Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Property Market chat II - *read mod note post #1 before posting*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭Underground

Taoiseach as recently as May: “Let that message go out loud and clear from government. No local authority should be on the other side of this, engaging in a long lease with these institutional investors”

https://twitter.com/killianwoods/status/1411607684881731585?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Villa05

You blame government for everything and SF will fix it all...yet governments in nearly every developed country in the western world is experiencing similar issues that they are struggling to fix.

I have explained on numerous occasions with numerous reasons why gov are predominantly at fault. You might explain which reasons you disagree with

I don't agree that SF will fix it all, quiet the contrary. The day of Reckoning will come before they have a chance of doing any thing

As for your post on pensions in other EU countries being better funded it might be worth while remembering that they are the ones buying all the Irish property and if a bubble does exist as you claim and it goes pop so does the pensions...just something to consider

I have considered it that's why I suggested building our own and charge affordable rent that generates a small profit for the state rather than having our children being pension monkeys for other states and wasting billions on housing payments

Start with student accomodation. Having free college fees and then allowing private funds to milk more out of the students/parents because the fees are low/free

It akin to a farmer tendering to their crops and then allow a stranger come in and take the harvest and sell it tax free

It can't be just me that considers our housing policies to be incredibly dumb

Hadnt realised the Dutch system had gone a bit pear shaped, but reassuring to see the response appears to be supply, supply, supply in the most densely populated European country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,598 ✭✭✭tigger123

Taoiseach as recently as May: “Let that message go out loud and clear from government. No local authority should be on the other side of this, engaging in a long lease with these institutional investors”

The article is behind a paywall. But is it basically saying that the introduction of the 10 percent stamp duty isn't doing what it's supposed to? IE, discourage foreign investment in Irish property?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 112 ✭✭John1648

Would you say buying a two bedroom apt in Ballymun, Charter building, for 200 k cash, currently let for 1450 EUR to a young single mother on HAP, is a cool, profitable and sound idea?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭hometruths

John1648 wrote: »
    Would you say buying a two bedroom apt in Ballymun, Charter building, for 200 k cash, currently let for 1450 EUR to a young single mother on HAP, is a cool, profitable and sound idea?

HAP is now hip.

tigger123 wrote:
    The article is behind a paywall. But is it basically saying that the introduction of the 10 percent stamp duty isn't doing what it's supposed to? IE, discourage foreign investment in Irish property?

It's worse than that, it's saying that investment funds that lease back to the state will be exempt from the stamp duty changes. In the incident that sparked the change the state was the underbidder. You couldn't make this stuff up for a Monty phyton movie

Fair play to Killian Woods, he's doing the state some service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,268 ✭✭✭Elessar

This is absolutely f*cking INFURIATING :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

The very f*cking reason this was introduced was to stop bulk buying where they would then be leased to the council or housing bodies for social housing. Now they've done a 180 on it. Taoiseach lied through his teeth. Entire estates will now continue to be bought by REITs for a nice guaranteed long term payday.

Investment funds must be flocking to this country to suck the property market dry with these government guaranteed returns.

Who will challenge this in the Dail? Nobody I bet because muh 'social housing'.

Meanwhile people who get up and work everyday to try and afford a house are pushed off the cliff, and the governments response was complete show for the media.

As a 30-something I am seriously considering emigrating. The housing crisis and the pandemic response have shown that government don't give two f*cks about me.

tigger123 wrote: »

Just in relation to articles behind paywalls, copy and paste article into outline.com and you will be able to read it. The article linked is not up yet, but it probably will be later today.

Elessar wrote: »

As a 30-something I am seriously considering emigrating. The housing crisis and the pandemic response have shown that government don't give two f*cks about me.

There is nothing new about people having to migrate/emigrate in search of work/housing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,316 ✭✭✭enricoh

Dav010 wrote: »
    There is nothing new about people having to migrate/emigrate in search of work/housing.

There has to be something new about the brightest young people in the country are the ones putting their name down on the social housing list!
    Go to college, get a stressful job and save your deposit is for suckers in this country! Hopefully enough suckers stick around to pay for the foreva homes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Amadan Dubh

We are also thinking longer term of not staying in Ireland, solely down to housing. I don't think two well paid professionals like us should be considering emigrating because of housing and we are the exact demographic who should be buying into the system, like with the other poster.

