudery.

if social housing is so great, off ye go and live in it.

not working is so great? Then off to the dole with ya!

the jealousy about social housing is unbelievable, like I said, if ye are jealous, off you go and join it.

stereotypical lazy attitudes of social tenants being criminals is just more of it. Anecdotal examples can work both ways. My neighbour, second generation to live in his private house, drives everyone mad. Doesn't care what the neighbours think of the state of his house, the loud parties etc etc.

My friend lives in a terrace, one side, parties all weekend long, strange people coming and going at all hours of the day and night. The other side? Lovely single female, until her ex prisoner brother moved in, smoking dope, blaring music, having all sorts of visitors at all hours.

There are many houses bought around the area by the council, lots of people rent, privately or on HAP. Houses are still expensive, ridiculously so, and they go sale agreed in days. There are no social housing tenants having any affect on the asking prices of houses.

I'm unsure why you comment on these things with gusto especially when you barely bother your arse reading up or knowing what's going on in the country.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/maynooth-will-be-remembered-as-symbol-of-absolutely-failing-housing-policy-1.4566842

Yes, thats why I've worked for over 30 years in the same job that I've had since I was 17 and bought my own home.

Jesus wept.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭enricoh

So these funds aren't renting these to the councils? Keep dreaming- who else are gonna pay 2k + a month for them?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

But because the council are out bidding everyone in the Dublin area many working and looking to buy themselves will have massive commutes.

I do not blame those housed in social housing. I blame the government and the media.

Because some people have pride and dignity and don't want to be the bottom of the barrel.

And I'm just finished my internship on the moon.

So, why would you or anyone be jealous of those people you consider to be 'bottom of the barrel '

which btw, is a disgusting attitude to have about people.

The whole point of the housing market is to choose where you live and therefore who lives next door. It’s why people spend millions in Dalkey to stay away from the kind of people who can only spend the guts if 1/2M Euro on a mortgaged property in an estate.