Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will the Rovers ever Return? Your pub megathread, Part 2 - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭crooked cockney villain

You love to know who came up with the 105 minute rule. Some load of bol1ox. Its only going to encourage pub crawls in the bigger towns and cities where the pubs will be booked up.Cant see pubs in smaller towns/villages using the 105 minute rule.

I believe Simon Harris was health minister at the time. I would bet my life the bulk of the anti craic rules came from this horrible little nerd (I'd also bet he came up with the phrase "Hold Firm")

TheDoctor wrote: »
    Fingers crossed for good weather.

Embarrassing isn't it, relying on the fickle Irish weather because the government are cowering in fear at the prospect of re-opening indoor before July. Imagine if Dermot Morgan were alive today, he would lampoon the bejaysus out of them. The satire writes itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,336 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Covid must hate indoor pubs in the north if he stops at the many borders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,254 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Covid must hate indoor pubs in the north if he stops at the many borders

"Why is a country ahead of us in vaccinations, which has lead to lower cases and incidence rates than us, opening ahead of us”

It just doesn't make sense.......

hynesie08 wrote: »
    "Why is a country ahead of us in vaccinations, which has lead to lower cases and incidence rates than us, opening ahead of us”

It just doesn't make sense.......

We have 45% of adults vaccinated.

Boris laid out the exit plan for the UK when they had far less than this percentage done. It must have been Feb or early March. He included a date that everything- masks, social distance, nightclubs, gigs, capacity sports grounds, would be, all going well, back in contention (June 21st I think?)

We are at nearly 50% vaccinated and we have to wait until at least Friday to find out if we might be allowed into certain pubs for under 2 hours.

Would pubs wanting 1 metre gaps to get more people in be allowed put up plastic seperation screens out of interest? Having to research which pubs will allow you stay longest is Peak Irish Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,732 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Would pubs wanting 1 metre gaps to get more people in be allowed put up plastic seperation screens out of interest? Having to research which pubs will allow you stay longest is Peak Irish Covid.

Ventilation indoors could be as good as outdoors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Back to that absolute sh*t of being ran after 105 minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,336 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Yeah like why do we have to suffer through time limits ?

Hard to see the government not going for this either

We have 45% of adults vaccinated.

Boris laid out the exit plan for the UK when they had far less than this percentage done. It must have been Feb or early March. He included a date that everything- masks, social distance, nightclubs, gigs, capacity sports grounds, would be, all going well, back in contention (June 21st I think?)

We are at nearly 50% vaccinated and we have to wait until at least Friday to find out if we might be allowed into certain pubs for under 2 hours.

1. England, not the UK, NI, Scotland and Wales had very similar rollout timelines to us.

2. Then he immediately **** himself when the Indian variant appeared, doubling down with the alleged "thousands of dead bodies pile up" comments.

Yeah like why do we have to suffer through time limits ?

Hard to see the government not going for this either

Ask the publicans who proposed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Dickie10

Was in Newry today for a few pints myself, more people from the Republic in the bar than Northerners. LH and D cars everywhere.

No MH Meath cars? closer to border than dubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,446 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

1. England, not the UK, NI, Scotland and Wales had very similar rollout timelines to us.

2. Then he immediately **** himself when the Indian variant appeared, doubling down with the alleged "thousands of dead bodies pile up" comments.

I'm not sure how difficult it is to grasp that our timeline on reopening broadly will match the UK in terms of pubs opening outdoor v population vaccinated and then indoor v population vaccinated.

We're about 6 weeks behind the UK in terms of vaccination, the timelines are very similar.

Some will just moan for the sake of it. Booked my slot in the beer garden today, looking forward to it, couldn't be bothered with takeaway pints. Couldn't care less about time limits, the €9 meal gone is the the big one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭mightyreds

I'm not sure how difficult it is to grasp that our timeline on reopening broadly will match the UK in terms of pubs opening outdoor v population vaccinated and then indoor v population vaccinated.

We're about 6 weeks behind the UK in terms of vaccination, the timelines are very similar.

Some will just moan for the sake of it. Booked my slot in the beer garden today, looking forward to it, couldn't be bothered with takeaway pints.

The UK had crowds indoors at the snooker championship 2 weeks ago and 10k fans outdoor this week, do you really think in 4 weeks we will have crowds at indoor sporting events? we wont even be allowed inside a restaurant for possibly 8 more weeks

Some will just moan for the sake of it. Booked my slot in the beer garden today, looking forward to it, couldn't be bothered with takeaway pints.

