Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Katherine Zappone Envoy Gig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,960 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Her entire appointment is now tainted beyond repair and they should fully pull the plug. The more Coveney and Varadkar try to wave it away, they just look even worse. The more they dig their heels in, the more damage it does to all involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,220 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

A government with a remarkable ability to turn chaos into more chaos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,560 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The IHF or Failte Ireland guidelines are irrelevant to be fair. Failte Ireland doesn't make the law, hotels and pubs are absolutely free to ignore failte ireland's published guidelines and conform to the law.

I know this seems like a gotcha, but it's not at all.

Outdoor gatherings of up to 200 and in some cases 500 were allowed at that stage.

Hmm....the great and good of irish society and our rulers meeting up in private.....bears no resembelence atal🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,138 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

OK, so the defenders of the defenseless have focused primarily on the Gathering, Guidelines etc raised in my OP This morning, possibly a clever distraction from the substance of this thread, I'll grant those focusing on the Guidelines angle have made some fair points but there is serious ambiguity around rules, so that aside.

Why are those defending this latest revelation not discussing the fact a gathering took place so close to the appointment? , Leo's attendance? , what "other politicians in attendance? , indeed what Civil Servants were in attendance?

It" s perhaps not a Gotch moment, but its certainly and not for the first time another WTF moment 😉

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,560 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Golfgate, Swinggate and now Merriongate !!!

FG should avoid hotels altogether.

I wasgoing too.... , but won't go there 😂😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

It’s only since moving abroad that I realise how trivial so many Irish political controversies are.

If, indeed, it is true that the regulations at the time allowed 200 people to meet for a social occasion, then that story is reprehensible journalism by the Independent.

I doubt that you would believe anything I link, so try googling it for yourself. Just copy and paste this into your search engine.

“Organised outdoor events

A maximum of 200 attendees can attend the majority of venues. A limit of 500 people is in place for venues with capacity greater than 5,000 with appropriate protective measures in place - including social distancing requirements.”

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,695 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

For sporting events and the like, not for licensed premises or restaurants.

One was indoors, the other outdoors. Try doing a bit of research before posting such ill informed rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭mariab21

Didnt apply to licences premises, next try please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭RamonD3

Yes indeed a classic bit of misdirection now for what may well prove to be a perfectly legal gathering. Next up a soft focus interview with Miriam where she speaks about the distress caused to her etc.

If anyone in FF has any balls it's time to challenge Micheal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭silver2020

It's the indo. Here it is at the same level as the Daily Mail. Utter trash.

That's not correct. Anyone is/was free to organise an outdoor event for up to 200 people.

(1A) A person may organise, or cause to be organised, a relevant event in a relevant geographical location where the person takes all reasonable steps to ensure that the event takes place entirely outdoors, and the number of persons attending, or proposed to attend, the event does not exceed 200 where the event is held, or to be held, other than in a relevant venue

"Relevant venue" here being one with a capacity over 5,000.

You've heard the saying Some people's Trash is other people's Treasure, albeit in this case its gold.

Just worth pointing out its being covered across most media outlets now albeit RTE seem asleep at the wheel, perhaps because most of its staff on holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,611 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Exactly. The Failte Ireland guidelines (which are the de facto rules for restaurants) clearly state that multiple tables cannot be booked - which is precisely what happened in this case.

image.png

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,695 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

The Merrion Hotel does not have a capacity of 5,000.

Lads, are ye seriously arguging this? She's not going to be taking up the role after this. Don't waste your energy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭mariab21

As per Philip Ryan, Govt rules do not allow the booking of multiple tables

Next excuse please.

That was me just clarifying there's no special clause here that only allows events at certain venues.

The Merrion Hotel is legally permitted to hold an organised outdoor event for up to 200 people. The fact that they are a licenced venue is irrelevant.

Government rules do permit booking out the entire venue for an event though.

In fact, I'm not sure that the rules prohibit the booking of multiple tables. The Fáilte guidelines say it shouldn't be done, but I don't think it's actually prohibited.

FWIW, I think this whole thing is a complete farce and the role/offer should have been rescinded five minutes after it was announced.

But maybe stick to the facts. This is not golfgate. Nobody has broken any rules here.

You are correct in that it applies to INDOOR dining. Not outdoors in marquees, under umbrellas etc.

Next……

We need to know the names of all the attendees to this what seems like the “the good and the great” of the political elite, their upper class and its ilk. Did they break the public health guidelines and thus breaking the law. Wonder will the Gardai get involved if laws are broken. Cliften and golfgate springs to mind. This is one fine mess all of FG’s making, wtf did Simon C see in KZ to give her this cushy UN gig? Political favours for an old friend. It’s cronyism at its worst. this is like Groundhog Day again with FG. The Seamus Woulfe judicial crony stroke that the party pulled off has been repeated despite several pleas from Leo V and his allies that “such events would not happen again”. BS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Just read this again and let it sink in.

Leo, tánaiste with shared responsibility for the drafting and implementation of covid guidelines, checked with Katherine Zappone (who as far as I can tell, doesn't even reside here permanently) and the hotel hosting the event, if the party was compliant with the aforementioned guidelines he drew up....

Up there with the dog ate my homework as far as an excuse goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

I see the CDC have increased travel to Ireland to Level 4, what was in in the most over the previous month?

COVID-19 Levels

Level 4: Very High

Level 3: High

Level 2: Moderate

Level 1: Low

Level unknown

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,562 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Might not be against the law, but the hospitality rules issued by Failte Ireland were developed in a consultation process between Failte Ireland and Government officials, Failte Ireland have been explicit on this.

Willfully ignoring guidelines that were partly developed by Government officials when the general public are subject to those same guidelines (if you or I tried booking out every table in a venue like this, I doubt it would have been so easy) just stinks. Zappone ending up with a bonus UN gig only a few days after her "party" stinks also.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Bobtheman

I'd like to hear Simon Coveney explain but I think Catherine zappone is great and I'm no fan of LGBT drum beating. She has done trojan work in community care. She was the first minister for children to actually start setting up a proper childcare system in ireland.

She is not in politics for the money so I'd like to hear her take on it.

The media would be better focusing on waste in the HSE than this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

Can we get Tony Connelly home to interview Leo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,611 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor