Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Three men arrested after shocking incident involving bar staff on South William Stree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,355 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Get Real

obi604 wrote: »

It's laughable to think that those in Govt are saying all this stuff now, in response to incidents.

When the same headlines can be read in 2019,2018, 2017, going back 10 years.

Also, the same in power, talk about tougher sentencing for knife crime. Here's a lad with 30 plus convictions, got a month for having a knife, as well as other offences, all while these types of ideas have been refloated.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.galwaydaily.com/courts/man-imprisoned-for-having-a-knife-in-public-said-it-was-for-his-protection/%3famp

All talk now, until it blows over again, and nothing will change. The same since the dawn of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,981 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Richmond talking through his hoop again.

I see what he means..

But a better option is to jail those convicted for carrying knives (without a truly valid reason) to 20 years..

Convicted of assault with a knife. 40 years..

Our fooking sentencing laws are a disgrace!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

walshb wrote: »
    I blame it on the lack of toilets, or is it bins?

I blame it on the boogie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Normal One

Darndale voted over 80% for SF in the last election.

Have you got a source for any of your claims?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,624 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Mimon wrote: »
    What is more of a priority than keeping people safe from scumbag thugs?

Nothing, but crime doesn't stop in other areas just because there's a crowd in one area. It was a running joke for a good few years but anytime we were put on the beat, we usually expected it to last a couple of hours at most before we'd be put into some spare car found somewhere and sent off to do calls. There are just not enough Gardai.
    Muahahaha wrote: »
    We dont have that in Dublin and until we do then these problems of scumbags taking over the streets will just carry on and on.

I agree with all of your post, but the issue boils down to numbers, of which there are still not enough, not near enough. And that's down to the budget, which needs to be massively increased to bring in more Gardai, pay them properly (25k?! Madness), equip them properly, retain them, retrain them, keep them updated... It's not there to make profit, but where will this money come from? Your suggestion of all those members and units available for Friday/Saturday nights, that's a lot, most stations would struggle to fill the available overtime to do that. Gardai themselves don't actually want to do overtime, but a lot have to because they need the extra money for many reasons. I used to volunteer a lot, but over time I stopped because it just wasn't worth the extra hassle in the end, job was busy enough as it was without adding to it.

I couldn't see how it could be fixed, especially not in my time, so that helped me decide to leave (among many other reasons). My mental and physical health had to come first, and the job can destroy both of those. Fair play to the honest members who can still do it. It's not immune to human folly, but it's one of those jobs that no matter how few cause the trouble, everyone one of you gets the blame. I was getting blamed for stuff that happened when I was still a child ffs!

The revolving door is the biggest issue though. We need more prison space, we need stricter sentences, we need jail to be a deterrent, we need crime to have actual consequences, and we need far better support and protections for victims. I just can't see it happening, at least not significantly enough to make an impact. I always thought that the Gardai were about 10 years behind the UK police, and that eventually we would get over our softly softly approach to crime and criminals, but I can't see that happening either.

As someone else said above, I know that these incidents are not always happening, but even the threat of it happening is enough to put me off. It's not like there are gangs of youths targeting each other, they're targeting everyone and anyone who takes their fancy. I have a great big ginger beard and I'm 5'6", that makes me stand out. I don't need to take the chance, regardless of how small it may be, it's my luck! And i'm not alone in that, even if it may not be affecting footfall as it returns, it will eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭Dante

Awh man, I literally just moved from Croydon to get away from the constant gang-related stabbings. Literally every day there was a new stabbing there. Googling Croydon at any time and you are almost guaranteed that the top news article will be about some lad getting knifed.

These cúnts over here seem to be adopting all the shíte they see on social media from these fellas in London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,771 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I agree with all of your post, but the issue boils down to numbers, of which there are still not enough, not near enough. And that's down to the budget, which needs to be massively increased to bring in more Gardai, pay them properly (25k?! Madness), equip them properly, retain them, retrain them, keep them updated... It's not there to make profit, but where will this money come from? Your suggestion of all those members and units available for Friday/Saturday nights, that's a lot, most stations would struggle to fill the available overtime to do that. Gardai themselves don't actually want to do overtime, but a lot have to because they need the extra money for many reasons. I used to volunteer a lot, but over time I stopped because it just wasn't worth the extra hassle in the end, job was busy enough as it was without adding to it

Yeah of course it involves more resources but it is badly needed now in the city centre because having no more than a handful of Gardai policing busy Friday/Saturday nights just isnt adequate to keep the place safe. DCC estimate that Fri/Sat nights see between 80,000-100,000 people coming into the city socialising between Dublin 1 and 2 yet there are nowhere near enough Gardai to police these kinds of numbers.