The UK are absolutely smashing the vaccine rollout, cannot give them enough credit, but England's reopening plan was clearly an exercise in dock swinging that has lucked out. NI Scotland and Wales have not announced a return to full stadiums, nightclubs or concerts yet. Other than announcing outdoor and indoor reopening together (at a gap we're almost certain to replicate) we're almost exactly on par.

mightyreds wrote: »
    The UK had crowds indoors at the snooker championship 2 weeks ago and 10k fans outdoor this week, do you really think in 4 weeks we will have crowds at indoor sporting events? we wont even be allowed inside a restaurant for possibly 8 more weeks

Try again.

Read the post... I said the timelines for reopening of outdoor drinking compared to percentage vaccinated and then indoor pubs compared to percentage vaccinated is similar, take a look at NI, Scotland and Wales in terms of what service they opened coupled with percentage of population vaccinated at the time of reopening. I didn't compare other openings.

Separately to answer your point not relating to pubs, Do I think we'll have people at trial events in 4 weeks time, the end of the June, yeah I do. Why do I say that, well because I know of people involved in a venue in Dublin who've been asked to prepare for a test event to take place by end of June.

The UK are absolutely smashing the vaccine rollout, cannot give them enough credit, but England's reopening plan was clearly an exercise in dock swinging that has lucked out. NI Scotland and Wales have not announced a return to full stadiums, nightclubs or concerts yet. Other than announcing outdoor and indoor reopening together (at a gap we're almost certain to replicate) we're almost exactly on par.

Yeah they managed the pandemic itself badly, but credit where its due on the rollout.

Read the post... I said the timelines for reopening of outdoor drinking compared to percentage vaccinated and then indoor pubs compared to percentage vaccinated is similar, take a look at NI, Scotland and Wales in terms of what service they opened coupled with percentage of population vaccinated at the time of reopening. I didn't compare other openings.

Separately to answer your point not relating to pubs, Do I think we'll have people at trial events in 4 weeks time, the end of the June, yeah I do. Why do I say that, well because I know of people involved in a venue in Dublin who've been asked to prepare for a test event to take place by end of June.

So the UK excluding England we're talking about

You keep mentioning UK, the timelines for what opened when are different in each country.

Another poster has also pointed out the difference.

The common denominator though is they all opened outdoor and indoor hospitality as similar vaccination rates. Based on vaccination rates our opening time is very similar. Its not that hard to grasp, they're ahead of us in vaccinations hence things open earlier

Exactly. It is clear as day there are people in our ruling class who are enjoying the misery.

You keep mentioning UK, the timelines for what opened when are different in each country.

Another poster has also pointed out the difference.

The common denominator though is they all opened outdoor and indoor hospitality as similar vaccination rates. Based on vaccination rates our opening time is very similar.

You mentioned the UK in your first post I just highlighted what was happening in part of the UK, it wasn't clear you were talking about just Wales or Scotland.

And your right we are probably 6 weeks behind NI but not England I reckon possibly 10 or more weeks behind.

• Site Banned Posts: 6 Mick the irishman

Dickie10 wrote: »
    No MH Meath cars? closer to border than dubs

There was indeed, was plenty more LH and D ones around the Buttercrane and Quays shopping centres so thats why i said them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭shadyslimshady

Be like the 12 pubs of Christmas.

I don't think the government have a notion of what really goes on do they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭UI_Paddy

I know everyone made fun of the €9 substantial meal requirement, but there was a modicum of logic that it could discourage pub crawls. Obviously we all know how that worked out. Not at all.

To think time limits won't encourage pub crawls would be very naive, I really don't see how that will make a difference. And the guardi coming into pubs to tell customers they are 0.9 metres apart at their table and fining them on the spot? Yeah, don't see that happening....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Mimon

Andrew00 wrote: »
    Back to that absolute sh*t of being ran after 105 minutes

I'd say they just enforced on you because you were on a moan about something else :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Yeah like why do we have to suffer through time limits ?Hard to see the government not going for this either

105 minutes and 1 or 2m distance is plucked out of the air, 5 mins indoors even 10m apart could mean you would potentially be exposed to the virus...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Saw the guidelines posted on Twitter by Gavin Reilly or the like and didn’t seem to be a mention of time limits so maybe/hopefully scrapped.

Degag wrote: »
    Saw the guidelines posted on Twitter by Gavin Reilly or the like and didn’t seem to be a mention of time limits so maybe/hopefully scrapped.

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1397507183030509575?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Degag wrote: »

No time limit if the pub can keep the tables 2 MTRS apart, otherwise it's 1 hr 45 mins and you're kicked out. We truly are a shower of idiots in this country.