Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

If crowds drinking is a problem leading to the outbreaks in Limerick, why have we not seen them in Cork, Galway and Dublin?

PTH2009 wrote: »

Hmmm, spike is cases of a highly infectious disease in a particular area. Why on earth would the cmo and official tasked with managing said infectious disease be involved in discussions about the spike in one of the biggest urban areas in the country.

Would ye listen to yerselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,788 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

If crowds drinking is a problem leading to the outbreaks in Limerick, why have we not seen them in Cork, Galway and Dublin?

Cork Galway and Dublin were nuts last year with covid cases, if I'd to take a guess it's just limericks turn now few weeks of high case numbers and they'll be back to normal soon after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭MOR316

I think this needs to be addressed. Not just here but everywhere.

Alcohol and boozing is a very easy target to blame. Personally, I find it a lazy finger pointing exercise.
    Communions, family get togethers, one night stands (I know someone who got it from that) amongst other things ain't alcohol spreading it.

Anyways, it is what it is. Once this weekend passes, majority of the crowds will have a place to go

Boggles wrote: »
    Who and where did you say to him?

I said Tony Holohan is an advisor to the Government, not him as in the doctor I was speaking to.

Just incase there was confusion... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,942 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Because it's a very certain section of society in Limerick that the outbreak is centred on....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,242 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Why is the head of the health emergency team involved in the health emergency? Can't think of a single reason....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-57346888

Rinse and repeat, If they use this as a metric then this will never end .

Cases will rise - it;s all valleys and peaks.
    Variants will always be around.

Even with 100% vaccination.

Ah a new "Nepal mutant of the Indian variant".

Jesus, what about the double Norwegian South African Spanish triple mutant special ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭NIAC Fanboy

Hmmm, spike is cases of a highly infectious disease in a particular area. Why on earth would the cmo and official tasked with managing said infectious disease be involved in discussions about the spike in one of the biggest urban areas in the country.

Would ye listen to yerselves.

Because we have about 80 in hospital in the entire country so it's hardly an emergency at this point?

TomSweeney wrote: »

Jesus, what about the double Norwegian South African Spanish triple mutant special ???

Can get that in McDonalds I believe

It's just hilarious at this stage with all these mutant delta double variants which nobody cares about 12 months ago.

It's pure pantomime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,215 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

It's just hilarious at this stage with all these mutant delta double variants which nobody cares about 12 months ago.

It's pure pantomime.
    Yeah it is and the worrying thing is governments will give in so easily

'Sure let's lockdown just in case'

Let's remind ourselves what Tony said about Donegal a few weeks back.

“It is a concerning level of compliance compared to the rest of the country,” Dr Holohan said last week.

“The kind of things that even the dogs on the street in Donegal know shouldn’t be happening,” he added.

I wonder will we get a garda ratline for Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

It's pure pantomime.

Brilliant post. Left me speechless.

12 months ago these mutations didn't exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Ballynally

After giving out about outdoor gatherings in Dublin, his next tweet is about indoor gatherings in Limerick. Not sure if this will mean a tout line in Limerick or a local lockdown.

https://twitter.com/CMOIreland/status/1400500818206507016

I think i am not the only one who thinks TH, as the CMO, should be there giving advice to the government in an official capacity and therefore should be reluctant in commenting on online platforms. There should at least be a guideline about this. This is where your function starts and this is where it ends.
    Have civil servants had any training in this?
    What we have seen in the last few years that, not only him, people in an official capacity make comments on and offline prior to statements or decisions, offer their opinion willy nilly, any time of day, go on Twitter etc.They know the news will pick it up and the caroussel keeps spinning.
    I dont think it is a good thing. It is a mess.
    Im of the opinion that people in an official capacity should be banned for commenting on platforms like Twitter.
    Twitter has i think become the official platform for government statements.
    Twitter is the devil's playground imo.
    Dont they have a website?
    People criticized Trump for getting on Twitter. Now everybody in an official capacity is doing it.
    It is no wonder people get irritated..

Link?

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Link?

Local lockdowns may be used if there are spikes of Covid-19 cases or localised concerns around the Indian variant of the disease, Tánaiste Leo Varadkar has said.

Fair enough, so after the fact, not "just in case".

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Fair enough, so after the fact, not "just in case".

Well we have our spike in cases and Tony has declared his concern, so who knows.

My guess is they would try it but they know they would be laughed at.

No major difference between outdoor dining next week and street drinking this week anyway.