As to where the money comes from I would be in favour for at least some of it being paid through a levy on the rates of city centre businesses who operate in the night time economy, so all the pubs, restaurants, nightclubs from Harcourt & Camden St up to OConnell St and everything in between. The GAA already pays for hundreds of Gardai to police games at Croke Park on the basis these games bring up to 80,000 people into the D1/D3 area. So it shouldnt be seen as any different for the D1/D2 area on weekend nights where you have up to 100,000 coming into the area and extra Gardai are needed.

Im sure some would be complaining about it but Id say if you asked any business owner on Sth William St if paying a levy meant they have Gardai frequently on the street, maintaining visibility and acting as a deterrent to the street fighting we saw in that video then they would be happy to pay. It is not in those businesses interests for their street to gain a reputation as a place where a full on street fight can break out at any moment and recent events have shown us it is kind of going that way. The alternative of doing nothing and carrying on as we are is only going to result in less footfall in the city centre if people dont feel safe from these gangs of scummers marauding about the place and picking fights with random strangers just for their own entertainment. If thats allowed to continue then its a slippery slope to punters just saying they wont go into town anymore at which point the scummers will have ruined it for all of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Live by the knife, die by the knife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Yeah of course it involves more resources but it is badly needed now in the city centre because having no more than a handful of Gardai policing busy Friday/Saturday nights just isnt adequate to keep the place safe. DCC estimate that Fri/Sat nights see between 80,000-100,000 people coming into the city socialising between Dublin 1 and 2 yet there are nowhere near enough Gardai to police these kinds of numbers.

As to where the money comes from I would be in favour for at least some of it being paid through a levy on the rates of city centre businesses who operate in the night time economy, so all the pubs, restaurants, nightclubs from Harcourt & Camden St up to OConnell St and everything in between. The GAA already pays for hundreds of Gardai to police games at Croke Park on the basis these games bring up to 80,000 people into the D1/D3 area. So it shouldnt be seen as any different for the D1/D2 area on weekend nights where you have up to 100,000 coming into the area and extra Gardai are needed.

Im sure some would be complaining about it but Id say if you asked any business owner on Sth William St if paying a levy meant they have Gardai frequently on the street, maintaining visibility and acting as a deterrent to the street fighting we saw in that video then they would be happy to pay. It is not in those businesses interests for their street to gain a reputation as a place where a full on street fight can break out at any moment and recent events have shown us it is kind of going that way. The alternative of doing nothing and carrying on as we are is only going to result in less footfall in the city centre if people dont feel safe from these gangs of scummers marauding about the place and picking fights with random strangers just for their own entertainment. If thats allowed to continue then its a slippery slope to punters just saying they wont go into town anymore at which point the scummers will have ruined it for all of us.

its not that the Gardai don't know or catch these guy either or in the near future. When they are caught there is nothing done the courts let them out. No lessons are been given other than to keep doing what your doing as there are very little consequences to illegal activity. From a law respecting citizen you might think a suspended or short sentence is a lesson. But its not they don't care. The sentencing should be taken off the hands of judges in cases where the defendant has been convicted a number of times. Its clear they have not reformed and the previous court action has not stopped them. 10 convictions 10 years. This will clean up a lot of hard necks and perhaps make the others think a little before committing crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

pjohnson wrote: »
    Most decent folk have no need to worry about Gardai using powers on them.

Those that do need to worry need to take a look in the mirror, or are already being pursued by Gardai.

Like say, Maurice McCabe? Or the shopkeeper in Balbriggan who asked for his €9k that was kept as evidence and “disappeared” from the evidence room in the Garda station? Or the one from Swords who had his €25k mysteriously vanish from Malahide Garda Station??

