Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2021 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Thunderbirds

Lane got most of the big calls wrong in favour of Dublin. As for as bad a performance. Cormac O Reilly at the expense of Mayo in Limerick in an All Ireland semi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,525 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

That's exactly what happened yesterday. Even the commentators thought the red was coming. But yer man knew exactly what he was doing and that he could take another dig.

Makes zero sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,770 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

He didn’t quite simply... he did nothing to deal with Mayo lads diving, he did nothing to deal when frees awarded to Dublin or sideline balls, Mayo players booting the ball away to waste time repeatedly , he did nothing to deter Mayo players from lying on the ground on top of the ball unwilling to release it when a free was awarded to Dublin or at times even Mayo, did nothing or little when Mayo lads tried to stop Dublin taking quick frees. towards the end Mayo lads falling over hardly touched, Lane awards a free to them.

Quite simply Lane wasn’t on top of things, as weak a refereeing performance I’ve seen at this level of the sport...

He’s gone to the media, the Cork examiner criticizing the rules surrounding the mark, he doesn’t like it yet he has to implement it...how does that give a player, supporters or anybody confidence in him...or his colleagues ? that’s indicative that his judgement isn’t all that..it certainly wasn’t yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭HBC08

I'd be happy to talk football but you're not up to it.

You think the ref was biased (towards Mayo!?) That's hilarious,I'd like to thank you though for raising a few smiles on here last night.

Angry,aggressive,entitled, permanently aggrieved,spoilt,disliked.

You're the embodiment of this dublin team in one boards poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,134 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Pillar Caffrey is an embarassment on Newstalk now claiming Small's 'challenge' wasn't even a free.

He must be Strumms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,770 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

dont want to talk football but you are happy to use the thread to post personal comments about me instead ? Right. Glad you have your priorities..

anyway..

the officials will be under the microscope in the final... I’d say they’d have watched that thinking... “ Jesus, thanks a lot Lane, “ the whole of the GAA world will be keeping tabs on every element of the officials performance, especially as relates to the Mayo ‘goings on’... Kerry especially are footballers, steeped in a fine tradition of skill, hard work, intelligence and endeavor and there is little reason to think that Mayo won’t stoop to those same unbelievably low levels of skullduggery to bridge the gap... it becomes habitual... obviously Kerry need to overcome Tyrone which they hopefully will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,567 ✭✭✭dobman88

Strumms, you're having an absolute mare here.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Great win. Full deserved.

Lane well the country can see how poor he was yesterday and has been game after game including the Connacht final.

Superb squad performance dominated Dublin from second half onwards and stopped Dublin play.

Injuries mounted up on us and was concerned when Mullins was out but young lads stood up and we're counted.

We move on now and this will mean nothing If we don't beat Kerry.

Think some need time off boards too going by some of the embarrassing posts here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭poker--addict

Strumm, what do you mean Dublin are entitled to warm up in front of their own fans? It is supposed to be a neutral venue, and we don't operate segregated stadiums in the GAA so Dublin wouldn't own the hill or that half of the pitch were it not for an unofficial home advantage. You proved the point by saying counties down the country warm up where they want....correct because they are at home.

😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,803 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Wished I watched it on Sky now. RTE pundits were poor. Disappointed Tomas didn't call out the ref

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭HoteiMarkii

Give Strumms a break guys. He's hurting bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,163 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Cora did, at the end of regular time.

Said letting Hennely retake the 45 was the one decision he got right all night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,803 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Whatever about the red, at the very least give a free. Himself and the linesman should have figured that much out between them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Thunderbirds

A Mayo player was stretchered off with a broken jaw and Lane let Dublin play on and almost score goal. Quit talking absolute rubbish. I'm a neutral and all neutrals would say Lane favoured Dublin on some massive calls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Swaine

Was Con O'Callaghan even playing yesterday? Been saying it for a while now, he's not up to it. Great against the likes of Louth and Wicklow, nowhere to be saying when the going gets tough.

And we still have clowns like Spillane and Brolly namechecking him along with the likes of Clifford and McManus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

Pretty myopic view and the others hadnt the nuts to call him out on it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Great u20's tussle going on in Croke Park atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Or Fenton for that matter. These guys looked great when they were so far ahead of the rest due to the push they were given by the powers that be over the years. Never really tested

Now that the gap is closing, these Dublin players have found themselves in some proper battles for the first time. These players that we were told were the best ever, all of a sudden don't look all that great when dragged into the mire of real battle. Few Dublin players standing up to be counted when the chips were down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Hey Strumms.

Ive only made it through some of the comments that were since the match. Haven't made it to the end yet. But had to have a chuckle at some of yours.

Serious question - were you on a massive session when you were posting the ones about the ref being against Dublin. I was at the match and watched it again last night. I'd be interested on your real thoughts, when the mist has settled as they say and emotions are calmed.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

As some of the comments down here are not great and I can only imagine the quality of posting during the match here yesterday we need to take consideration of how lucky we are we can go to a game and sit two foot away from the opposition fans.

Yesterday I had the "pleasure" of sitting beside my Dublin equivalent during the game. We gave it a 10/10 effort in support our teams but also poking the s**te out of each other that some thought we might lose our minds.

But at the end of it we agreed on lots and he fist pumped all around and gave my son a tenner for sweets which was a fabulous gesture.

Remember it's only a game and played by amateur lads who have to get up for work tomorrow.

So let's enjoy what Dublin have given us over the last 6 years and what Mayo did yesterday for the incredible entertainment it has been.

Have a cuppa tea and a jaffa. 👍👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

You could say the same about all the "top" refs.

Luckily decisions even out. Mayo have been at the end of some horrendous reffing decisions while Kerry, Dublin etc have benefitted. Was there not a double hop on front of the ref in the build up to Cluxtons winning point in 2011?

Tbf I thought Fenton was the 1 player who did stand up for Dublin yesterday. Just off the top of my head he made 2 huge catches from kickouts when the keepers options were limited. He stuck his hand up as if to say launch it here and he plucked them from the sky. Also remember thinking during the game he was playing quite well compared to some of his team mates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭elefant

Offaly look a level above Roscommon physically and technically. The two very easy goal chances they missed in the first half were killers for the Rossies.

This young Offaly side are a joy to watch. Really hope they stay going onto senior and we see an Offaly resurgence.

Game on with 5 to go after a good Roscommon goal. 3 in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

This Offaly team are an absolute joy to watch, perfect mix of pace and power. Such an exciting young team, only 3 in it now though!!

If they'd only taken their points...can Offaly hold on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Wha????

I didnt think my post was anything outrageous. Confusing