Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will the Rovers ever Return? Your pub megathread, Part 2 - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

I'm confused. Every news outlet seems be reporting a different story. I know it's all outdoors as of today but does it have to be dining or can you just go for a pint without food?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

I'm confused. Every news outlet seems be reporting a different story. I know it's all outdoors as of today but does it have to be dining or can you just go for a pint without food?

Food requirement is gone. Pubs can just serve pints outdoors now. Restaurants still need to serve food with liquor but that isnt a covid requirement, that has always been the case if they wanted a liquor license (makes sense)

Where are you seeing anything else being reported?

Is it 10 o'clock the mayhem starts?

Grogans are opening at 10.30 today for the 1st time in 15 months. Wish them all the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

M_Murphy57 wrote: »
    Food requirement is gone. Pubs can just serve pints outdoors now. Restaurants still need to serve food with liquor but that isnt a covid requirement, that has always been the case if they wanted a liquor license (makes sense)

Where are you seeing anything else being reported?
    Can't remember I was half asleep maybe I just read wrong there was some newspaper that kept mentioning "outdoor dining" it just came across as dining only but I said I was half asleep probably mis read it.

Grogans are opening at 10.30 today for the 1st time in 15 months. Wish them all the best.

Them and everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,317 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Enjoy everyone be safe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Do we know is the toastie fridge in operation, im due to swing by in the afternoon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,212 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Pint number two after a lovely, record breaking walk into town, and a breakfast burrito for soakage.

Long day ahead

Walking around my home town, several publicans dashing to make final preparations. Saluted each one in passing, wished them all the best. They certainly need it after being a de facto whipping post for past year. Refreshing to witness such a bustling atmosphere returning, all this positivity will be anathema to the killjoys who are now stuck for a new hobby. In a matter of hours, breaking six month drought with a deluge of porter. That first sup will be pure heaven, lap it up boyos the good times are back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭howiya

Can't get out today due to other commitments later on but took a spin in the car around a few of the locals to see what their arrangements were. Will definitely sample later in the week. Good luck to all returning to work/opening up today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Pints are going down very well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭crooked cockney villain

, all this positivity will be anathema to the killjoys who are now stuck for a new hobby..

That's nearly the best part- the upset this will cause all those stinking lefties who have absolutely loved lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭pottokblue

Nowhere apart from MickeyDs open for breakfast this morning heyhup I'm going to bed with a whisky sleeper

Do we know is the toastie fridge in operation, im due to swing by in the afternoon

I can confirm its fully stocked!

What’s it like out there in rural locations? I gave it a miss after as I was expecting something like Walmart on Black Friday but hopefully won’t be too long to get for one. The time limit should really have been left in place for the first few weeks to give everyone a chance to get in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,251 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

What’s it like out there in rural locations? I gave it a miss after as I was expecting something like Walmart on Black Friday but hopefully won’t be too long to get for one. The time limit should really have been left in place for the first few weeks to give everyone a chance to get in.

There's a Dublin city Instagram account who's story have them going around the city, seems nice and busy but not past days of Rome just yet.

The time limit should really have been left in place for the first few weeks to give everyone a chance to get in.

Either you're being naive or disingenuous. We're past the dark ages of petty time constraints, let's never contemplate them again or even deem such bullology acceptable. And before the usual suspects chime in with snarky one-liners, good luck finding a publican with a measuring tape and stopwatch. Common sense is the order of the day, enough beer gardens are open to thin out the herd. I'll be cherishing my 5/6 hours on the lash this evening, keep that till ringing...all parties are satisfied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Unfortunately our local beer garden opened today with a booking system and time limit.

Gave it a miss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,970 ✭✭✭buried

What’s it like out there in rural locations?

In my town none of them are open. The majority don't have the space for outdoor tables on the street or anyplace else like a beer garden, save one spot and they didn't open either, but that's fair enough, they probably adopted a community approach to all open together. A lot of them are getting work done inside the houses for next month, probably refitting them out for space or ventilation in the hope they can stay open for good.

Getting sent some lovely photos from friends who live in Dublin out having a few. Seems to be a lovely atmosphere, staff constantly on the move for the table orders, looks mighty. Hope it goes well for everybody there who went so long without the hospitality and the business.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭Cork2021

5 out of 11 pubs/gastro pubs have opened in my town in cork.
    I’ve a table booked in one of the pubs for 4pm Saturday!! Looking forward to it now!
    Couple of pubs are just bookings at the weekends the rest are a bit of both but better to book!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,158 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I've just seen Barry Keoghan ad for reopening for Guinness, Tesco also wishing publicans good luck too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,317 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

On my first pint now

Bliss absolutely bliss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭MOH

Wow. Still slightly shocked this actually happened.
    Despite a running covid average 14 times higher than this day last year when they were still being blamed, pubs finally allowed open after 15 months.

Or "bars" as RTE and the IT insisted on referring to them as.

Hope most of the remainder make it back in a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Equium

The smell of weekend p*ss aside, Dublin City centre looked and felt incredible today. Great atmosphere around the place. Fair play to all of the publicans and restauranteers who opened up, and fair play to DCC for facilitating outdoor dining en masse.

The capital really feels like another city with so many opportunities to eat and drink in the sun. I could have been fooled to think I was in Paris or Brussels with the number of terraces available. It can't last all year, of course, but long may we continue to enjoy this one enforced change from the pandemic.

By the way, I can indeed confirm that pints taste infinitely better than their bottled or canned cousins. What a day.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    On my first pint now

Bliss absolutely bliss

I was out an hour earlier than your good self, buzzing after it. Young bar manager tried to run us at 10pm, not invested with common sense. I piped up, "that's fine if you want to lose our custom permanently". He got the hint, made our exit at the midnight hour. Taxi man was in good spirits, and so he should. Hospitality reopening has significant benefits for the local economy, long may it continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Young bar manager tried to run us at 10pm, not invested with common sense. I piped up, "that's fine if you want to lose our custom permanently"

Jaysus, whatever would they do :rollseyes:

Degag wrote: »
    Jaysus, whatever would they do :rollseyes:

I'll entertain your petty snipe, if only for my own amusement. We frequented the usual haunt last night, eight of us split between two tables. About two hundred odd went into the register. As it happens, I've known the owner for years and there is an excellent rapport. He wasn't present past night, made the mistake of installing a donkey at short notice. I got a text this morning, apologising for the confusion. All credit to him. As a regular, I've thrown many a bob behind that bar and expect a modicum of respect in return. A mutually beneficial relationship, you follow? It's a quantum leap, but I'll give you the benefit of the doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,212 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Woke up sunburnt, with a hoor of a hangover, alone in my bed as the GF stayed over in her parent's house. Overturned chair in the kitchen, and a trail of coins leading to the bedroom.

Needless to say the day went well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭jakiah

I'll entertain your petty snipe, if only for my own amusement. We frequented the usual haunt last night, eight of us split between two tables. About two hundred odd went into the register. As it happens, I've known the owner for years and there is an excellent rapport. He wasn't present past night, made the mistake of installing a donkey at short notice. I got a text this morning, apologising for the confusion. All credit to him. As a regular, I've thrown many a bob behind that bar and expect a modicum of respect in return. A mutually beneficial relationship, you follow? It's a quantum leap, but I'll give you the benefit of the doubt.
    200 quid between 8 of you, big spenders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,251 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

30 quid a head? Jaysus he can build an extra floor on the holiday villa.