Katherine Zappone Envoy Gig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,767 ✭✭✭whippet

so what happens when 'the list' is finalised?

What is the next step ? i'm interested in hearing what you'd like to see as an end game here

Essentially it has....under OFAS you can be infered guilty by refusal to answer qs

what has that got to do with responding to someone on twitter ?

So if someone asked me was I at the Merrion and I don't respond - despite being in outer Mongolia that evening are you saying that I would be guilty of something or other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭dudley72

I think you need to do a little bit of research.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Shebean

You and one or two others are working very hard to try get us to believe this is a non story and we should forget about it, and there's only a handful interested and many of them trolls.

Why? Why the interest? Seems like FF/FG supporters trying to deflect and defend, or why?

TD's are our employees. When they act in any interest other than ours they will receive criticism.

At worse it's spamming. Certainly not abuse in any serious manner. I'll take it Chambers was there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Well in Baciks case, I'd say it's more or less already "end game", think she'll find it quite difficult convincing the electorate in Dublin Bay South a second time that she's any different to the rest, she managed to hoodwink last time. She was only through the door a wet week before she showed she was no different to the others with their snouts in the trough site claimed to be different to.

As for the others, they'll also have to face the electorate within their own constituencies when the time comes, and explain to them why they thought, it ok to attend a private event, that as far as almost everyone, including Failte Ireland, and the drinks and hospitality industry was actually technically illegal at the time.

Only God (and voters from their own constituency) can judge them in the end.

I'm simply an onlooker who's enjoying the entertainment. (Need to check the list again, but I think all the politicians from my constituency are home and dry, saying they didn't attend)

Bigger issue, every TD comes back and says they didn't attend. As we can see already some people are already saying they don't believe only two TD's attended. So do they go back around bombarding everyone again?

Except i have never claimed it is?

But by irish law,approved annually by ffg,guilt can be infered refusal to answer qs....seems only fair to hold em to same standred as they vote others be held to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭mariab21

You think a TD who did attend will tell the electorate a lie that they didnt attend when in all likely the names of who was there will come out in the end. Political suicide that would be

TD's are entitled to a personal life like every other employee. You seem to think you should be able to know details about a person personal life. Maybe you should try living your own life and stop worrying about what a TD is doing in their personal life.

In regards to the comment about only a handful of trolls. I suggest you review twitter, the majority of people are telling people to cop on, not the other way around.

It's a personal event. Nothing to do withe their job. In reality they should tell everyone to f**k right off. You would find a lot of people would stand right behind them

It's time people stood up to these online trolls

Let me get this straight, you're suggesting a political figure will publicly state they didn't attend something, if in fact that happened to be untrue, knowing the lie will undoubtedly be exposed eventually, and also that PAC are about to look into it?

This is more politically naive than yesterday when you thought Killian Foley-Walsh was just some "kid who admitted to supporting Fine Gael"

bingo !!! you've just admitted to not understanding what online abuse actually is (Spamming - read up on the difference between spamming and abuse)

And you are assuming someone is guilty based of a twitter pile on !!!!

Remember the PE teachers who were mistakenly accused of being perverts and the pile on that the likes of Hazel Chu got involved in ? ... well ... those PE teachers were assumed guilty by virtue of the twitter pile on and subsequent abuse.

So ... now you have admitted to approving of this type of behavior and as such your opinions should be treated accordingly

what trough did they have their snout in ? going to dinner with workmates paid for from personal finances ... go on ... tell me more about this trough that was in the merrion ?

Or are you just throwing out clichés ?

no it won't be political suicide - the vast majority of the electorate don't care who was there and it won't influence their voting preferences in the next election.

It obviously riles you up .. which is your right .. but you can be certain that it won't have any material effect on those who were in attendance.

I couldn't give a shite who went. The TDs i voted for never attended

I know many business owners of pubs etc who are raging over it as they were told these type events were not allowed while the Merrion knew different.

The majority of TDs think it was a question that needed answered,

Im enjoying the panic from FF and FG supporters more than anything

You seem to have missed a very important part of my post, I'd take a guess intentionally so, because it's an awkward point.

Fifty of them had snouts in a trough, when so far as the public, Failte Ireland, and the whole hospitality sector were aware, fifty snouts weren't allowed to gather together again at venues - that "trough" whippet. That trough.

As I said, the ones that will eventually be smoked out as to having little regards to the laws and guidelines the rest of us were supposed to be following at the time, will have to explain to the electorate within their own constituency why they did so.

Leo, didn't even know it was technically legal himself apparently. No point you trying to convince me he did either, otherwise he'd not have had to check with the Merrion.

Once again, I'm only a member of the public enjoying the entertainment. I don't know what's more entertaining, the thoughts of those who know they're about to have the spotlight on them, or those in this thread trying to hand wave it all away.

Gas. 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭MBE220d

It just goes to show the state of journalists in this country, why are they not asking the questions, oh wait they don't want to upset their future employers.

i'm no FF or FG supporter - so yet another assumption on your part.

I just hate virtue signaling and the trend of social media pile on.

But as you've shown - you'll believe what you want - so i'll leave it at that.

Why do you think anyone is in panic? if I was in Jacks area and he came out and said he went I wouldn't care. It is his personal life.

You don't seem to understand this, I have a problem with online trolls going after TD's, create strange spreadsheet and thinking they are entitled to know about any TD's personal life. I include all TD's in that. I have said the same about Ivana who has nothing to do with FF or FG.

If it is a nothing story, why has Leo being hiding from the media since his car crash interview on the news almost 3 weeks ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,366 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

People are entitled to know if their TD or a TD 'let their guard down' as the Leader of FG and Tanaiste clearly thinks he did.

It's a suitability for office consideration in the next election.

I certainly want to know if my TD is 'letting their guard down' or doing things that they have to apologise for like Ivana and Leo.

I have no time what so ever for Leo - I think he is a clown who's default position is to run for cover and have others making excuses for himself. I think the government is probably the most dysfunctional government we have apart from the madness of the shuffling at the end of Cowan's reign.

This government is crippled by it's own building blocks - it's incapable of making a decisive decision and it can not communicate anything with any clarity.

However - can you tell me what this trough at the merrion was filled with .... people having dinner with work mates is not out of the ordinary. The event wasn't funded by the public purse .... ... the assumption that people who have been elected can't socialise with other elected officials seems to be your belief.

As I pointed out already, the majority on people are telling these trolls to cop on and stop. Why would journalist go against the majority?

A journalist should be writing a story on the lack of action taken against these trolls.

Well a certain journalist from the examiner has said if she gets the names she will publish them.

They sure are. Commenting on a politician's twitter account isn't bothering them on the toilet. Context Dudley. You're losing the run of yourself.

You never answered, why are you working so hard to try close down this story by insulting commentators? Are you defending FF/FG or why are you?