If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Katherine Zappone Envoy Gig

Last year, Mr Varadkar was especially outspoken on the alleged impropriety of fellow politicians breaking guidelines in Clifden, Co Galway. Why is such a gross double standard allowed in cases where Mr Varadkar has a personal interest?"

tearing each other apart.....ya love to see it really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Didn't he call it a punch in the stomach or something? 'Elected representatives should lead by example' and 'a punch in the stomach to everybody who has given up so much to follow these guidelines'

Or something along those lines.

Of course it doesn't and shouldn't apply now, because people have given up less at this stage, and elected representatives are no longer in the public eye... or something something.. 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Shebean

She's been critical of Ireland in the past, maybe they want someone not so free in their expression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭dudley72

As nobody know the details of the job how do you know it’s the replica of her role?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,555 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Youth wings of parties are always militant. Its easy to be when you don't have to live with consequences.

What's really going on with OFF of course is that they don't want to see their party disappear altogether before their own turn on the gravy train comes around, the greatest threat in that regard being a vigorous and youthful Fine Gael. Wouldn't occur to them to demonstrate some political maturity and leadership of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,169 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

The actual Position, Title, Alledged responsibilities have been clearly laid out and you know fully what they were, what we don't actually know about are the full details of tge Shenanigans that led to it being offered and subsequent farce that followed.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

simon harris said it was a punch in the stomach. I remember because when he saw kids in the bars he said it was two fingers to the front liner workers but when it was his colleagues, the language was dialed back to a tummy punch!!

Or else he's just a fcuking hypocrite....ff have lost ministers for alot less

meh....seems the only people whom known about these regulations were those in attendance

Suspious as fcuk to my eyes....stinks of one rule for them,one rule for rest of us.....kinda same bang off of golfgate tbh

One was indoors, the other outdoors for starters.

Would ya get a grip.

At Christmas, the Govt reluctantly loosened things up and said 'lads would ye please take it handy, we're still very concerned'.

You may recall then that within 3 weeks we had 9,000 daily cases. The Govt didn't do that, Leo Varadkar didn't do that, a posh hotel didn't do that. The only people who did that were the ones with a bang of invincibility off them. And maybe a bang of stupidity and a bang of booze too.

It's handy to characterise it as 'us and them' to suit a political narrative, an SF and Paddy Cosgrave narrative. But its all baseless nonsense.

There are those following the rules, those making mistakes around the rules and those ignoring the rules altogether. And every person in the Country has probably been all 3 at some point in these last 18 months. I know I have, but I'll admit it and not try and project perfection on myself and corruption on the Government, because I know that would be utter horseshyt.

I notice #resignleo was knocked off the top spot on Twitter trends. By Love Island. How demonstrative.

This in no way address post it quoted.

It seems obvious to me,the only ones who known about these new regulations,were those present at this party

If you have an issue with them having a different rule for emselves as everyone else,you may need to take it up with your local TD

ranting on about paddy cosgrove and love island,while highly amusing, is entirely irrelavent....the only ones to have qs to answer here are in government at leinster house,and using the attormey general,to justify their carryon raises more qs,than it answers imo

At that stage, people had been in lockdown for a crazy long time. The government did do that. I'm not excusing those people, not one jot.

But imagine you saw the numbers rising that rapidly as a result of that behaviour.. Would you then, a few months later - when a far more contagious strain is on the island, go out and attend a party yourself, that goes against regulations, or at best 'might' go against regulations? Would you do it as a government representative, who had already berated people for breaking the rules? Would you do it as an ex doctor? Would you do it as the Tanaiste?

If you would, then surely you would also expect criticism from every and any corner, and expect anyone that defended you to also be criticised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,916 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Funny how the 'we all partied' excuse/vindicater always gets deployed when it's the power swap in the frame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

Christmas, Sinn Féin and Love Island.

The Holy Trinity of deflection. 🤣

Here's a holy trinity for you.

Varadkar - Taoiseach - Dec '22.

Another.

Varadkar - Guilty - 2021

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭mariab21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭FoFo1254122

leo and Martin are two really odd fish. As is eamon Ryan

there is no craic in them, everything they do and say seems fake. Robotic is the word that sums them up

It's been beaten out of them by the new Christian Brothers.

PR.

Honestly watching the 3 of them at announcements, press conderences, I'm reminded of "one man and his dog program" were sheep are encouraged into a pen by sheep Dogs, guided gently by a shepherd. You can almost sense someone behind the podium, whistling instructions.

They all appear to be biting their lips, very uncomfortable, hoping Ryan won't say something stupid, almost hopefully wishing he'd take a nap or better still they were all somewhere else.

I'm just amazed this coalition has lasted this long albeit there are many reasons, none include mutual admiration of respect.

All three are leaders of large parties, each party has loads of people looking to get the top job. They have managed to not just consistently getting themselves voted into government, but in the case of Ryan & MM grow the number of seats for their respective parties after the crash and those parties got hammered in the election. Grew them so much they are now part of a coalition.

Leo of course has gone the other direction in terms of seats but still is in government and runs a huge party.

The silly comments about them on here, personal comments, I doubt anyone on here has come close to their achievements in life, I include myself in that statement. Slag off their politics all you want…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,561 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

in fairness the growth in seats for one party in ireland is usually due to another party messing up

If that was the case the likes of PBP etc would be running the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Cosgrove putting the cat among the pigeons lol. There'll be a few squeaky bums following this mischievous tweet.

They better hope some unknown member of the public doesn't feel like cashing in on this generous offer. 🤑

🤣

Your clearly not aware of FF"s current standing in the polls or for that matter how many TD"s FF have, I'm not doubting MM has rebuilt the party albeit a bit like putting an extra lego block onto a child's toy. I personally like MM albeit I'm not impressed at is abject failure to react and deal with Leo's shenanigans albeit I can understand his delicate position and believe he's had enough and winding down the Clock.

I don't think I need to break down Leo's leadership success and indeed not terribly inspired general election results. Leo has singled handily created every single mess he's got into and it can either be put down to niaivty, arrogance or stupidity, it's extraordinary. As I've said before I congratulated his initial pandemic management success but my god, he's turned into a sneaking snake, undermining colleagues, Public health officials, Solo run wheeling and dealing, showing less emphaty than Genghis Khan and bewildering santamony. He's also managed to make many, many enemies within the FG world, all waiting to pounce.

Eamonn, poor Eamonn, what can one say about his general performance, Sure the Greens came back from the abyss, I doubt very much it was out of genuine gree support, more candidate choice, they'd barely got back into coalition and he faced a leadership heave, there's been more infighting in the Greens than a squabble at a hen house, it's easy to predict the results they'll have next election.

Yes, taking the Mick out of Politicians offends some, with me it's not personal, certainly I'm disgusted but ultimately it's politicians who make it easy to parody them, most of what goes on in Irish Politics is similar to a Monty Python sketch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,561 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

that's extreme, but we did have sin fein max out their candidates in the last election