Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2021 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,770 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Were the Galway players threatening his kids too when he started a melee going down the tunnel and into the dressing room ? :) btw it’s on YouTube too... ;)

Nobody threatened his kids you are searching for excuses :) He’s just not a very ‘sporting’ individual.. that’s the diplomatic way of putting it anyway.

i know people from various parts of the country whom I’ve spoken to and would be generally neutrals or close to it watching an AI final not involving their team but they’ll all be Kerry fans as will a lot of us.. not gonna be supporting that craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Dave0301

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

For every Mayo infraction you give you can find 10 fold that have been carried out by Dublin players. You honestly come off as such a sore loser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Enquiring

Hmmmm I'm not sure if threatening kids lives along with biting, eye gouging etc. will get many plaudits from any county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Green Peter

Be careful you can't say anything bad about Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Agreed. Players and fans alike are totally entitled to enjoy the days following a huge win like that. And it was a huge win. Dublin are the only team they really haven't beaten, they're the one team that have stood in the way of them winning an All Ireland and often did it by the finest of margins. Their encounters against them over the last decade have been physically and emotionally intense. It was also the manner of the win - the comeback, extra time, the bruising nature of it all. Of course there was going to be an outpouring of emotion whenever they finally got over them. I'd be more shocked if there wasn't.

It's a month to the final anyway. That's plenty of time to go and regroup and focus on what's ahead. It's such a joyless way of approaching these games to tut tut at players who actually show a bit of emotion in the wake of a massive victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

You can hand in your passport and your coddle recipe handbook when you get a chance.

I invented the coddle recipe handbook !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,924 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

At the game i did say to my mate after a bit that i wished they would just get off the pitch but in retrospect it was an absolute huge moment for them, and for the older players far from it being an end in itself i think it might be just the thing to spur them on, theyre not kids, they know the score. As for the greatest day of my life comment, its O Hora, in his second year on the panel at age 27/28? Im sure he must have thought days like these had passed him by

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

The bigger gap to the final has been cited, by some, as a drawback for Mayo. I couldn't disagree more tbh. It gives the players ample opportunity to come down and get back up again. If there were a 2 week break, i'd fancy Mayo wouldn't do themselves justice in the final.

I agree the outpouring was perfectly understandable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,657 ✭✭✭Blackjack

That game was his 3rd championship start, with the other 2 coming vs Galway and Leitrim this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

You're on fire today, fair play to you. Running on to the pitch after full time pushing and shoving counts as attacking players. Smashing someone's jaw in on the blind side, elbows to the neck, punches to the jaw (*2) and then dragging someone to ground by the neck is all fine.

Hopefully the Dublin team feel the referee robbed them like you appear to believe.

Stuff happens in the heat of play, IN play, that said I see you don’t have an issue with high and late tackles around the head and neck by Mayo lads... nor rugby tackling ad nauseam, lying on the ball when a free is given against them, booting balls away when it’s a Dublin line ball or free nor a player running onto the pitch attacking opposition players, after the whistle ... sure only a bit of pushing sure he’s a real barometer of class.. :) as for the rest... :)

simply why id prefer to see footballers ie. Kerry win.

In play? The ball was not in play when McCarthy threw an elbow back.

Which high late tackles are you on about by mayo lads? He shouldn't have come on the pitch pushing and shoving. Clearly it wasn't going to help or solve the situation. However there was never going to be any serious injuries as a result.

Back been the key word most players are of the want and desire to leave a football field with all of their teeth..

several drag backs and tugging Dublin lads to the floor, but sure grand they just want to win Sam :)

as long as there were no serious injuries as a result they might as well have emptied the bench. Let them all at it.

Eoghan McLaughlin didn't leave the ground with all his teeth.

So you've no examples of high late tackles by Mayo players? What drag backs are you talking about?

I already said he shouldn't have come onto the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Embarrassing. Their All-Ireland. They never had a problem winning semi-finals, but finals. Should have shook hands and left the field. County with a soft underbelly. They'll be walloped by Kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Diarmuid's high clothesline tackle was dangerous.

Kevin Mc's failure to let the ball go.

Nonsense.

They are after defeating the 6 in a row All Ireland champions.

A county that has been their arch nemesis for nigh on 10 years ( locking the door to All Ireland success on a regular basis ).

