Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Digging a grave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,711 ✭✭✭Jb1989

I'm a few years on a digging team, with I supose up on 300 graves Dug at this stage.

On the nosey diggers, This would be years ago, from old neigbours digging, that you'd hear the stories, of them opening the lid and seeing the person as good as day one.

Lot of the families nowadays around here have no idea what plot of a grave and what depth they want a hole. It's us diggers that pick the depth in them cases, with the undertakers approval. Ground type, amount of family left to go into a plot, and depth of last coffin determine the depth of the new hole.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,751 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Still the done thing around Achill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭Tileman

Really interesting thread.

mid agree it’s a very personal tribute to a person to do it. Pity it’s dying out around here. I think the closer to an urban area you are in the less likely it’s continuing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

I have only dug the one and it’s seen as an honour to be asked.

there was a new graveyard opened a few years ago but it was impossible to dig by hand, full of stones. They got in a digger and dug it all up, filled it in and tipped it up again with clay.

a lot of graves still dug by neighbours but there is also a local jcb guy who does a few if wanted.

a graveyard really fills up quickly too. Will cremation be the norm in the near future?

something I read before that instead of a gravestone, if a tree was planted in the area of the grave instead, with a small plaque with the details. In years to come there would be a nice little wood there, and everyone would have a tree to remember a deceased by.

The tree would want to be kept at a small height. Between roots growing in the hole, make future digging torturesome, and big trees falling and pulling the the ground up with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Icaras

This is something im hugely interested in.

When digging a grave I assume its hand tools only - shovels, picks etc?

How long would it take to dig a grave 6ft deep for say 4 people? Would they work in teams of two or could all 4 dig at the same time?

Do you need to prop the sides or does it normally support itself - I suppose it would depend on how good the ground is?

Im sure ill think of more soon enough

Can be mini digger if people allow and there is room around the grave to work It. Otherwise, pick, spade, shovel, crowbar, sledge and trowel are the required tools.

Most old graves were only around 4 foot deep in the counties around here. 6 foot deep was not the norm in ireland. 2 people can have an average grave Dug in 6 hours, add lots more for rock tho.

Ground dictates the need for propping, but it would be propped over 50 percent of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭Lano Lynn

great thread

still a strong tradition in this parish.

a very respectful thing to do have been digging graves for 30 years each one different and special thankfully most not sad tragic events.

the most interesting one was my father in law some family members (sons. daughters & in laws) participated in preparing the grave while others were horrified at the thought. When all was over everyone that had helped thanked me for the experience and expressed how the process helped their grieving and farewell process .

I would highly recommend EVERYONE to help out with at least one grave (digging, lining , make sandwiches whatever) of someone they care for and consider that someday would you prefer to be laid in a grave prepared by your friends or a hole hoked out with a machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

The undertake does not decide the depth .

That was enshrined in the law before the English left . Eight foot perpendicular depth or as near as possible to that .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,372 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

The whole 6 foot under, doesn't exist. Around 3 foot 4" deep is more like it, so 2 foot under would be more realistic. It would take about 2 hours, as only one guy can dig at a time. All would take a turn, so it's get in, dig like mad, get winded and jumped out to let in the next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭Tileman

Yea I was at a funeral recently and was surprised to see it down at 8 ft. I always thought it was only 6ft

In the new graveyards here and elsewhere they are trying to get them down to 8 foot, which will hold 3 coffins deep.

Must be nice soil that yous can be finished in 2 hours. It's not Leitrim or monaghan soils, that's for sure.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

Still very much a tradition around home. As said above, carried out with respect always.

Direct family members wouldn't be involved, a son wouldn't dig a parent's grave, for example. There's a quiet and respectful formality of asking the gravediggers, to dig the grave, even though they are such regulars, they are already prepared but it's a courtesy, and part of the ritual.

A member of the family would usually approach one of them, and he would arrange the time then with the rest. Refreshments, yes, part of the tradition. As it happens they are mostly non drinkers so probably just tea or soft drinks, if anything. If there's a meal afterwards, there would be a table especially for them.

It's a lovely thing to do, and well done to all of you on the thread, who do it. It's the last thing one can do for a departed friend or neighbour. Long may the tradition last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,541 ✭✭✭DBK1

Correct he doesn’t, but he gets the information from whoever does decide and passes it on to the diggers.

As said above the decision is made by the family and is based on how many corpses are already in the plot and how many more are expected to go into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,541 ✭✭✭DBK1

That’d be the list of tools required, along with refreshments also of course!

There must be differences in different parts of the country as I’ve never heard of a grave only being dug to 4 foot. It would always have been 6 foot around here, maybe just 5 foot if it was only the one person going in but never as shallow as 4 foot for a fresh dig.

As regards propping, ground conditions obviously would dictate this, but in all the years and all the graves in various graveyards I’ve dug I only ever remember having to prop one.

Around here, the younger generation know very little of where the ancestors are in a grave. It's usually us the grave diggers, that are told to dig where we think best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭deandean

Such a lovely thread. Thanks OP.

I'm in Dublin where the insurance and the machines wouldn't let you near digging a grave.

But I was at a funeral in Dingle a few years ago. There were four shovels left by the grave. The mourners filled in the grave. We all took turns. It was just so right to do it this way.

I forgot the refreshments of course, that's the lunch box we bring with us. Though covid put an end to the hotel or parish hall food we'd get, fairly often, after we had the grave backfilled.

Must be a difference in areas alright, 4 foot has been the norm for any old bones, dating anywhere over the last 100 years, we may have took out, possibly due to hard-core and gutters that must be at the 4 odd foot level around here.

Three foot four would be totally inadequate . Risk of interference by animals , disease etc as well as incurring the wrath of the Council should they come across it.

Burial at that depth also prevents a subsequent burial in the same plot ( or part of the plot ) for fourteen years

With the wooden box and the person embalmed, there is no chance of interference by animals at a circa 4 foot depth, its not 'love hate' type shallow, forest burials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,024 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I thought it was a thing gone with the flood, never heard of anyone doing it hereabouts.

tbh I wouldn't care if it was machine or hand dug one way or the other, there's very few fit young males in this family to shoulder a coffin let alone dig a big hole. Extended family have teens but they're never arsed about showing up at a funeral of people they never visit anyway.

• Administrators Posts: 55,018 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

If the burial is at circa four feet , it is a shallow grave , in that there would be only a little over two feet of soil on top of the coffin .

The law is there for a reason .

It’s still done here in South Connemara and the local undertaker has two local men he can rely on to do the digging. Someone in the immediate family will always bring a bottle of whiskey to tjose digging the grave. It depends on the family. The grave is always filled in by neighbours and extended family and no-one leaves til that’s done. The deceased’s brothers or sons would always fill a bit towards the end just to feel part of the process. Pretty much all funerals I’ve been at have been done this way. I find it very moving really and its a nice tradition that gives closure. I was at one funeral in Ardrathan in South Galway and they just rolled a bit of fake grass over the top. It just didn’t feel right for to walk away with a big hole in the ground still open. Before that I thought they only did the fake grass thing in urban areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,372 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

There is a new graveyard right beside the old. Digging in the old one would be easy alright, you just have to deal with coming across the remains of the previous buried there. We just put them to one side and later dig a small hole in the bottom of the grave and bury them there. The new graveyard is hit and miss, the odd time you could hit a missive boulder right in the middle.

Digging down to 8 feet is a whole other ball game. You'd want to be propping the sides at that depth. I don't think 3' 4" is enough myself but the normal lads that dig here insist that it is fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭mythos110

Great thread. The "new cemetery" here near me in North Tipp (about 40-50 years old) started at between 8-9ft deep as has been mentioned to allow 3x coffins per plot. Luckily any of the graves I've been involved in digging have been at least the second or subsequent.

I remember a neighbour telling me about digging a grave for my uncle who was being buried in the same plot as my grandfather who died 19 years previously. He was a fit lad at the time and was being send to do the final clear up. They knew they must be getting near my granddad's coffin, but he forgot himself and jumped in. He heard the crack of the lid of the casket breaking and sunk down a good 8 inches or so. As he said himself, he didn't need any ladder to get back out again he cleared out of there so fast! They levelled the ground and left it at that!

Some great banter and stories to be had a grave digging and can often be much needed relief and distraction for family members in attendance. Its a tradition that I hope continues around us and has no sign of slowing down. The last grave digging I was at had over 40 in attendence but in reality only 6-8 of us doing any work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭thejuggler

Thanks for the stories and info shared so far. Someone mentioned lining and shoring the grave.

is lining done to prevent coffins in adjacent graves becoming visible? Never noticed this at any funerals I attended.

Is the shoring only put in place during digging for the safety of the diggers?

id been lead to believe that an average chipboard coffin collapses very quickly after burial due to the weight of soil on top. Obviously a metal casket would be different.

When graves are dug by mini digger/jcb is the last portion done by hand (ie when previous remains are encountered)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭minerleague

Heard 15 round my way, a lot more people buried in same graves long ago, basically ordinary wooden coffins and remains would have decomposed and grave would be used again. Ever notice how small old graveyards are ( with bigger families in rural areas) compared to newer graveyards where only maybe 3 people buried in each plot. Neighbours dig here, and grave filled in before people leave, but more and more undertaker has team do digging as no-one around during week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,245 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

It’s a nice tradition I have heard of.

doesn’t happen afaik in or around Dublin.

im actually surprised the Health and safety shower haven’t jumped on it to outlaw it as being dangerous or whatever…… here’s hoping they can be kept at arms length and the tradition may continue