If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Teenagers with no value for life and no care for repercussions - **Read OP**

Good luck with that but they are building whole blocks of new social only housing in and around the area.

Really? Where exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,579 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

The river end of the street is okish, the northern end is an absolute disgrace and quite embarrassing really. Very run down. The fast food joints and gambling holes are the icing on the cake.

Could you imagine a Doctor Quirkys on Oxford Street or the Champs-Élysées? No neither can I.

Never been enough civic pride in Ireland in general. Everything is feckless and not thought out properly.
    I can't believe the amount of money that is being spent on the site of Clery's, it will all be for nothing as the area will need to be completely dekipified for it to become an attraction again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭hellyeah

I can't believe the amount of money that is being spent on the site of Clery's, it will all be for nothing as the area will need to be completely dekipified for it to become an attraction again.

Dekipified , love it. Laughing my head off 🀣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,578 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Really? Where exactly?

Here is a selection I found on Twitter but there are others as well in D1 near Gardiner St and Talbot Street, Foley Street.

https://twitter.com/DaveyDonn/status/1401461526792445953

I thought govt policy was mixed tenure and this was in the past. I don't think there is any private apartments being built in the area at all actually. Could be wrong but I think it's all social.

It's not a good idea. It will only make things worse.

Here is a selection I found on Twitter but there are others as well in D1 near Gardiner St and Talbot Street, Foley Street.

https://twitter.com/DaveyDonn/status/1401461526792445953

I thought govt policy was mixed tenure and this was in the past. I don't think there is any private apartments being built in the area at all actually. Could be wrong but I think it's all social.

It's not a good idea. It will only make things worse.

Wow, thanks for this. I'm in the market at the moment and I was debating whether to stay in the city or move further away.

I think I've made my mind up now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Shebean

gmisk wrote: »
    Good luck with getting the fines from their parents...you honestly think they will be working? Lol
    Doubt it's legal to take from their welfare either zzz

Let's not make assumptions. Maybe deciding who are responsible in advance is missing part of the picture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

The genie is well and truly out of the bottle in Dublin. The problem is too many toerags have been indulged for far too long with the result that they are now an entitled shower and have no sense of responsibilty. The mindset is all 'we can do whatever the fcuk we like in this country' and they pass that attitude along to their feral offspring.

I'm sure it's been said many times in this thread but you just don't see this behaviour in the centre of other big cities across Europe. I'm not saying they don't have issues, no doubt they do. But there seems to be a particular breed of nihilistic Dublin thug whose sole mission in life is to cause as much disruption and damage to everything that's going on around them.

I grew up in a working class area of Dublin and saw plenty of thuggery back in the day but what's happening now is on a different level and not just because we're seeing more of it on social media etc. As someone said earlier it's like they're in competition with each other to see who can behave the worst.

It's a bit late for me as my kids are in or near their teens but if I was starting out raising a young family I'd be out of here. Dublin has many great aspects to it but the place is being overrun by feral rats and unfortunately I don't see how the tide can be turned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,147 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

And unfortunately what has taken over there, will likely spread to other Irish cities over the coming years.

NIMAN wrote: »
    And unfortunately what has taken over there, will likely spread to other Irish cities over the coming years.

Cork has already been overrun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭XVII

I'm sure it's been said many times in this thread but you just don't see this behaviour in the centre of other big cities across Europe.

you'd be surprised but some experts here were claiming the opposite earlier in this thread. That youth crime is everywhere in Europe and Dublin is no different. Seems they all disappeared after howth incident however :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Pretty normal human behaviour after a year of lockdowns

We cannot blame covid restriction lockdown, bellends being bellends has been happening before that, reopen St. Pats again, fine the parents, guardians, bring in curfews etc.,

The genie is well and truly out of the bottle in Dublin. The problem is too many toerags have been indulged for far too long with the result that they are now an entitled shower and have no sense of responsibilty. The mindset is all 'we can do whatever the fcuk we like in this country' and they pass that attitude along to their feral offspring.

I'm sure it's been said many times in this thread but you just don't see this behaviour in the centre of other big cities across Europe. I'm not saying they don't have issues, no doubt they do. But there seems to be a particular breed of nihilistic Dublin thug whose sole mission in life is to cause as much disruption and damage to everything that's going on around them.

