Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

The state of the center of the capital city, what needs to be done?

• 14-06-2021 4:34pm
    Registered Users Posts: 23,447 ✭✭✭✭

While Dublin City Council social media is so keen to display the few areas on the southside being pedestrianised there is really an unacceptable situation on the northside which seems to being let go basically.

E3xG2DUWYAE4RYK?format=jpg&name=large

https://twitter.com/CiaranLyng/status/1404075085129039872

https://twitter.com/IsMiseMarcas/status/1404105521582465025

Have they accepted it's developing nation status now around them here parts?

This is just off supposedly the main street in the country.

So what's to be done here?

Anyone have an ideas that can help them?

Start with the junkie clinics? Some garda patrols? Public realm works?

Why do we even have a city council at this stage?

I think Dubliners who pay their taxes deserve answers as to why this is the level of service provided as well as the rest of the country.

Maybe they are too busy preventing housing to do the basic stuff they are suppose to do? :mad: The city is a national embarrassment.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,745 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I was in town yesterday, the new pedestrianised parts are great, Parliament St and Capel St had a great buzz going on, as did around South William St. Nice buzz and everyone enjoying themselves.
    Dublin has social problems, so does the whole of Ireland, county and city councils nationwide are pretty sh*t, but things are on the up in Dublin from what I can see, with better facilities, bike lanes etc being rolled out.
    The homeless problem is an issue, as is drug addiction, they seem to go hand in hand, but these are problems we've had for decades and wont be solved overnight. That's not really in the hands of the council either.
    Do you live in Dublin Kermit? You seem to be very keen on posting about how much of a sh*thole it is all the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Nothing can be done, take a look at the state of the Dublins main thoroughfare, Not only did the NTA put one of the ugliest tram stations on earth in the middle of it, they recently added these:

oconnell_street_digishelter_0.jpg

With ultra bright led adverts that display a new advert every few seconds

Maybe electing a Mayor would do something as the parties would have to actually promise to address issues, instead of letting a city manager run the whole show

A complete ban on advertising in the city centre would be a start.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The great thing about Dublin city centre is that youre never more than a junkie's shuffle away from a Spar or a Londis.

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭crooked cockney villain

While this is no doubt hyperbolic nonsense it raises one valid point. Why, for circa 25 years now, does Ireland have Roma resident who have no intention of working?

If they're working, good enough. But some studies have shown them to have an upwards of 90% unemployment rate. There is a permanent presence of upwards of 40 of them permanently loitering on near the Spire at North King St.

The EU excuse isn't relevant, EU citizens who have no intent of working can be removed from another EU state.

While most of these lads seem to live in squats, hostels and other dodgy accommodation, at least some of them do somehow manage to get themselves on housing lists, HAP etc. There are plenty of them living in private rentals in the D15 area.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,797 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

The world and its mother knows what needs to be done, but its too politically toxic to ever actually happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭85603

junkie wagons might be a start.

if you're high on gear they just van you. test and van, test and van.

drop you off in foxrock. or some clinic somewhere. get them out of the center.

its not like they're going to resist.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 22 Onion Bahji

The city is lost. Cut it loose. Focus on those cities which can still be saved.

Larbre34 wrote: »
    The world and its mother knows what needs to be done, but its too politically toxic to ever actually happen.

remove all social housing from the city center?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Northernlily

85603 wrote: »

Agree!! And the drug treatment centres.

Take a walk up Rutland St and Marlborough St on a sunny Wednesday morning. Walking dead has nothing on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,865 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Just wondered if there is any other European capital that has its dodgy, poor, homeless by choice, junkies, and so on congregating or living in their city centres? Maybe there are, but generally speaking the downtown core of most cities is dominated by good architecture, nice street vibe, good shopping and eateries, museums, galleries, and a cared for atmosphere. I know there is criminality, scamming, and pickpockets everywhere, but Dublin is a bit different in that many lowlifes actually live in the core city centre.

Now I do know I will be lit upon for suggesting the unsightly and unwell should be moved to the periphery, but seriously..... the value of some of the real estate within a square km of OCS must be huge and a good chunk of it is occupied by those who have been provided with this property by the State. Time to gentrify the Northside for sure. The Georgian architecture is amazing but very neglected in parts, it is ripe for restoration and revitalisation. The broken window syndrome I suppose has embedded itself into once beautiful streetscapes.

https://www.google.com/maps/@53.3577161,-6.2572516,3a,75y,320.63h,91.34t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sajH-wwmU4fmcyfE9E7Qqiw!2e0!7i16384!8i8192

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Northernlily

The problem is its highly visible in the main thoroughfare of Dublin and tourist drop off point. Not a good look having junkies roaming around hassling people with impunity.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

While Dublin City Council social media is so keen to display the few areas on the southside being pedestrianised there is really an unacceptable situation on the northside which seems to being let go basically.

E3xG2DUWYAE4RYK?format=jpg&name=large

Man that looks photo shopped it's so bad, pretty shocking alright. Looks like redacted US intelligence release

airstrike talbot st.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,272 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Send an email to your Lord Mayor and it will no doubt be sorted ASAP

• Registered Users Posts: 407 ✭✭LMHC

Its the north side. Once you hit Westmorland street your laughing.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,675 ✭✭✭buried

What needs to be done? Replace all the useless people within the current echelons of high ranked civil authority with other people who actually give a f**k about our society, culture and identity and then we might get somewhere.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Packrat

Either:

A mid sized nuke..
    OR
    Another mass.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users Posts: 23,797 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

85603 wrote: »

Simply put, yes.

But theres more to it than that. It's the concentration of it, the lack of policing and estate management leading to ghettoisation and so on. A better mix of land use in the north inner City, including housing types, would give a much better balance.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,709 ✭✭✭✭JRant

For a start, close the walking dead centres on Abbey street and Woodquay. That sorts about 75% of the issues straight away.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭randd1

Power wash the feckin place.

It looks dirty because it is dirty.