Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

prescription sunglasses for cycling

• 09-08-2021 9:25am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭

Hi.

My standard specsavers own brand sunglasses are just not cutting it for cycling so asking for some advice.

Want to replace with something i can wear everyday, but also wear cycling.

Oakley do nice looking frames that from experience stay in place, so thats my starting point.

My ask is:

• anyone have any recommendations of brand
    • recommendation of optician around Dublin?

Thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

Pretty sure there was a similar thread here not too long ago but it's not showing up in a search.

My optician could only come up with sunglasses that required inserts for the prescription lens and I reckoned they would be a bit of a nightmare in mist or drizzle. I eventually found a recommendation for Optilabs online and bought a pair of cycle specific varifocal reactolite sunglasses that are brilliant for cycling, sailing, hillwalking and everyday use. Not cheap but I get great use out of them and the firm were very helpful when it came to choosing the exact specification. https://www.optilabs.com/product-category/sport/cycling-sunglasses/

• Registered Users Posts: 9,271 ✭✭✭Macy0161

After my latest eye test I succumbed to the evitable, and recognised I should probably do something for the bike.

I went with kapvoe on Ali, which came in at €30 delivered with prescription inserts done to the prescription. They're really sports glasses though (I got a pair of prescription shades separately on there for under 15 as a spare/ general use) I was really testing to see do I need them - I still don't technically need them for driving, even though I've had them for decades for driving.

My brother in law has brought ali inserts to an optician for lens as he has more specialist requirements. A separate pair I brought came with inserts just needing glass.

I'm clumsy as f*ck with my glasses cycling, so I'm reluctant to spend the money on optilabs, even though I've been weighing up for a few years. Riding without the glasses/ inserts at the weekend in the rain (didn't have time to change outer lenses) made me realise I do really need them, but I'm going to try contacts first.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,839 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

I use rockbros ingot on Amazon for 15 quid. Optician did the inserts when I was getting other glasses.

If in Dublin, the owner of Gilna opticians in IFSC is a keen cyclist and has some I think. He did inserts for me though.

In cork Glanmire/Carrigaline opticians do some too in fairly sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭kuro_man

I got these a few year ago, work fine if not super stylish

https://www.zennioptical.com/p/sport-eyeglass-frames/7431?skuId=743121

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭andy69

I bit the (expensive) bullet and went for a pair of Oakleys - I think in the region of 450eur or something like that :( but they have Oakley prescription lenses as the actual lenses...not the clip-in inserts. they can also do varifocals if you have trouble reading your Wahoo/Garmin screen

They're also photo chromatic or whatever it's called, so they are great for any conditions. Lot of money I know, but there were also Rudy Project glasses available that have the option for actual manufacturer prescription lenses too. They were not too far off the same price, so I went with the Oakleys as I've been using that brand basicly since I was a Junior back in the 80's (early adopter! ha!).

Anyhoo, recently I got a pair of Tifosi glasses, with the clip-in inserts. Just got them for driving because I find that photochromatic lenses don't darken in the car...they seem to need direct sunlight I think. I tried them out for a spin and they were grand, but you're aware of the inserts, and as someone mentioned above, I'd be weary of them if it was damp/wet although maybe they'd be just fine? They were a fraction of the cost of the Oakleys.

I bought both pairs from the same guys (https://www.rxsport.co.uk/categories/Prescription-Sunglasses/ ) - you just fill in your prescription into their website and they get them built for you. So obviously you will need to just get your prescription printed out from your opticians and that's all ye need basically - well, if you're lucky enough to be a handsome divil like me that can wear any pair of glasses and still look incredible :D (ha! only joking of course...kinda :D )

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭Michelin

Hi Andy, what model Oakleys are those? I was checking that website recently seem to be the only place really for prescription cycling glasses...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I was considering prescription cycling specs earlier this year. I haven't bought anything yet as it's more than two years since my last eye test and I haven't been arsed getting a new test. I had considered the pair in the link below but I've heard reports about fogging up with clip in inserts.

I like the Oakleys above but I'm struggling to justify the price - especially as I've been using the regular prescription shades for many years. However, if I look at the Oakleys for long enough I'll get over the price eventually!

https://buynewspecs.ie/featured/prescription-sports-glasses-goggles/prescription-cycling-glasses.html

I don't were glasses myself but herself does and have seen the ads for selectspecs and wondered of they are too good to be true??? Have to be surely at that kind of money, but they do have some cycling specific ones that you'd nearly chance your arm on given the prices to find out.

Ive got a cheap pair with clip in prescription lenses and they are fine in the rain, or no worse than normal glasses anyway.

the only time i notice the insert is when I’m looking over my shoulder, as you are effectively looking to the side of the prescription lense and your eyes take a moment to refocus. Other than that, no problems.

hey ;) so, they're the Field Jacket ones, but....I'm not sure they're still being made? I think they might have been the only Oakley option available with the full lens being prescription

https://www.oakley.com/en-ie/product/W0OO9402

Also, I seem to recall that there might be another way for getting the prescription lenses....

https://www.scubastore.com/scuba-diving/hydrotac-stick-on-bifocal/1229462/p

...just can't remember who showed me those, but they were using them for cycling on their own existing Sun Glasses. Seems pretty cool, and a very cheap alternative!

edit: actually I see they're only the little inserts for reading, rather than for long distance, sorry :(

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭Michelin

Thanks for replying Andy. Yeah they are showing unavailable but coolest prescription ive seen so far...Ive been chatting to rxsport, very helpful...they are recommending the oakley plazma...a new style similar to jackets...

oh! they look really nice! ...and a hell-of-a-lot more affordable than the ones I got! I love them Retina Burn ones but not available in the photochromic lenses. I could have gotten two pairs of the Plazma's for less than my ones, but I prefer the 'convenience' of the photochromic lenses as I can go out in brilliant sunshine and come home in the rain and the same glasses do the job.

Them Pro's have it so handy :p ha!