I grew up in a working class area of Dublin and saw plenty of thuggery back in the day but what's happening now is on a different level and not just because we're seeing more of it on social media etc. As someone said earlier it's like they're in competition with each other to see who can behave the worst.

It's a bit late for me as my kids are in or near their teens but if I was starting out raising a young family I'd be out of here. Dublin has many great aspects to it but the place is being overrun by feral rats and unfortunately I don't see how the tide can be turned.

It has serious repercussions on the city's reputation as well. Word gets round and less people will visit if they perceive it's a dangerous kip.

It's a quality of life issue. Who is going to want to live in the center of a city that has these problems so open and obvious?

I don't understand how the city is so mismanaged and the lack of basic common sense when it comes to a whole range of issues.

The clinics is the one that sticks out a mile. Who thought it would be a good idea to have addicts from all over Leinster converging in the city center on a daily basis?

It's stupid things like that I can't understand.

It's like nothing is thought through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,147 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Crime is in all major cities, people claiming European capitals have no crime are just trying their best to make Dublin sound bad.

I have been in parts of Barcelona, Madrid, Paris, Amsterdam, Milan that I didn't feel safe in.

Crime is in all major cities, people claiming European capitals have no crime are just trying their best to make Dublin sound bad.

I have been in parts of Barcelona, Madrid, Paris, Amsterdam, Milan that I didn't feel safe in.

In Dublin's case a lot of it appears actively self inflicted through bad planning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

I've been in all those cities bar Milan and never once did I feel anything but safe. I didn't travel much to the suburbs, don't know if it's those areas you're talking about or what.

As for trying to make Dublin sound bad, why the hell would I want to do that? I live here, my family and friends live here. I want to have a good life here. I don't want Dublin to be a hellhole but I can see with my own two eyes that's where it's headed and it's better to be honest about it than pretend it's not happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

It's not just Dublin. Its literally every single town and city in this country where this is happening. Its the product of a consumerist and utterly materialistic society combined with state sanctioned perpetual social welfare payments and a failed justice system. Nothing matters to these people doing the street damage, nothing is worked for, even the things that think they are supposed to worship, like whatever their favourite global sport brand of tracksuit pants are, that don't matter either because given half the chance they'd loot the sports tracksuit shop and burn it down given half the opportunity. See what happened in London in 2011.
    Literally nothing matters to them because that's the way it is. Religion and spirituality is dead and gone, and with it is any semblance of some sort of moral framework. So is the notion of the any semblance of community. This is the product of a total nihilistic, materialistic, brand worshipping society. At least in other consumerist societies where this is the case the police have been briefed on the repercussions of it and are allowed to go in and welt the heads off anybody who steps out of line.
    People want it both ways in Ireland but you can't. You can't have a nihilistic, materialistic, brand worshipping society and expect to have some police force that will only act with kid gloves and kitten mittens. If you corporate all of society to solely work on a materialistic level, then you must do the same for the police and the justice system. The same level of brutality must be the same all over or else it won't work. And it doesn't. Even the laughing gas guzzling feral kids have figured this out and the proof is the last week.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭brucky

“It’s time for a change” why are certain political parties criticising the Guards? How can thuggish antisocial behaviour be capitalised on? How can politicians find an angle to suit their “one for everyone in the audience” agenda? Are the Greens & SF the new Trump? What are this cohort of younger people alienated/upset about. When I went into town most were underage, drinking bottles of vodka, so it cannot be the generation rent, youse have fecked it all up for us. I am trying to understand why politicians and the media are enabling this behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

brucky wrote: »
    “It’s time for a change” why are certain political parties criticising the Guards? How can thuggish antisocial behaviour be capitalised on? How can politicians find an angle to suit their “one for everyone in the audience” agenda Are the Greens & SF the new Trump?

Cos they are terrified of being accused of punching down or actually saying someone should have personal responsibility for their actions?

brucky wrote: »
    “It’s time for a change” why are certain political parties criticising the Guards? How can thuggish antisocial behaviour be capitalised on? How can politicians find an angle to suit their “one for everyone in the audience” agenda Are the Greens & SF the new Trump?

The Greens I don't get. These toes rags are not part of their constituency. SF is different. Fact is a lot of the youth come from areas that are natural hinterland for SF so they are afraid to criticise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

The Greens I don't get. These toes rags are not part of their constituency. SF is different. Fact is a lot of the youth come from areas that are natural hinterland for SF so they are afraid to criticise.