So forgive me if there is an outbreak of emotion.

We're quite aware of semi final/final records.

If we lose on September 11th it'll have diddly squat to do with the few minutes post the semi final.

4 weeks is ample time to focus on the significant task at hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,742 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

You just know people are only waiting to trot out "I knew they celebrated too much after beating Dublin"

Armchair stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,197 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Would you explain what you mean by Kevin Mc failure to meet the ball go

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Free given against him for steps, he didn't release the ball then. Ref brought it forward.

However, when you weigh it up against some other examples it was easily one of the wost transgressions that occurred - possibly ever - and an obvious example (1 of 2) that shows how in favor of Mayo the ref was...

Can't recall the exact moment but he held onto the ball on the ground ( failing to release it ) after he awarded Dublin a free,allowing Mayo to reset their defence.

Diarmuid got a yellow card for that, unlike all the other stuff which went unpunished. It was nothing like a clothesline either

Every team in the country try's to delay giving possession back to the opposition to prevent a fast free being taken. I think I have even see Dublin players do it.

Dublin got away with three red card offences, one of them was one of the most dangerous tackles I have ever seen so it being petty comparing anything else in that game to what Dublin players were not carded for.

Over the years we have seen incident where Dublin got away with fouls which directly changed the game. It's always covered up in the media as if it has no impact on the result. If Basquel has scored that goal the Small challenge would have been declared as having no impact in the game. But it would have as we can see by Basquel's failure to score the goal. Refs really need to stop giving Dublin the benefit of the doubt on dodgy tackles

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,657 ✭✭✭Blackjack

so anyone got any thoughts on the Kerry Tyrone game?.

I expect it to be a very close match. Tyrone will be smarting over the hiding in Killarney in the league semi-final. As well Tyrone may have 1-2 injured players back that would have been injured if played 2 weeks ago.

Kerry have 5 weeks without a match trying to remain in there cocoon. Tyrone have an advantage not in that after the outbreak they have little risk of a further outbreak. Kerry could at any stage run the risk of a few players having to isolate. The GAA will not reschedule a game for less than 5-6 players not being available due to COVID.

Tyrone's has everything on there side now

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭flasher0030

It's almost a week ago Strumms. Surely, the bitterness has to have mellowed by now. If not, I suggest you seek out a bit of counselling. I'm sure it was lovely to be celebrating for all of those years. But when your team is on the end of one loss, you need to be able to accept it with dignity. That team will bounce back very quickly.

You're living in fairyland. We can understand how you might form opinions in the heat of the game or shortly afterwards. But when the dust settles, and analysis done based on multiple viewings and slow motions etc. you can read all about the Dublin player's poor behaviour last Saturday. You had a couple of Dubs looking for their 5 minutes of fame coming out and defending the players - churning out the "it's a physical sport" nonsense. But almost every other analyst, commentator etc. condemned the over the top actions by the players. How can you keep defending it? Have you been reading anything about the match in the past week. Or looking at any podcasts. If you want a little entertainment, have a look at pillar caffrey having a go at defending it. Wasn't good for his bloodpressure.

I know I am wasting my time, but I still need to pull you up on a couple of misdemeanors that you have thrown out-

• You were on about a Mayo player holding on to the ball. Was that not the same for Comerford - caught over-travelling, held on and got punished by ref bringing the ball forward. You can correct me if I am wrong on that comparison.
    • You defend the Dublin rubbish by saying things happen IN play. James McCarthy swing round into the face of Diarmuid O'Connor was not in play. John Small elbowing Ryan O'Donohue was not in play. Both were strikes off the ball, not in play. What's your thoughts on that. Do you think they both should have been red cards.

Who you support in the final will not have any relevance to who wins the final. And will have even less relevance to any Mayo fans. So, knock yourself out - throw on the green and gold jersey, head down to the Tralee for All Ireland weekend and you can muck in with the Kerry bucks down there, and talk about how great Paidi and Micko were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,527 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

They may have 'everything on their side' but I still can't see past Kerry in this one based on how each has played this year. I will be shouting for the Ulster team but I fear it will be another healthy win for the Munster side.

Sticking to my prediction that this is Kerry's year even though I thought they'd be playing Dublin in the final.