You're right, there is nothing new in it. But generally it was done during times of recession and hardship.

The pre covid economy was in great shape, thanks mainly to FG. But what they forgot to address is housing.

The social contract is broken, and it will be remedied one way or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

This is absolutely f*cking INFURIATING :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

The very f*cking reason this was introduced was to stop bulk buying where they would then be leased to the council or housing bodies for social housing. Now they've done a 180 on it. Taoiseach lied through his teeth. Entire estates will now continue to be bought by REITs for a nice guaranteed long term payday.

Investment funds must be flocking to this country to suck the property market dry with these government guaranteed returns.

Meanwhile people who get up and work everyday to try and afford a house are pushed off the cliff, and the governments response was complete show for the media.

Ireland is becoming no place for young people who believe in washing their own face

tigger123 wrote:
    The pre covid economy was in great shape, thanks mainly to FG. But what they forgot to address is housing.

The state of the economy pre covid was down to the Irish people, very little to do with FG. The one positive was the wild Atlantic way which was really delivered through Bord Failte

Villa05 wrote: »
    The state of the economy pre covid was down to the Irish people, very little to do with FG. The one positive was the wild Atlantic way which was really delivered through Bord Failte

I'm not a fan of FG, by any stretch of the imagination, but they took over in 2011 and guided the economy back to where it was. You can't dispute that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭Hubertj

This is a truly truly ridiculous statement. You Seriously need to cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

by that arguement you could say the awful state of the Venezuelean economy is down to the people ?

I dont think its the fault of the Venezuelean people , do you ?

government are neither entirely responsible or entirely credit free for economic results

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,124 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Me, my ex and our two adult children all want to emigrate and get out of this country because it so badly run.

So, no credit for the astonishing recovery in Ireland which led to full employment, but the governing parties get lynched because you can’t buy a house where you want?

And here was me thinking it was due to the craven government giving into EU bullying and following a plan dictated to them so as to avoid financial loses in Germany and the UK, by getting the Irish population to underwrite the borrowings of crooked banks, property developers and speculators.

So, no credit for the astonishing recovery in Ireland which led to full employment, but the governing parties get lynched because you can’t buy a house where you want?

What was astonishing? Which countries didn't recover from the GFC? Just air rushing in to fill a vacuum. Belgium had a few years where they proved a country doesn't even need a government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭MacronvFrugals

Mario Draghi saying “We’ll do whatever it takes” did more than FG ever did.

It also helped at the time having one of the most efficient tax haven structures on earth.

We went from Nama wanting to bulldoze gafs is 2011 to 4000 kids in hotels missing key development indicators

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭taxdummy

Why is no opposition party flagging these exceptions and amendments when they are being made/voted on - I just don't get it - no doubt they will jump on attacking government but what else is getting through and not being flagged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭wowy

Bey0nd wrote: »
    Saw this house come up on daft - https://www.daft.ie/for-sale/semi-detached-house-5-waverly-view-greystones-co-wicklow/3191552

Nice house and lovely area by all accounts, but I can see this sold as a new build for €500k less than 2 years ago. Is a €135k increase in less than 2 years really where we're at now?

If it was sold as a new build 2 years ago the PPR record will be ex-Vat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 bungalow

SMdPP87 wrote: »
    What part of the country are you looking at?

Fingal... couple of 3 beds dropped in price recently. Had our own sold at 338, sale fell through and ended up getting 300 for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Bey0nd

wowy wrote: »
    If it was sold as a new build 2 years ago the PPR record will be ex-Vat.

I know.

It sold for €500k once you include VAT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Astonishing recovery is down to QE. Our debt has ballooned in that time.

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Ireland is becoming no place for young people who believe in washing their own face

Quickly becoming? It has long been like that. People are just becoming more aware of it now. Private buyers have been bidding against councils for private housing for years, to house those who wont get up and do it themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

John1648 wrote: »

Does anyone else keep getting unsolicited PMs from this user looking for advice on buying to rent? Or is it just me?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 112 ✭✭John1648

Does anyone else keep getting unsolicited PMs from this user looking for advice on buying to rent? Or is it just me?[/quote

Actually I have sent to more, indeed. Any kind advice would much appreciated.

As to "unsolicited", that is how it goes on a public forum. Just ignore my question if you prefer. People also make "unsolicited" comments too.

Would you have anything to say about the question I have asked? If not, fine too, no hurt feelings