Green party are now under the assumption that every single teenager and young person on the planet now follows the mantra of Greta Thunberg and are potential green party voters.
    Jokes on them.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,844 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

There should be a mandatory draft signed in that anyone on long term unemployment but are physically fit to work, or any of the young offenders should have to do a 2 year stint in the army.
    A bit of purpose and discipline might steer them straight because what we as society are doing now isn’t working.

There should be a mandatory draft signed in that anyone on long term unemployment but are physically fit to work, or any of the young offenders should have to do a 2 year stint in the army.
    A bit of purpose and discipline might steer them straight because what we as society are doing now isn’t working.

Switzerland have that, I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

It’s like there is a group of disgruntled pensioners in here, ranting and raving how everything used to be better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭swarlb

This seems to be a mantra that's touted whenever 'the youth' are seen to be out of control, and need a bit of manners put on them. Leaving aside those under 18, who probably account for a sizeable chunk of those involved in crime, are you suggesting that anyone within the age group suitable for army service be 'drafted' simply because they are on long term unemployment, or only those fit for service.
    I wonder what the cost would be to the state, for an individual to be drafted....
    Would they be paid standard army wages....
    What will happened to them on leaving the service.... back to unemployment again probably.

Having a mandatory army stint is a completely difference thing than simply drafting someone simply because they are long term unemployed.
    Not everyone who is unemployed is involved in criminality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

It has serious repercussions on the city's reputation as well. Word gets round and less people will visit if they perceive it's a dangerous kip.

It's a quality of life issue. Who is going to want to live in the center of a city that has these problems so open and obvious?

I don't understand how the city is so mismanaged and the lack of basic common sense when it comes to a whole range of issues.

The clinics is the one that sticks out a mile. Who thought it would be a good idea to have addicts from all over Leinster converging in the city center on a daily basis?

It's stupid things like that I can't understand.

It's like nothing is thought through.

Dublin's always been a kip. I remember reading that the US embassy had to issue a dozens new passports every year due to the amount of yanks getting mugged in town . The Boardwalks nothing but a magnet for junkies and pissheads. Go into town on a sunny day and every junkie comes out of the wood work . It's not a great image for Ireland for tourist who arrive in our capital city and see piss heads , junkies and gangs of scrotes roaming everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,948 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

The last thing we want to be doing is making these scrotes proficient with weaponry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Howitzer the 5th

Been to the first three cities mentioned above a few times. All naturally have an equilibrium of various socio economic groups. There are proper dodge areas in all three and quite often abject poverty to a relative degree. Paris along with London and Moscow is among the largest scale city in Europe and Madrid is effectively the capital of the Spanish speaking world attracting huge numbers from Latin American countries. Many seemingly unwanted, while Barcelona is arguably the continent's most travelled to or popular city albeit huge crime issues. However long story short, if you act the bollix like this afterbirth in those cities, you get your head clubbed in. Point is. I felt as safe as houses in those cities. You don't assault people there. John Q Law won't have it. Dublin's degeneration as a cesspit of spotty arsed disaffection and destruction makes it way beyond immediate intervention and resuscitation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

Sure there was people claiming that job- bridge programme was akin to slavery . They got an extra 50 quid on their scratcher for doing a few hours work a week .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,844 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

swarlb wrote: »
    This seems to be a mantra that's touted whenever 'the youth' are seen to be out of control, and need a bit of manners put on them. Leaving aside those under 18, who probably account for a sizeable chunk of those involved in crime, are you suggesting that anyone within the age group suitable for army service be 'drafted' simply because they are on long term unemployment, or only those fit for service.
    I wonder what the cost would be to the state, for an individual to be drafted....
    Would they be paid standard army wages....
    What will happened to them on leaving the service.... back to unemployment again probably.

Having a mandatory army stint is a completely difference thing than simply drafting someone simply because they are long term unemployed.
    Not everyone who is unemployed is involved in criminality.

What’s it costing to keep them at home watching eastenders.give them the same money after drafting them and make it a criminal offence to not serve.
    The country is a fcukin jokeshop as it is.money for nothing for the lads and the day long for doing what suits them.

Perhaps the answer is more free money, free houses and softer judges?