They seriously need a look in the mirror, working for a living and having cops help themselves to their takings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,323 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Maybe we have to do what the left says and give these citizens a Universal Basic Income immediately?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭EB_2013

It says 2 of the arrested were in their 20's and one was a teenager. None of the young lads look like they are in their twenties. I wonder was that a different incident. There's too many of these feral scum wandering around the city centre free to do as they choose.

Maybe we have to do what the left says and give these citizens a Universal Basic Income immediately?

We should give them free money, free housing and free medical care for life. All paid for by taking a considerable chunk of income from hard working, law abiding people like me.

Seems fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,111 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

fly_agaric wrote: »
    Even in "rough" areas of Dublin families + their children who cause this sort of trouble are a small minority. They + families likely do not vote IMO. Turnout is and always was very poor in these areas anyway.

Ironically, while I'd agree with criticisms of bleeding heart approaches to justice + a lack of actual punishments being part of the problem, afair it was somewhat dodgy types connected to SF that used in the past to put manners on thugs & junkies in such areas when they started to cause too much trouble.

After all that is where they traditionally made life hell for ordinary people just trying to go about their business in the past (thinking my childhood in the 80s/90s). That bullshít wasn't happening (wasn't permitted to happen) in the wealthy/nice parts of Dublin.

What seems a bit new this time of the pandemic is they've somewhat taken over the city centre because it has been left to them. They've expanded range of their targets for abuse and harassment and are uppling the levels of violence because there has been no push back really (as yet).

The dodgy types connected to SF were clearing out the competition, to fund their criminal and political activities, not some type of Robin Hood behaviour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,376 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

blanch152 wrote: »
    The dodgy types connected to SF were clearing out the competition, to fund their criminal and political activities, not some type of Robin Hood behaviour

I don't know about that (honestly). I thought at the time they mainly did it (in Dublin, can't speak for elsewhere) to increase support for SF.
    I didn't claim it was "some sort of Robin Hood behaviour" and in any case it I believe it is the job of the guards and the justice system to protect decent people from criminality and violence, not vigilantes/opposing forces of thugs. Vigilantism is a sign of failure.
    I made no positive statements about it at all and you constructed that narrative in your own head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

We should give them free money, free housing and free medical care for life. All paid for by taking a considerable chunk of income from hard working, law abiding people like me.

Seems fair.

Isn't this already happening?

Yet still.......

blanch152 wrote: »

Change the record. Take your political mudslinging elsewhere.

Every. Single. ****ing. Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,057 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

You can get these electric fence type things you put around the boundary of the house and then put a collar on your dog. If the dog tries to get past the fence he gets an electric shock.
    Now personally I'm in no way in favour of them and I'd never do that to my own dog.

But in saying that... Thinking outside the oul box for a second, If we put a fence around the scumbags house and a tag on his ankle.. Might keep them off the streets. Allowing the rest of society to go about thier business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,323 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Just a normal day on O'Connell Street

https://twitter.com/dubslife1/status/1406534016665370625

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,394 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Unadulterated kip

I've been living in Dublin for over a decade, and while I love living here it's also a ****hole, in many ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,945 ✭✭✭Feisar

The Aran Store? That sort of paddy whackery needs to be kept away from the main street in the city.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,945 ✭✭✭Feisar

Darndale voted over 80% SF so yeah someone in their family is voting for them.

I don't know why they'd vote SF. It's successive FF/FG governments that have given them everything.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »
    I don't know why they'd vote SF. It's successive FF/FG governments that have given them everything.

They clearly believe it's not enough. Imagine thinking that free money, healthcare, housing, children's allowance, etc. is not enough.

Feisar wrote: »
    The Aran Store? That sort of paddy whackery needs to be kept away from the main street in the city.

Their target market are tourists. I thought that would have been quite obvious.

Another angle. The commentator sums it up well. Middle of O'Connell St and no guards. They are not arsed with putting a proper police presence there as should be there full time.

Just something that has come into my mind with daily videos, knife attacks and vicious assaults that anti social behaviour seems to have ramped up a notch again post Covid. I think that's indisputable at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,981 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Go way ouha that!!

Salt a d earth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭crazy 88

AHHHH LEEEEVE IT OW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

There’s a feela there coulda played for Holland in their heyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,343 ✭✭✭ooter

couple of nice shots there from the topless lad, he'd have more than enough for any of them 1 on 1 but that's not how they roll.