Well we have our spike in cases and Tony has declared his concern, so who knows.

My guess is they would try it but they know they would be laughed at.

No major difference between outdoor dining next week and street drinking this week anyway.

There's a small difference in that we can sit down for the outdoor dining

that makes sense but the recent actions by the UK of show how easy it is to slide from local lockdowns to restrictions for a whole country concerning travellers.
    If everyone now goes ape**** about variants like France and Germany did there is no end to the misery. The headlines will go: 50% more cases of a variant in a week? Stop the flights..
    And you thought you might be concidered a safe traveller when fully vaccinated. At least that was the promise..

Can anyone keep up with it all?. Used to be a case of book a flight and head off.

There's a small difference in that we can sit down for the outdoor dining

I was speaking in terms of virus spread. If they tell limerick to stick with the street drinking while everybody else gets to sit down outside next week it won't make any odds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Boggles wrote: »
    Again nuance. Outdoors doesn't encompass every dynamic.

Someone infected roaring into your face from 6 inches is a lot more risky than merely talking to you from a few feet away, indoors or outdoors

And, as I've said many times before... so what? Did it stop you going out into a crowded pub on a weekend night in 2019?

Anyone who was out in that environment last weekend was likely already vaccinated or at very little risk anyway (as are the vast majority of our population). Plus the advice says that even that minimal risk is lower again when in an outdoor setting.

The ACTUALLY vulnerable are vaccinated and wouldn't/shouldn't have been out in that setting if they haven't been. All the footage I saw was of young healthy people enjoying themselves in the open air.

So, again.. what are you actually concerned about? I'm not being smart either. I'd love a real answer to this.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    So, again.. what are you actually concerned about? I'm not being smart either. I'd love a real answer to this.

I'd recommend you learn how the virus is transmitted and how it mutates into 'variants'.

Hint: it needs people

Graham wrote: »
    I'd recommend you learn how the virus is transmitted and how it mutates into 'variants'.

It needs people indeed. But it has become increasingly clear that the overwhelming cases of infection transmission happen indoors in un- or poorly ventilated environments where a viral load can build up over time. In homes, workplaces, schools etc. Like the last one in Limerick and before that in Donegal.
    It turns out it is actually very hard for the infection to spread in any outdoor situation. They know that because of the many samples they took from people in various supposedly 'dangerous' situations which SHOULD have led to a spike in cases but didnt. (Also, surface spread is negligeable.)
    Now, we dont stop people from going to work, school now do we?
    Instead, we focus on outdoor hotspots where people are in close contact and presuming the link to infection is there in a meaningful way. I say presume because they dont actually know. There is no real life evidence. It is a presumed and outdated correlation, let alone causality. And because in those situations it is usually young and likely unvaccinated people who take part and looks rather seedy, the expressed shock and outrage bares no relation to the real danger which is indoors.
    It is the expression of disgust, a very powerful motivator, stemming from an ancient worry about contamination.
    But a medical officer should know better. The CMO went out on a limb and felt the need to comment and express his concern knowing full well the media hangs on his lips and become super spreaders.
    The focus is no longer on hospitalisations and deaths as the numbers are very low. The VOCs are just that, a concern, something to keep an eye on.
    But keeping the fear on a high level with daily bombardments of 'concern' will give power to politicians to put or keep restrictions in place, underpinned by public health concerns by health boards and media exposure.
    I presume that is exactly what the CMO is doing. He knows he is in a position of influence and seems to relish the part that has been given to him.
    We have seen kneejerk reactions and we will see them again.
    The fear is another type of virus that spreads exponentially and it eats at the fabric of society. It also spreads via the 'airwaves'. It is another kind of VOC, a highly infectious one with continuous super spreader events. There is very little innate or even learned immunity against it. It all fits perfectly together.
    A little spark and off it goes..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Graham wrote: »

Variants that the vaccines protect against and which, while potentially more transmissible, are no more dangerous than the original virus?

Those variants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,425 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Where did I say I was concerned? I don't think I could have been clearer TBH.

I was speaking in terms of virus spread. If they tell limerick to stick with the street drinking while everybody else gets to sit down outside next week it won't make any odds.

I think there's a more controlled environment with outdoor drinking a barman can tell you to sit back down at your table

Besides the outdoor drinking isn't even the issue in limerick it's the house parties and a hair salon not following proper order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,425 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Variants that the vaccines protect against and which, while potentially more transmissible, are no more dangerous than the original virus?

Those variants?

More transmissible = more dangerous.