Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Katherine Zappone Envoy Gig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,739 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Could think of a fair few people better for the imaginary job.

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,587 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Can Ailbhe not make up a job of her own? Feck sake like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Shebean

Nothing burger? It's a Whopper :)

While I'm sure SF played a part I don't see how you can give them the credit for this service to the electorate in calling out and pointing out this 'jobs for the girls' cronyism, but I'm sure they appreciate it.

Can you tell me what it is about this position that suits Zappone so well? All I know is Coveney wanted to create a LGBTQ type position and Zappone created this gig. Maybe you know more about the position? I doubt even Coveney knows much detail TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Bad enough they have made a laughing stock of themselves to save a few senior FGers, but the have completely compromised the office of the AG. FOr that alone heads should roll but they probably won't. This is the power swap after all...wagons being circled as we speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,795 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

This event is playing out so very badly on the 9 News. Updating the guidelines retrospectively to cover Leo in the Zappone event. Embarassing and the hospitality sector are fuming.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,143 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

I think it's playing out badly everywhere, I think Leo & Co, along with a few Die hard FG supporters on here thought, it's a quite time of year, Dail in resess, Simon Harris in Mayo, most political panel shows off air, it will go away in a few days.

It's trending all over Twitter and beyond, I actually think the AG"s intervention is stirring up additional scrutiny and even the HSE asked people not to get frustrated at the events at the Merrion. This story has more legs than a centipede and as I predicted, it's not going away. I'd be amazed if there isn't a high level resignation and or a few scalps in the coming days. Kind of amazing how it's ballooned into a number of different controversies, about time the Smug FG leadership got a spanking, no amount of spin will turn this Turd into something spelling of roses 😉

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Its not just Leo, its Ivana Bacik too.

Is this why that motor mouth Alan Kelly has been very quiet.

Would love to see the full list of those who attended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,086 ✭✭✭jackboy

Can’t see any of them resigning over this. In general the population are too beaten down to really get upset over this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,932 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Oh, well, if its trending on Twitter, lets have a General Election immediately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Treppen

Hmm RTE prime time still prigging away, fair play to them.

Vintners association are not happy....

Although the Danny Healy Rae fella down in Kerry was one of the few who actually interpreted the rules correctly.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/video-shows-topless-customers-dance-24694192

We'll see, Leo & AG will be praying, there's no shenanigans in terms of breaking Guidelines over the weekend, I fear Marquee Sales/Rentals will surge in the coming days, if there's any surge in new case numbers, there'll be serious questions needing answers, the greatest immediate fear as mentioned in various media outlets is a free for all as a result of this fiasco. Bad enough the attempted appointment, now as a result of covering ass"s, there could be far reaching and serious consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭buried

There'll be no election until the meat have sat in their seats for two years in order to get that nice slice of pension money

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,320 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Hopefully this Zappogate affair has ruined Coveneys chance of ever leading FG, something good may come out of this

Have to agree, he's tongue tied because one of his own TD'S was in attendance I guess. Shameful silence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭mariab21

It wont go anywhere till Leo grows a set of balls and faces questions. Hes a coward

They are hoping its going away but the younger journalists like Aoife Moore are not going to drop this and they have said as much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,125 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

RTE still looking for the 2 FG Scarlet Pimpernells.

Where's Wally's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,268 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

And they have now offered a free for all to celebrate anything and everything in a Marquee with 200 people . They very thing that NPHET want to avoid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭dudley72

Is that the same Aoife Moore that’s trying to cover up for RTE attending?

it’s seems a bit of “you scratch my back and I will scratch yours”

Based on her recent tweet she seems to be getting a bit of a hammering on the responses I seen.

No Lois Lane

'Cover up'?

She did her work and has tweeted that no members of RTE were there according to her investigations.

Do you know different or is this some scurrilous insinuation?

Its deflection from Leo and his mates plus others breaking restrictions while us plebs stick to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Seán Kyne stumbling his way through on Prime Time.

Matt Carthy laying into them, rightfully so of course, but I do cringe when he talks about nobody in politics having credibility about advising people, I don't think he's actually being truly honest and including SF in that. They haven't covered themselves in glory either.

Leo's silence is fairly telling. The whole story stinks tbh. Firstly because of the purpose of the "event" and then the cushy number that was landed because of it. All that is pretty bad, but then there's the whole mess of the argument that hey it was legal so quit your crying about it, when clearly there was at least an understanding that this kind of craic wasn't within the guidelines - at least that's what the industry was at least allowed to believe.

The AG being mobilised at a moments notice to retrospectively give Leo some legal cover absolutely reeks of pure dodgyness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,435 ✭✭✭Allinall

Absolutely, I sense a few particular type of weddings happening over the coming days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,932 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Matt McCarthy is a cretin at the best of times, but this recent display is reaching even for him.

Him and Brian Stanley's attempt to turn the PAC into a private SF kangaroo Court was as clumsy as it was transparent. Its a pity it wasn't pushed to a vote of the membership to meet, those fools wouldn't even have got a quorum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,404 ✭✭✭1874

Zappone, like a 5th column, putting the boot into FG, she disgusts me, but I suppose this has highlighted what many know of how Leo , Coveny and FG in general operate. thank you Zappone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭buried

Its high time to stop addressing these politicians by their first names anymore. These people are not our friends, its a PR gimmick. If people just stop doing this simple thing we will frighten the $hit out of them.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

O, the Bitterness, it's shocking. If FG leadership insist on hiding like cowardly children, of course opposition parties will question what's going on.

You continue to bring entirely irrelevant matters into this story, it's silly and not washing with objective observers of this utterly disgraceful sequence of events. The sooner you understand, every type of voter, FG, FF, SF, SD, Independents & Labour are disgusted at what has happened, are you Not or is it just business as usual nothing to see here mantra if you support FG, very, very troubling & Tiresome.