If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Coronavirus Pandemic Information- Local and Worldwide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

It's concerning the way ideas like this are being put out there. Where does it end?

There's no reason to believe that "herd immunity" is a possibility in eliminating covid. There's also no reason to think that unvaccinated people will be drivers of new variants. It will be vaccinated people in poor health that drive new variants.

And here is a response to the paper being removed by Tess Lawrie (external analyst for the World Health Organization) who used the paper for her meta-analysis. She goes through the impact of the meta analysis by removing the paper.

https://odysee.com/@BretWeinstein:f/TessLawrie:0

There is a handy timestamp below the video to make viewing a bit easier.

If you go along with his opinion in the article it ends with us all living in a totalitarian society. The article is alarmist.

You make the point that there's no reason to think that unvaccinated people will be drivers of new variants. It will be vaccinated people in poor health that drive new variants. Geert Vanden Bossche (DMV, PhD, independent virologist and vaccine expert, formerly employed at GAVI and The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation) has been saying that mass infection prevention and mass vaccination with leaky Covid-19 vaccines in the midst of the pandemic can only breed highly infectious variants. Here is a link to the letter he sent to the WHO about this - https://37b32f5a-6ed9-4d6d-b3e1-5ec648ad9ed9.filesusr.com/ugd/28d8fe_266039aeb27a4465988c37adec9cd1dc.pdf

Friday morning for my second jab, this better provide the 5G I was expecting.

Well worth a read. Are we creating more instability in the population's health with lockdowns than might otherwise have been the case?

Amassive amount of covid hospitalisations appear to be with covid than because of covid in the UK. We are probably similar.

Why has it taken 18 months for this distinction to be made as we knew it was going on all along

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,641 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

That has to be rubbish, their immunity would have to be very poor even before march 2020 to be getting sick now. A year in lockdown isn't going to affect a healthy person, I saw a guy on BBC warning us not to be taking the concerns of ''Spoilt Millenials'' too seriously now

I'm sure if you type in any theory about covid into google you'll get plenty of posts supporting it, such is the self elected experts out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,387 ✭✭✭jaymla627

What happens when you mix calves in a mart environment from multiple herds together, you get alot of sick calves, humans are no different when a naive person/childs immune system is challanged with a virus/disease its never encountered before, its been widely proven that kids living in very sterile environment in cities and towns have extremely poor immune systems to deal with the likes of salmonella etc, while a farm kid whos been exposed from a young age has alot greater immunity to it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Not sure if weve read the same article but what I gathered from it was that it was babies (under two years im presuming) suffering from RSV. A child two years of age or under over there has been locked down for there first winter so theyve missed the exposure to RSV plain and simple nothing to do with them being f#cked to start with. Funny a while back it was all about wrapping youre genration in cotton wool to save ye but now that its gone full circle youre more or less repeating what i said a while back but just putting a spin on it to suit yourself.

Better living everyone

We're only a year + in lockdown, it's not as if it was their whole life, and any way you couldn't describe it as a proper lockdown aat any stage.

I'd imagine if there's any problem with a childs immunity it'd be down to their poor lifestyle rather than not mixing with others for the last 15mths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,310 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Fairness if you take a 2yo kid they have been their whole effective life in lockdown.

there are certain things they probably only get exposed to from other kids.

even as older kids most parents would notice a few weeks of sniffles in September when kids go back to school after only 2-3 months off. Have certainly seen that ourselves and ours would be outdoors allot and living on a farm are exposed to plenty.

When our childminder was closed our young lad was the healthiest he's been since before he started there. When it reopened, cold within a week. Just the nature of a group of kids being together. Herself isn't much different in the day job, school teacher.

It seems that in the US they are starting to acknowledge that being vaccinated does not mean that one is not capable of spreading covid. Masks for all once more.

If people thought they'd still be treated the same as unvaccinated, would uptake be as high I wonder...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

9 reported covid deaths in Ireland since 21st July

image.png

Now you know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Like Jim Mac's horse, he had just finished teaching him how to live without food when the horse laid down and died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Met an uncle for a few pints the weekend gone 8 of us at the table and i being twenty years younger than the rest i havent gottten the vaccine yet, one lad remarked "jesus were all vaccinated we could end up getting the delta off you now". Its still gonna be last orders at 1130pm for the vaxxed and unvaxxed this weekend too as far as i can see, well all be wearing masks too and we wont be mixing with other tables whether were indoors or outdoors either.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭Neddyusa

Eh...i think you'll find for millions of children across the world it is literally their whole lives (including my youngest here).

17 months mightn't seem like much to an adult but it is an enormous amount of time for a child to lose out on social (or in this case immunological) development.

I think if you go back you'll find that I was the poster that said that I didn't care what the young people did as long as they didn't clog up the hospitals and funeral homes. The lockdown didn't worry me a lot one way or the other

The science seems to be starting to back up the idea that vaccination is for oneself and no-one else. Vaccination doesnt prevent infection and pretty much looks like zero effect of vaccination on viral load in those infected.

So there's no basis to treating vaccinated people differently and next to no benefit from pushing on vaccinating people whose risk from covid is minimal anyway.

We've gotten all the vulnerable people vaccinated, so what are we waiting for now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭Neddyusa

The thing is, this is not news, in that the vaccine developers have said this since the start - that they don't prevent transmission or infection.

The vaccine is only to reduce the likelihood of hospitalization in an individual.

Hence the push to vaccinate those not medically vulnerable has no scientific basis whatsoever.

Its akin to putting an ashtray on a motorbike.

The anti vaxxers are a joke, The wife of a local one here , who's vaccinated herself, is whingeing about about going back to work in the office in case she brings COVID home to him.

She's in the Public Service and expects to not have to work in an office and be looked after. pfft. If she was working in the real world she'd tell the hubby to suck it up and look after himself. He's in the Public Service too.... a real holiday camp there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

Jaysus wrangler, for a lad who said ya were going to live your life after getting the vaccine, you spend an awful amount of time looking over the ditch at what everyone else is doing.

Didn't have to look over the ditch, they antivaxxer told me that him self and he really proud of his heroics.

It's like the flu jab, us self employed can't risk being sick. I wouldn't know who to give my sick cert too

I've been recommended to get the flu vaccine with over 15 years at this stage.

Got it the first 3 years when it was said to me. Was always sick in the days after vaccination and it would persist with a cold for most of the winter.

Decided to give up getting it and have been healthier every year since even though I've undoubtedly been exposed to flus in that time.

With the covid vaccine gemerally giving a much worse reaction than the flu vaccine, it leads me to ask why should I take it? Just to be part of a national box ticking excercise isn't a good enough reason to me.

Especially when as you say, who do we give our sick certs to...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,310 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Great to see the uptake at the walk in vaccination clinics.

I was getting the flu every year in my fifties so started getting the vaccine and haven't had a bad flu since until early 2020 and there's a suspiscion that that actually was Covid, that it was in the country before march 2020

The take home message being that there's no one size fits all solution so we shouldnt try to make it fit. Especially since it is apparent the theoretical herd immunity will not be possible.

Not everyone who hasnt got the vaccine is a crackpot and they dont all deserve to be lobbed in under an anti vaxer badge.

30000 walk in vaccinations over the weekend, great to see such uptake.

OH has flu like symptoms for the last week so went for a test yesterday,

she's probably still recovering from the bad reaction to the vaccine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

They are powering through the vaccinations now. Hopefully the younger ones will get started soon.